1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Common Ground  By  cover art

Common Ground

By: Naomi Ishiguro
Narrated by: Chris Harper
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $16.95

Buy for $16.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An Evening Standard Must Read for 2021. 

From the acclaimed author of Escape Routes, a bittersweet story of coming-of-age in a divided world, in the tradition of Tin Man or Black Swan Green

It's a lonely life for Stan, at a new school that feels more ordeal than fresh start, and at home where he and his mother struggle to break the silence after his father's death. When he encounters fearless, clever Charlie on the local common, all of that begins to change. Charlie's curiosity is infectious, and it is Charlie who teaches Stan, for the first time, to stand on his own two feet. But will their unit of two be strong enough to endure in a world that offers these boys such different prospects? 

The pair part ways, until their paths cross once again, as adults in London. Now Stan is revelling in all that the city has to offer, while Charlie seems to have hit a brick wall. He needs Stan's help, and above all his friendship, but is Stan really there for the man who once showed him the meaning of loyalty?

©2021 Naomi Ishiguro (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"A wonderful book, both tender and wise." (Okechukwu Nzelu)

"Immersive and timely...you will root for Charlie and Stan from the first page." (Deepa Anappara)

What listeners say about Common Ground

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

characterisation well written

shows realistic relationships between friends. enjoyed the character voice throughout. well read too and with references to England in 2011 and the issues people were facing at the time

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Giselle
  • Giselle
  • 11-02-22

It’s All About Friendship!

A thoroughly engaging heartwarming story narrated perfectly by Chris Harper. Naomi Ishiguro’s debut novel….I look forward to the next one. Recommended!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela Marchi
  • Angela Marchi
  • 09-24-22

Finished this book in 2 days!

A heartwarming book about two men who despite coming from completely different backgrounds become the best of friends.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms R H White
  • Ms R H White
  • 07-21-21

Fabulous story

This is such a fabulous story about friendship. It highlights buy gently the prejudices in our society. However it isn't a lecture about discrimination, it is a glorious exploration of two peoples lives and the difficulties they face.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RKC
  • RKC
  • 04-26-21

Loved it!

Heard Naomi talking about this on Radio 4 book club and was hooked from the word go. Enjoyed it immensely. Great theme and beautifully written.