Regular price: $24.47

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Miranda James and Jenn McKinlay comes an enthralling series debut featuring a librarian who solves mysteries with the help of a ghost in the stacks.

Carrie Singleton is just about done with Clover Ridge, Connecticut until she is offered a job as the head of programs and events at the spooky local library, complete with its own librarian ghost. Her first major event is a program presented by a retired homicide detective, Al Buckley, who claims he knows who murdered Laura Foster, a much-loved part-time library aide who was bludgeoned to death 15 years earlier. As he invites members of the audience to share stories about Laura, he suddenly keels over and dies.

The medical examiner reveals that poison is what did him in, and Carrie feels responsible for having gone forward with the program despite pushback from her director. Driven by guilt, Carrie is determined to discover who murdered the detective, convinced it's the same man who killed Laura all those years ago. Luckily for Carrie, she has a friendly, knowledgeable ghost by her side. But as she questions the shadows surrounding Laura's case, disturbing secrets come to light, and with each step Carrie takes, she gets closer to ending up like Al.

©2017 Allison Brook (P)2017 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Beatrice
  • Houston, TX, United States
  • 10-11-17

I don't know

Death Overdue is a pretty good book but it moves slowly. Carrie is also annoying when she daydreams over Dillon. I'll get the next book and see if it gets better.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Whiny narrator for bratty lead character. Ugh!

Carrie reminds us from time to time how neglected she was in childhood. But somehow it doesn’t make her seem like less of a priveledges brat adult. SPOILERS. Need a job but have 0 experience? Uncle Bosco will strongarm the library board and BAm! You’re in. Need a place to live? Here’s a fabulous cottage with river views, fully furnished, AND comes with maid service? The kind of maid service that involves ironing? Here you go- from a landlord you’ve just met- oh, and your first month is on him; and forget that security deposit. Car damaged? Uncle Bosco to the rescue. It’s just too much. TOO MUCH. I had much sympathy for the poor gal who felt usurped for the library position. I don’t think that was author’s intent. And don’t forget that all this time, the narrator whines appropriately on for the ‘heroine’. Of course she decides she can solve a murder better and faster than the police, so begins invading the privacy of everyone around. And if people don’t like it, they are interfering. Brat! But she must be a good person bc she tears up every time someone mentions the murder victim- whom brat girl had met for 15 minutes only!! Here’s a yacht to make you feel better. I kind of hate this girl. Hope she will maybe be a victim of next book. Which I will NOT purchase.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good storyline for first in series

Allison Brook crafted a good storyline for the first installment in her Haunted Library series. It kept me wanting to listen all the way to the very last word. I look forward to the next in series. Mia Gaskin gave a wonderful performance as she brought it all to life. I highly recommend this book to cozy mystery fans.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Bobbi
  • Grand Forks, ND
  • 09-27-18

Bland

I listened to the whole thing and hoped as each word was spoken it would get better. The premise was good, but the story lacked substance. Maybe it was the narrator, but I am more inclined to say that the emotions needed to be fleshed out more. Carrie was like some love struck ten year old in her thoughts and actions.
While the mystery was very good, it needed more depth.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

THIS NEW SERIES IS WOTH YOUR TIME

MY ONLY REGRET IS THAT I FINISHED, AND NOW MUST WAIT FOR BOOK 2. THERE IS ROOM FOR LOTS OF CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT, BUT I ALREADY LOVE SEVERAL OF THEM. SO READY FOR THE NEXT BOOK!