• Crazy Mountain Kiss

  • A Sean Stranahan Mystery
  • By: Keith McCafferty
  • Narrated by: Rick Holmes
  • Length: 10 hrs and 35 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (483 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Crazy Mountain Kiss  By  cover art

Crazy Mountain Kiss

By: Keith McCafferty
Narrated by: Rick Holmes
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It's April, but there's still snow on the Montana mountains the day a member of the Madison River Liar and Fly Tiers club finds a Santa hat in the chimney of his rented cabin. With the flue clogged, and desperate to make a fire, he climbs up to the roof only to find the body of a teenage girl wedged into the chimney. When Sheriff Martha Ettinger and her team arrive to extract the body, they identify the victim as Cinderella "Cindy" Huntingdon - a promising young rodeo star who has been missing since November.

Was Cindy murdered? Or was she running for her life? And if so, from whom? Cindy's mother, Etta, hires private detective Sean Stranahan to find out. Jasper Fey, the girl's stepfather, believes moving on is the only way to heal. But Etta's not willing to let it go, and neither are Sean or Martha, who find clues to the death in the mysterious legends of the Crazy Mountains.

The fourth book in McCafferty's mystery series features a brisk, savvy plot and charming yet authentic characters - perfect for fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.

©2015 Keith McCafferty (P)2015 Recorded Books

What listeners say about Crazy Mountain Kiss

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    310
  • 4 Stars
    126
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    326
  • 4 Stars
    91
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    272
  • 4 Stars
    118
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mountain of a tale

Keith McCafferty has quickly become one of my new favorite authors. He's like the metaphorical love child that would materialize if Richard Russo, Adrian McKinty & Louis L Amour could merge. But he is distinctly his own man, and an excellent writer.

Can't believe how attached I've become to Sean, Martha and Sam, especially, but also Harold, Katie, Walt & the docs. Even when events break your heart. Sad to be starting the final book (so far) of the series...These are "can't- put- downers".

Additional props must be given to Rick Holmes, who does an amazing job with all characters. And to the publisher for sticking with a great narrator throughout the series.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Always a Good Read

Luv the Sean Stranahan series. I recommend this series to anyone who loves a good mystery.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love the shade

Solid storytelling. It was subtle, yet still unmistakable. The shade thrown at a certain other western book series that has been made into a TV series. Spot on!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Story should have stayed stuck in chimney...

Would you try another book from Keith McCafferty and/or Rick Holmes?

This was the worst disappointment! I think I'll stick with Wm. Kent Krueger and C.J. Box. This will go back on the "Haven't read, probably won't" list.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great as always

The story is not as strong as the other books in the series, but well narrated and thoroughly enjoyable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Overlook the small stuff and give it a listen!

Okay, I have to agree that Mr.McCafferty doesn’t get his female characters quite right, and that, at times, his male characters offend my feminist sensibilities, but the man can tell a story! His landscape descriptions are lovely and the way he writes about fishing occasionally had me rewinding to hear again. I can’t imagine how some can use the word “boring” to characterize either the narrator or the story. I canceled plans in order to finish listening to this book and have already downloaded the next one. If you love an exciting story, a mountain setting, and fly fishing this series is for you.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

If you like disgusting sex in a tormented plot maybe you’ll like it I hated it

This was the worst book I have ever attempted to read maybe. The plot was twisted beyond understanding the plot wasn’t even interesting I finally got to within two hours of finishing and said who cares do not read this book

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Obvious tree hugger

Those of us that live and earn a true living in Montana call this author a tree hugger. I have listened to five of his audio books. He covered whirling disease, wolves, bison, Smith River mine, etc. In every book he injects his true beliefs trying to somewhat hide them, however, they are obvious. Why not live a life and work in Montana as I have for over 50 years and then really learn the whole story rather than research names, locations, and jargon attempting to portray yourself as a true Montana. I have been fishing, hunting, camping, and hiking at every location he describes. I also live three miles west of the Crazy Mountains raising and training performance horses. So I have heard it all and definitely can separate the coyote scat from the wild mushrooms.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great, twisty story.

Wow! Didn’t see the solving of the mystery till hearing the mother tell it to Sean in the last chapters. All mothers get your tissues out for that one. This one of my favorite books in this series I just discovered. Worth the credit and then some.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Is another good story in the series

A good performance good character development and some interesting plot lines. The author has some really good reoccurring characters and most of them are flawed human beings but basically good human beings so it makes it for a fun read. Or an interesting listen to.