Demon Flames

Resurrection Chronicles Series, Book 2
Narrated by: Dara Rosenberg
Length: 6 hrs and 16 mins
Categories: Romance, Fantasy
4.5 out of 5 stars (97 ratings)

Listen with Audible Escape

$12.95 a month

Free with Audible Escape
Binge on this audiobook and thousands of other love stories with Audible Escape.
First-time Audible Escape subscribers get the first month free. After 1 month, only $12.95 a month ($6.95 a month for Audible and Kindle Unlimited members). Cancel anytime.
Learn more
Buy for $23.09

Buy for $23.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

As hellhounds continue to roam and the zombie plague spreads, Drav leads Mya to the source of her troubles - Ernisi, an underground Atlantis and Drav's home. There Mya learns that the shadowy demons, who've helped devastate her world, are not what they seem.

Trapped in Ernisi, Mya tries to convince Drav to return her to the surface so she can continue her search for her family. However, he's determined to keep her where he knows she'll be safe. When Mya falls ill, Drav must choose between her and his people. Contains mature themes.

©2017 M. J. Haag and Becca Vincenza (P)2017 Tantor
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ernisi sounds both intriguing and terrifying.

I liked this story. It is a continuation of the story that began in Demon Ember with Mya and Drav. This one ends in a cliffhanger (major!) as well, but since the last book is out, I'm ok with it!

In order to keep Mya safe, Drav decides to take Mya to his home. Ernisi is an underground world with many caverns and different creatures. Drav's city is behind a wall to keep the hellhounds out. While in Ernisi, Mya learns that the demons or shadow men aren't what she thinks.

Mya and Drav grow closer even as she continues to ask Drav to take her back to the surface. She wants to continue the search for her family as well as other survivors. Drav doesn't want to take her to the surface where she won't be safe. But when Mya gets sick and doesn't seem to be getting better, they make a desperate journey to take Mya back to the surface.

This story picks up right as Demon Ember ends which is nice, there's no timelapse at all. With all 3 books out at the same time, you can just keep reading which is awesome and the way I prefer to read my books. Finding out the history of the shadow men was interesting, but also kind of sad. There were a lot of feels in this story. I was mad at Drav or Mya or both of them at times. I also loved the way they were together at other times. I loved how protective Drav was of Mya even when he took it to extremes. This one does end on a MAJOR CLIFFHANGER! So be aware that you will want to get the third book or you will be very unhappy! I recommend reading this book! Or listening to it! I own both the ebook and the audible book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great 2nd book in a unique series

Excellent addition to the series - gives more background about the Fae and advance the relationship between the MCs.Not as good as book 1 but still good. Recommend for fans of Ruby Dixon and Anna Carven.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

More intrigued!

3.5 stars — While I still had a bit of a mixed reaction to this one, I really can’t deny how compelled I am to devour more and more…

I will say that Ms. Rosenberg’s voice grew on me. It’s amazing sometimes how you can adjust and your opinions can change. Part of that is I still absolutely adore her voice for Drav.

Just like in book 1, I felt like the plot was drawn out, and the pacing wasn’t as great. Our MC’s spent like 1/2 the book running in caves, repeat ad nauseum. I get that they’re trying to show how vast the cave systems are, but it got a bit tiring.

I think I liked Mya even less in this one. She was kind of super bitchy a bunch of times. I was actually embarrassed by her entitled attitude and her complete lack of even trying to understand/empathize with Drav’s people. Her empathy would come at the very last minute, when everything was explained. I actually experienced second hand embarrassment from some of the things she did and ways she reacted. She had quite a few over the top moments.

But in contrast, I loved the development of the relationship between Mya and Drav. I truly believed the development of feelings. I felt so much for Drav, who is drawn to her, and doesn’t understand his feelings, and doesn’t know what to do with them. I appreciated the times where he just didn’t know what he was doing wrong because he doesn’t understand human sensibilities. The chemistry between them was off the charts. I don’t even mind that Drav may not be attracted to her personality as much as the idea of a companion and his attachment to her. She has her good points, but she’s a bit of a bully sometimes. But it works for them because it’s not a normal human relationship. If this was a contemp, I would be super annoyed about what Drav is in love with, and his possessiveness.

All in all, I’m super curious how things are going to progress from here, so of course I started the next book after midnight. *rolls eyes*

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

True understanding begins

I've truly fallen in love with this series! Mya and Drav have become one of my favorite couples as they come to understand each other and how they became. I was more than pleasantly surprise for the Fae tie in. With all the action and intrigue, I was giddy with the unexpected moments of laugh out loud humor. M.J. Haag and Becca Vincenza have a shining talent.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dara Rosenberg is a fantastic narrator.

With Book One in the series, I read and listed to the audiobook by Dara Rosenberg. With Book Two, Demon Flames, I strictly listened to the audiobook. Rosenberg did a phenomenal job of bringing the characters to life for me. If possible Book Two was even more intense and Rosenberg brought forth all the feels. I look forward to checking out other work by her soon.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for brendon
  • brendon
  • 01-08-18

Loved it!!

Absolutely spectacular 2nd book in this epic series! Great Narrator as well as awesomely written. I love M.J. Haag’s works. This book is so worth reading. Can’t wait to listen to Demon Ash, so in love with these perfectly described characters.