Sample
  • Born of the Shade (An Urban Fantasy Action Adventure)

  • Viventium, Book 1
  • By: D.O. Thomas
  • Narrated by: Hannibal Hills
  • Length: 6 hrs and 37 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (20 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Born of the Shade (An Urban Fantasy Action Adventure)  By  cover art

Born of the Shade (An Urban Fantasy Action Adventure)

By: D.O. Thomas
Narrated by: Hannibal Hills
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

They live among us. Hiding in plain sight. Until now....

West London has always been known as the quieter part of the city. That's true...for a human. But in reality, the streets are home to those that rule over the supernatural world.

Werewolves have their gated communities. Vampires reside within a subterranean utopia. And the magic-wielding wizards, witches, and warlocks study their arts right under the noses of general public. It has always been that way, and because of this, there has always been peace.

But when a rare blue moon settles in the sky, everything changes.

Noir, a West London information broker with his fingers in every supernatural pie, sets out to discover what the blue moon means and finds something beyond belief. With his discovery, comes the realization of a prophecy that spells disaster for the supernatural world.

He must do everything in his power to stop the actualization of this dark future that might mean the end for the peace between species that keeps his world intact.

Magic, secrets, and unexpected twists will keep you on the edge of your seat in this supernatural urban fantasy debut. It's perfect for fans of Rivers of London, The Magicians, and American Gods.

©2019 Daniel Oliver Thomas (P)2020 Castle Productions

What listeners say about Born of the Shade (An Urban Fantasy Action Adventure)

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Accomplishes what it sets out to do

This one was a nice Urban Fantasy one to sink into. It’s great if you’re in the mood for a book of this genre! There’s not much that necessarily makes it stand out compared to everything else in that literary vein, but still very enjoyable :)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Great listen

Enjoyed this book. The story line is great. Not a lot of action but it does have a great plot. It’s really good.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Good urban fantasy!

It starts you off in the action and never slows down. I love the narrator's voice.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Building

This start to this series seems to be a build up to all the characters. It does change scenes quite a bit. All and all looking forward to see how it all plays out. Narration was top notch.
This audio was given to me free and I voluntarily gave this review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

what the heck did I just listen to...

This book seemed more of a "introduce everyone and a little of the story" book. Too me it was more to set up the characters. you still don't know exactly were the story( of the series) is going. You sort of do but not really. But in the end, it did get me invested in the characters and get me to want to know "what's next" So in the aspect I am looking forward to the next book in the series. The narration was awesome. Very dramatic and dynamic. I did receive this copy for review and these are my honest opinions.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Awesome!

I really enjoyed listening to this audiobook. I read a lot of fantasy and paranormal and this is definitely a story that I haven't heard before. It was a fantastic beginning of a series. I would love to get my hands on the rest of these books! I think this series is going to be great. Oh, and the narrator did an AMAZING job. He brought so much life to the story, And he made the characters pretty easy to tell apart. So far, I am def a fan and I can't wait for more!

This book was given to me at my request. I am providing a voluntary and honest review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Very entertaining

Really enjoyed this book. Well written and Hannibal Hills does a fantastic job narrating. Book was over 6 1/2 hours long, but it flew by. The mythos and characters were well thought out and all play a part. Great book and I'm very excited about this series!

“I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.”

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars