• By Chance Alone

  • A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz
  • By: Max Eisen
  • Narrated by: Douglas E. Hughes
  • Length: 5 hrs and 59 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (44 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
By Chance Alone  By  cover art

By Chance Alone

By: Max Eisen
Narrated by: Douglas E. Hughes
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.42

Buy for $18.42

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An award-winning, internationally best-selling Holocaust memoir by Max Eisen, in the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz

In the spring of 1944 gendarmes forcibly removed Tibor “Max” Eisen and his family from their home, brought them to a brickyard, and eventually loaded them onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. At 15 years of age, Eisen survived the selection process and he was inducted into the camp as a slave laborer.

More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, By Chance Alone details Eisen’s story of survival: the backbreaking slave labor in Auschwitz I, the infamous death march in January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation, and Eisen’s journey of physical and psychological healing. Ultimately, the book offers a message of hope as the author finds his way to a new life. 

©2016 Max Eisen (P)2019 Audible, Inc.
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: History

What listeners say about By Chance Alone

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must read

Very well written , but the saddest of stories. May we never forget. One very courageous man.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

triumph! Good over Evil

Every school child should be required to read this incredible journey of survival. My parents lived during this time in history…
I am saddened by the cruelty of humans to humans and also touched deeply by those who kept their compassion towards mankind. This
story will live with me forever .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A MUST READ

Max has lived a full life that could have so easily been overshadowed by hate and unhappiness; but his story is one of preserving and ultimately a life of love. Thank you for sharing your story.