adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Number one New York Times best-selling author Patricia Briggs presents the first Alpha and Omega novel - the start of an extraordinary series set in the world of Mercy Thompson, but with rules of its own. Perfect for fans of Ilona Andrews, Nalini Singh, Christine Feehan and J. R. Ward.

Charles Cornick is his pack's enforcer and lives a harsh life, doing jobs other wolves can't - or won't. And his most recent task was rescuing Anna Latham from a life of brutality. This leaves him shot and wounded, but he's happy to pay the price. Charles is strongly drawn to Anna, and her growing 'Omega' powers will see his people through dangerous times.

Anna desperately needs her new mountainous home to be safer than the life she's left behind. But when a rogue werewolf starts murdering hikers, Charles and Anna are sent into the winter forests to investigate. Charles is still weak and will need Anna's strength as they discover a web of witchcraft that could drag down the whole pack. Including its leader Bran, Charles' father, head of a vast network of wolves. And if Bran weakens, dark madness could run like a fever through half a continent.

©2008 Patricia Briggs (P)2008 Hachette Audio UK

Critic Reviews

"I love these books!" (Charlaine Harris)

"The best new fantasy series I've read in years." (Kelley Armstrong)  

"Patricia Briggs never fails to deliver an exciting, magic and fable filled suspense story." (Erin Watt, number one New York Times best-selling author of The Royals series)

What listeners say about Cry Wolf

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Urban fantasy fan
  • Urban fantasy fan
  • 01-02-22

Great narration

I have not read that many werewolf books before, but I thought this was an interesting story. I might read more werewolf stories after this. I was particularly impressed by the narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 12-27-21

Excellent new take on werewolves

brilliant from start to finish. can't wait to start the next book on the series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for luke lashmar
  • luke lashmar
  • 12-14-21

awesome

very much enjoyed this book. iv read the book and wanted to try the audio version, i was not disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. C. Hunt
  • Mrs. C. Hunt
  • 11-06-21

Cry Wolf

Excellent story, with the fall range emotions you can have and read brilliantly by Holter Graham.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Book addict
  • Book addict
  • 10-30-21

Decent story

I enjoyed this story. The pace and momentum didn’t flow so well towards the end with the action, but that was only a small niggle. I didn’t enjoy this book enough to immediately rush to get the next book in the series, but I probably will listen to it at some point.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mundayk
  • Mundayk
  • 10-14-21

Great series that follows alongside a greater one

Patricia Briggs is one of my favourite authors and this series follows alongside my favourite book in the Mercyverse... While I don't particularly like Anna at first she does have a strong character development throughout the series thus far and these books do (mildly) carry over with the Mercy books so I recommend finding the reading order so you listen in order. You can get away with reading only Mercy series as a standalone, I wouldn't recommend only reading this series alone as most of the world development happens in Mercy.

This story carries on from a shortstory called Alpha and Omega which quite a few people get confused over as it literally picks up "minutes" after the shortstory ended, you can get this as a standalone book (on audible with the same narrator) or is included in shifting shadows (on audible but with the narrator in the Mercy books) since you get the most out of shifting shadows (as you also get other short stories in the Mercyverse) I recommend buying that or you can get both if you like your narrators to be the same

Overall I enjoy listening to Anna and Charles as it really helps build them both into the strong characters they become in the Mercyverse but more importantly its in this series you learn the most about Bran :)