Regular price: $28.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Big Fish, Peter Pan, and Roald Dahl will fall in love with Circus Mirandus, which celebrates the power of seeing magic in the world.

Do you believe in magic?

Micah Tuttle does.

Even though his awful great-aunt Gertrudis doesn't approve, Micah believes in the stories his dying grandpa Ephraim tells him of the magical Circus Mirandus: the invisible tiger guarding the gates, the beautiful flying birdwoman, and the magician more powerful than any other - the Man Who Bends Light. Finally Grandpa Ephraim offers proof. The circus is real. And the lightbender owes Ephraim a miracle. With his friend Jenny Mendoza in tow, Micah sets out to find the circus and the man he believes will save his grandfather.

The only problem is the lightbender doesn't want to keep his promise. And now it's up to Micah to get the miracle he came for.

©2015 Cassie Beasley (P)2015 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Bronson Pinchot performs with the wise air of a storyteller, an appropriate style for a novel built on the tales that Micah's Grandpa Ephraim tells about the magical circus he visited as a boy.... A solid fantasy particularly good for family listening." ( AudioFile)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    124
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sara
  • Findlay, Ohio United States
  • 02-08-16

This book was okay.

Is there anything you would change about this book?

The narrator was a little whinny at times. I also just wasn't that into the story line. I kept wanting more, more character development, more of a streaming story line, more fun and adventure.

Did Circus Mirandus inspire you to do anything?

No. I ilked the Night Circus so much better. That was an inspiring book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Almost Didn't Finish

Almost gave up on this book. The story really didn't take off until I was about half way through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Needs better women characters

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

Better characters where women aren't evil, rigid, or boring.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Circus Mirandus?

The first half.

Any additional comments?

Took too long, the story is fairly uneventful so it could have moved more quickly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book IS magic!

Circus Mirandus touches on all the myriad feelings a reader can feel-- amusement, warmth, regret, indignation, gratitude, love, and mostly hope. This beautiful story of the meaning of magic and its power in our lives is one that captivates. Readers will love Micah, Grandpa Ephraim, and The Man Who Bends Light, and the experience will be even further enhanced by Pinchot's masterful narration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome book !!!!!!

I really like this book great for the imaginative child . I love that they read it so clear . I disliked that the reader read a little slower than normal

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good

Boring Start....but towards the end it got more and more interesting to listen to. Great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

I absolutely adore this book! The reading was phenomenal and the lessons throughout were deep and essential.

I think that we need more books that discuss the importance of embracing the concept of death acceptance to our children because we hide from it in our culture. This book does a beautiful job of approaching the subject with such love and peacefulness and it’s an important lesson for kids.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You never need an invitation to go home!

I LOVED it!!!!!
It is now my favorite book, I hope more of Cassie Beasley's books are like it! I love the last sentence, "you never need an invitation to go home". My favorite character was Jenny because I can really relate to her I had a best friend leave me to go really far away, he is still there I miss him. I loved Circus Mirandus, it is my favorite book ever in my entire life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Emotional Journey

This book took me on an emotional Journey that I haven't experienced in a long time while reading/listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing

love it was great. I am word less. I don't know what to say about it.