Regular price: $27.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

"The narration raises an excellent thriller to a must-listen, even for those new to the series." (AudioFile Magazine)

Bloody Sunday is the latest in Ben Coes's New York Times and USA Today best-selling Dewey Andreas series. 

North Korea, increasingly isolated from most of the rest of the world, is led by an absolute dictator and a madman with a major goal - he's determined to launch a nuclear attack on the United States. While they have built, and continue to successfully test nuclear bombs, North Korea has yet to develop a ballistic missile with the range necessary to attack America. But their missiles are improving, reaching a point where the US absolutely must respond.

What the US doesn't know is that North Korea has made a deal with Iran. In exchange for effective missiles from Iran, they will trade nuclear triggers and fissionable material. An exchange, if it goes through, that will create two new nuclear powers, both with dangerous plans.

Dewey Andreas, still reeling from recent revelations about his own past, is ready to retire from the CIA. But he's the only available agent with the skills to carry out the CIA's plan to stop North Korea. The plan is to inject a singular designer poison into the head of the North Korean military and in exchange for the nuclear plans, provide him with the one existing dose of the antidote. But it goes awry when Dewey manages to inject a small amount of the poison into himself. Now, to survive, Dewey must get into North Korea and access the antidote and, while there, thwart the nuclear ambitions of both North Korea and Iran. And he has less than 24 hours to do so - in the latest audiobook thriller from Ben Coes.

©2018 Ben Coes (P)2018 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"Ben Coes' Bloody Sunday is a propulsive [listen] with enough plot hooks, twists, and action to fill five thrillers. Dewey Andreas finds himself in a race against the clock with impossibly high stakes on multiple geopolitical and personal levels, while the White House deals with an imminent nuclear attack from North Korea.... Fans of Brad Thor, Vince Flynn, and Tom Clancy will tear through Bloody Sunday and close the book counting the days till Dewey’s next adventure." (Mark Greaney, New York Times best-selling author of Agent in Place)

"Wildly entertaining...Coes takes a terrifyingly plausible scenario - an Iran-North Korea deal that puts the U.S. in the crosshairs - and ratchets up the suspense with a countdown to annihilation. Dewey Andreas is the hero these times demand, and Bloody Sunday is a heart-stopping thrill ride." (Joseph Finder, New York Times best-selling author of Suspicion and The Switch)

"A simple premise drives bestseller Coes’s excellent eighth thriller featuring indomitable CIA agent Dewey Andreas...It’s a complicated mission, and in the end only Dewey has the skills, courage, and sheer badass tenacity to pull it off. A ticking clock ratchets up the tension in the best entry in the series so far." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    910
  • 4 Stars
    216
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    906
  • 4 Stars
    176
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    813
  • 4 Stars
    234
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FANTASTIC!!

One word says it all - WOW!!!!
Ben Coes has completely outdone himself with his new book. He has raised the bar for other author's of this genre.
This book is taught, fast paced, nerve wracking and so completely entertaining I wish I could go back and do it all over again (for the first time)!!!!
I won't restate the plot, I think the publisher's summary says enough. I will say I don't think Dewey has ever been in such a dire situation and it is GREAT!
I can't say enough about this book but I won't say anymore then GET THIS BOOK!!
Ari Fliakos nails it perfectly.
My HIGHEST RECOMMENDATIONS!
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

27 of 28 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wayne
  • Matthews, NC
  • 08-01-18

Author Ben Coes demonstrates how to build suspense

I've listened to all eight novels on the Dewey Andras series immediately after their release. BEN COES NEVER DISAPPOINTS!! All of his novels earn 5 stars. Coes and Mark Greaney are the two best authors of the espionage thriller genre currently alive.

BLOODY SUNDAY is a textbook case all authors of the suspense/thriller should study on how to to build and sustain suspense. The plot is superb and is ripped out of current events. Bloody Sunday is the first Ben Coes full length novel Ari Fliakos has narrated; he does an excellent job.

Bloody Sunday and all other Ben Coes novels are must listens. VERY, VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great! But would recommend the previous novel 1st

I haven't read a bad Ben Coes novel, and this one was no exception. They say writers are trying to beat the headlines, and I truly feel like Coes did it with this thriller. With an all-too-real plot, Coes knits a tightly woven story that, although fiction, sounds like it could happen tomorrow. You get a more in-depth look at his protagonist, Dewey Andreas, who Coes has been slowly revealing more and more over the past three novels. I absolutely loved Bloody Sunday, and I think it jumped up to one of my favorite novels of all-time, no joke. This, I believe, is the best Coes novel yet, and arguably the best thriller of the year. I am very impressed how Coes continues to write relevant, exciting, very real thrillers.

For the audiobook, the narrators of this series has changed, after going from Peter Hermann to Jay Snyder for TRAP THE DEVIL, and now Ari Fliakos. First, I love Snyder as a narrator, and I thought he did great with Andreas, but Fliakos was top-notch. I haven't heard him much since Dalton Fury's books, but I loved him as the narrator for BLOODY SUNDAY. He made the story better, in my opinion. Great story, great narrator. This book is a must--have.

I would, however, recommend reading TRAP THE DEVIL before reading BLOODY SUNDAY. Although this novel can technically stand-alone, I would highly recommend reading some at least the book prior to this in the series.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great new author I like.

Not bad for an author I hadn't heard before, same with the narrator. Amazing work. A stand-alone, even if it's part of a serires. Kim would probably do something like this in real life. I'd recommend it to spy novel fans.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just gets better and better

I have been hooked on this series since Power Down. This one is the best. I could not stop listening as it seemed there was no way out for Dewey. How could I have doubted him?

To Ben Coes: I hope you are busy writing #9.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

Being a huge fan I waited for this with great expectations, I was not disappointed! Perhaps one of the best in the series, and not all neat and tidy, room for some unknowns to pop up in the next ones. This just gets better, opposed to those that are just the same never ending story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book!

I don't write reviews on very many books but I thought this one was great. when you read so many books in the same genre it's sometimes hard to find new ones that you like but this was definitely an exception. Dewey Andreas has become one of my favorite characters and the narration is perfect for his character. it was a plausible story and entertaining all the way through. can't wait for the next one!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bobbie
  • Charlotte, NC, United States
  • 08-03-18

Another winner for Dewey!

I have listened to all the books and Ben Coes makes each book better. I was worried because it was another different narrator. Peter Hermann read the first 6 books and he was Dewey to me. I listened to the 7th book with Jay Snyder and as much as I love him as the Gray Man, he was NOT Dewey Andreas to me. But Ari Fliakos managed to make Dewey a great personality again. He read all the other characters well, and so I am happy again with my Dewey books. Please keep some continuity by keeping Ari if we can’t have Peter. Great, taut, heart racing plot! Can’t wait for the next one!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Achtung Baby!

Bloody Sunday accomplished a feat writers love to take but rarely pull off, especially in this genre: piecing together the perfect mix of reality and fiction. Dewey Andreas fans will be bloody pleased indeed. Masterfully written and narrated. Bravo.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ari kills it

Addition of Ari Fliakos (Brad Thor novels’ narrator) plus the coordinated, fly by wire style of Coes is dynamite. Or should I say C4? Coes if he keeps writing will be #1 with the Gray Man and Mark Greaney. Excellent read/listen, highest recommendation from the 1000 title library guy (me)

5 of 8 people found this review helpful