Chindi

Academy Series
Series: Academy, Book 3
Length: 18 hrs and 37 mins
4.1 out of 5 stars (351 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.72

Buy for $20.72

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The universe has been explored - and humanity has all but given up on finding other intelligent life. Then an alien satellite orbiting a distant star sends out an unreadable signal. Is it the final programmed gasp of an ancient, long-dead race? Or the first greeting of an undiscovered life form?
©2003 Jack McDevitt (P)2009 Audible, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"Chindi is an ambitious, exciting, big-idea hard-SF novel that ventures successfully into Rendezvous with Rama territory, and beyond." (Amazon.com review)

What listeners say about Chindi

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    142
  • 4 Stars
    129
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    84
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Everything You Want in a Sci-Fi Novel

Would you consider the audio edition of Chindi to be better than the print version?

Comparing the audio version to the printed word is comparing apple to oranges, but the advantage to the audio version is the ability to continue to story while on the go. The written version is better curled up in bed with book in hand and a cup of tea on the night-stand.

What other book might you compare Chindi to and why?

Chindi follows in the tradition of Deepsix and Engines of the Gods, but only better. Jack McDevitt really hits his stride with this one.

What does Khristine Hvam and Oliver Wyman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Having two readers enhances the reading experience by breaking up the monotony and bringing the novel to life. Wyman's role is primarily delivering quotes during the chapter divisions and Hvan narrates the story..

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The excitement is sprinkled throughout the novel but reaches a major crescento as the expedition explores the Chindi vessel.

Any additional comments?

Chindi length is slightly greater than many of the Sci-fi novels and so the listener will invest extra time reaching the end, but the end is worth it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

All around a fun novel, narrated well!

First - I really enjoyed Khristine Hvam's reading of the book. She does a very good job.
Second - yes, there is far too much time spent on one of the plot points (the rescue operation, as noted by others) - but getting to the plot device is fun adventure with some decent suspense along the way.
Third - if you can get past #2, Chindi is a pretty good adventure novel w/ some pretty interesting personalities in the characters, believable physics, a great heroine character with a catchy name (really, who names people "Hutch" these days? that's a hoot!)
Fourth - I'm about 85% through, and really looking forward to the culmination of the books' namesake - what is the purpose of the Chindi?

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

This was both my first audio book and the first Jack McDevitt book I have encountered. I have a 2 hour commute each day and thought an audio book would make a change to the technology podcasts I usually listen to. Thanks to the character formation, pace of the story and narration, I looked forward to the drive to and from work - and even listened to the book when I got home (something I never did with the podcasts!)

The story is exciting and very well developed, at times you are literally on the edge of your seat (I found I was gripping the steering wheel very hard at times). I also found I became very emotionally connected to the characters, partly because of the wonderful narration by Khristine Hvam, and partly because of the skilful way McDevitt introduced and developed the characters.

I can recommend this audio book to anyone interested in the Sci Fi genre, and to anyone who enjoys an exciting story. I will definitely be buying other Jack McDevitt audio books.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Read

I don't usually comment on titles I listen to but must do it on this. It was one of the best that I have listen to in a long while. Khristine Hvam was outstanding in the reading of the book. Would reccmmend this book to all.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Good adventure

I've grown to love Jack McDevitt's visual detail writing, especially his character Hutch.. The Chindi I enjoyed reading and all that I enjoyed of can't wait to get to the next page was just as fun hearing it on audio.. Good twist and turns through out. Enjoyed a story line that I didn't know where it was going even after when we got there, he found a way to slip one more suprise in there through out... Always a good story to return to again and again.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

my Favorite!!!

I found it through the talking book library for the blind.
Done with an expansive imagination and painted with words. ln Beautiful colors!! I love it!!! Thank You!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of my favorite books ever, narration not great

This is one of my favorite sci-fi books of all time. I read it (print version) many years ago and it blew me away.

I was very exited to find this available on Audible, so I got it, but I was less than thrilled with the audio version because of the narrator. She sounds too young and ... well, kind of valley-girl-ish. I don't know if that's an apt description -- she did not sound like I expected Priscilla Hutchins to sound. Not enough gravitas. Too teeny-bopper-ish, or something.

I did not get the same vibe from "Deepsix", yet I see that it's narrated by the same person. "The Engines of God" has a different narrator, and it is far and away the best of the series so far, in audiobook form.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a story! A must listen for the SF fan.

Almost listen to it in one rush. This is the second audiobook where I was IN the story (next to RAMA). Well plotted storyline, original ideas! Where is the sequel!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

3 of the 4 I've listened to is best one so far

On 4 now. Chindi has the best story line so far. Hated the first 4 hours though. Absolutely in a static trance during that time. Tried to focus every now and then and listen but went back into the trance again. THEN! Finally the book starts and the story is awesome. Then at the end the writer drags out a rescue. Seems to be a standard thing, Boring opening, Great story, drag out a rescue ending. 4 seems to be the same again so far. The ongoing story is just so freaking cool. Linguistic skill is "simple" but it doesnt hurt the story any. Literary skill is "simple" as well but it's still ok for this type of book. No sound affects in these books which can be a bonus sometimes, but that's ok too. Not very many books do that. I will continue for now and am looking forward to the main story line. Narrator skill is "good", she has a beautiful voice and I think she is even award winning but even though I like that about her, she doesnt differentiate voices enough at all. In other words everyone sounds the same and you cant tell who is who unless they tell you. Pearl Hewitt is my favorite female narrator and she is the benchmark, a real natural.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

goldfish

it's a good story but the characters are goldfish with a 3 second memories that just frustrate you.