• Born of the Shade (An Urban Fantasy Action Adventure)

  • Viventium, Book 1
  • By: D.O. Thomas
  • Narrated by: Hannibal Hills
  • Length: 6 hrs and 37 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (20 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Born of the Shade (An Urban Fantasy Action Adventure)  By  cover art

Born of the Shade (An Urban Fantasy Action Adventure)

By: D.O. Thomas
Narrated by: Hannibal Hills
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

They live among us. Hiding in plain sight. Until now....

West London has always been known as the quieter part of the city. That's true...for a human. But in reality, the streets are home to those that rule over the supernatural world.

Werewolves have their gated communities. Vampires reside within a subterranean utopia. And the magic-wielding wizards, witches, and warlocks study their arts right under the noses of general public. It has always been that way, and because of this, there has always been peace. 

But when a rare blue moon settles in the sky, everything changes. 

Noir, a West London information broker with his fingers in every supernatural pie, sets out to discover what the blue moon means and finds something beyond belief. With his discovery, comes the realization of a prophecy that spells disaster for the supernatural world. 

He must do everything in his power to stop the actualization of this dark future that might mean the end for the peace between species that keeps his world intact. 

Magic, secrets, and unexpected twists will keep you on the edge of your seat in this supernatural urban fantasy debut. It's perfect for fans of Rivers of London, The Magicians, and American Gods.

©2019 Daniel Oliver Thomas (P)2020 Castle Productions

What listeners say about Born of the Shade (An Urban Fantasy Action Adventure)

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

New voice. Not bad!

I’ve listened to several from Hannibal Hills, but this is my first DO Thomas book. It’s old-school urban fantasy with a few twists. Kind of cool that it takes place in the UK. A lot of characters to follow, but it all comes together.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Beginning

Hannibal Hills is one of my favorite narrators and once again he doesn't disappoint. This is a great beginning of a magical series that kept my interest with in depth characters and descriptive world building. I look forward to more by this Author

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining Urban Fantasy

Born of the Shade is a very entertaining intro to a urban fantasy world. Story might've been a little too focused on world building than the story itself, but was still a fun listen. Narration was great, but after listening to a handful of his performances I was pretty confident of that fact going in. I'm definitely interested in seeing what happens next in this world.

I received the review code for this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this honest review.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Building

This start to this series seems to be a build up to all the characters. It does change scenes quite a bit. All and all looking forward to see how it all plays out. Narration was top notch.
This audio was given to me free and I voluntarily gave this review.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!

I really enjoyed listening to this audiobook. I read a lot of fantasy and paranormal and this is definitely a story that I haven't heard before. It was a fantastic beginning of a series. I would love to get my hands on the rest of these books! I think this series is going to be great. Oh, and the narrator did an AMAZING job. He brought so much life to the story, And he made the characters pretty easy to tell apart. So far, I am def a fan and I can't wait for more!

This book was given to me at my request. I am providing a voluntary and honest review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining

Really enjoyed this book. Well written and Hannibal Hills does a fantastic job narrating. Book was over 6 1/2 hours long, but it flew by. The mythos and characters were well thought out and all play a part. Great book and I'm very excited about this series!

“I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.”

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

what the heck did I just listen to...

This book seemed more of a "introduce everyone and a little of the story" book. Too me it was more to set up the characters. you still don't know exactly were the story( of the series) is going. You sort of do but not really. But in the end, it did get me invested in the characters and get me to want to know "what's next" So in the aspect I am looking forward to the next book in the series. The narration was awesome. Very dramatic and dynamic. I did receive this copy for review and these are my honest opinions.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great listen

Enjoyed this book. The story line is great. Not a lot of action but it does have a great plot. It’s really good.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Accomplishes what it sets out to do

This one was a nice Urban Fantasy one to sink into. It’s great if you’re in the mood for a book of this genre! There’s not much that necessarily makes it stand out compared to everything else in that literary vein, but still very enjoyable :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good urban fantasy!

It starts you off in the action and never slows down. I love the narrator's voice.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nilesh
  • Nilesh
  • 06-10-20

Want Some More!

Only just started Audible again and a brilliant first book to get into. Hannibal Hills brilliant and loved the dark and intricate story line and character development. looking forward to what happens next!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen
  • Helen
  • 05-04-20

Amazing

Loved this book from start to finish great storyline
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ChaosKay (Audiobook Obsession Reviewer, The Flock VIP)
  • ChaosKay (Audiobook Obsession Reviewer, The Flock VIP)
  • 05-03-20

Good storyline

I was given a free code and I am leaving this review voluntarily.

Whilst I enjoyed the storyline and characters and loved Hannibals narration there a few things I did not like.
One being the stereo typing of certain things the main one that comes to mind is “Just like a single mother on benefits loves leopard print” 😡 there is no need to add these types of things in a book like this and for this I can’t give 5 stars

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for happy reader
  • happy reader
  • 09-05-20

Interesting Supernatural

Firstly, I have to say the narration by Hannibal Hills was fab and really brought this book to life.
D Thomas has created an intricate tale with supernatural beings threading through London.
Noir (main character) sees a blue moon which indicates the prophecy of dark times is about to begin.
For fans of modern fantasies, with interesting characters and an intricate storyline lots to hold your interest.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Atlas
  • Atlas
  • 08-07-20

A dark but great adventure

I love stories based on this type of concept of darkness and supernatural. One of the main aspects I did enjoy is how the author brings a new twist on how different types of monster based families can come together and focus towards a group goal. I can honestly recommend this book and can not wait for the next one.

1 person found this helpful