1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Call Me Evie  By  cover art

Call Me Evie

By: JP Pomare
Narrated by: Tamala Shelton,Simon Corfield,Sean Rees-Wemyss
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Don't trust him. It wasn't me. It couldn't have been me.

Evie and her uncle Jim have just moved to the small, insular town in New Zealand - a far cry from their hometown of Melbourne.

But Evie isn't her real name. And Jim isn't really her uncle.

Jim tells Evie she did something terrible back home, that he's hiding her to protect her. But Evie can't remember anything about that night - she doesn't know if he's telling the truth. As fragments of her memory starts to return, she starts to wonder if Jim is really her saviour...or her captor.

A compulsive, twist-filled debut that explores the fragility of memory, perfect for fans of Sharp Objects, Room and Top of the Lake.

©2018 JP Pomare (P)2018 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Literary suspense as dark and fresh as midnight in winter, with a merciless twist-of-the-knife finale. One of the most striking debuts I've read in years and years." (A. J. Finn, best-selling author of The Woman in the Window)

More from the same

What listeners say about Call Me Evie

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lilly
  • Lilly
  • 01-12-20

Excellent

Really good story, enjoyed the twists, will be looking out for books by this author

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa C.
  • Lisa C.
  • 05-10-19

Gripping and perplexing!

I had been getting a little bored of so-called psychological thrillers, which left the reader under no illusions, with too transparent plots. This on the other hand, is in a different category. Just when I thought I had it figured out, it turns out that I didn’t. Throughout, I found myself being led to form changing conclusions on the plot path, not knowing who to trust. This book proves I’m not as clever as I thought I was!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kathleen S.
  • Kathleen S.
  • 07-06-21

Disappointing

struggled to finish, very flat narration which help. Plot is disappointing. would not recommend, rather dreary