Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Black Rabbit Hall  By  cover art

Black Rabbit Hall

By: Eve Chase
Narrated by: Nathalie Buscombe, Katie Scarfe, Cassandra Campbell
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $20.25

Buy for $20.25

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

For fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Waters, here's a magnetic debut novel of wrenching family secrets, forbidden love, and heartbreaking loss housed within the grand gothic manor of Black Rabbit Hall.

Ghosts are everywhere - not just the ghost of Momma in the woods but ghosts of us, too, what we used to be like in those long summers....

Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family's country estate, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect, timeless. Not much ever happens. Until, of course, it does.

More than three decades later, Lorna is determined to be married within the grand, ivy-covered walls of Pencraw Hall, known as Black Rabbit Hall among the locals. But as she's drawn deeper into the overgrown grounds, half-buried memories of her mother begin to surface, and Lorna soon finds herself ensnared within the manor's labyrinthine history, overcome with an insatiable need for answers about her own past and that of the once-happy family whose memory still haunts the estate.

Stunning and atmospheric, this debut novel is a thrilling spiral into the hearts of two women separated by decades but inescapably linked by the dark and tangled secrets of Black Rabbit Hall.

©2016 Eve Chase (P)2016 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"The ominous tone of this audiobook draws in the curious listener from the first scene. Three narrators collaborate, stitching together the lives of the characters in a seamless listening experience.... Buscombe, Scarfe, and Campbell create artistic portraits of each character, including the gruff masculine ones." (AudioFile)

“For fans of Kate Morton and Daphne du Maurier, Black Rabbit Hall is an obvious must-read, but it is sure to please any reader who delights in devilishly thrilling dramas." (BookPage)

“Like the setting of Robert Frost’s "Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening", Chase’s novel is lovely, dark and deep." (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

What listeners say about Black Rabbit Hall

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    298
  • 4 Stars
    171
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    357
  • 4 Stars
    106
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    265
  • 4 Stars
    157
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story