• Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

  • By: Anne Blankman
  • Narrated by: Heather Wilds
  • Length: 11 hrs and 10 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (39 ratings)

Prime member exclusive:
pick 2 free titles with trial.
Pick 1 title (2 titles for Prime members) from our collection of bestsellers and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
Your Premium Plus plan will continue for $14.95 a month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.
Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke  By  cover art

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

By: Anne Blankman
Narrated by: Heather Wilds
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $25.90

Buy for $25.90

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Acclaimed author Anne Blankman returns to the shadowy and dangerous world of 1930s Germany in this thrilling sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: She used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. More than a year after she made an enemy of her old family friend and fled Munich, she lives in England, posing as an ordinary German immigrant, and is preparing to graduate from high school. Her love, Daniel, is a reporter in town. For the first time in her life, Gretchen is content.

But then Daniel gets a telegram that sends him back to Germany, and Gretchen's world turns upside down. When she receives word that Daniel is wanted for murder, she has to face the danger she thought she'd escaped - and return to her homeland.

Gretchen must do everything she can to avoid capture, even though saving Daniel will mean consorting with her former friends, the Nazi elite. And as they work to clear Daniel's name, Gretchen and Daniel discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and get out in time - or will Hitler discover them first?

©2015 Anne Blankman Cizenski (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I want a follow up audio book now

The hard part of historical fiction especially ww2 historical history is knowing what will happen to my beloved characters. In their naïveté they truly thought they could stop hitler and the nazis by getting the truth out.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

The ending was more disappointing than the previous book. The story feels unfinished and very little discussion of the future of Nazi Germany was mentioned in detailed. I also wish the author took more time to explore the changes Gretchen saw in Hitler when they meet again. Especially because she is a traitor in his eyes, that has to be some psychological damage. Overall, it wasn't as good as the first book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

read me

well worth it! riveting storyline and a topic to rapture any audience. just do it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Sequel

This is an excellent novel. I still love the freshness of its point of view, and the time period in which it was written. However, I did find it to be a little too similar to the first book. Overall I enjoyed it thoroughly and would recommend it to everyone who enjoyed the first book.