We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
When Breath Becomes Air Audiobook

When Breath Becomes Air

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question: What makes a life worth living?

At the age of 36, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed", as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

©2016 Paul Kalanithi (P)2016 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"Rattling, heartbreaking, and ultimately beautiful, the too-young Dr. Kalanithi's memoir is proof that the dying are the ones who have the most to teach us about life." (Atul Gawande)

"Thanks to When Breath Becomes Air, those of us who never met Paul Kalanithi will both mourn his death and benefit from his life. This is one of a handful of books I consider to be a universal donor - I would recommend it to anyone, everyone." (Ann Patchett)

"Narrator Sunil Malhotra is faithful to the straightforward tone of Paul Kalanithi's memoir.... Cassandra Campbell narrates the epilogue by Kalanithi's wife, recounting his final moments in a smooth, empathetic voice that is certain to bring tears. When Breath Becomes Air may be unsentimental, but it is profoundly affecting." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (14785 )
5 star
 (11195)
4 star
 (2693)
3 star
 (720)
2 star
 (120)
1 star
 (57)
Overall
4.7 (13096 )
5 star
 (10282)
4 star
 (2052)
3 star
 (602)
2 star
 (105)
1 star
 (55)
Story
4.7 (13145 )
5 star
 (9868)
4 star
 (2496)
3 star
 (605)
2 star
 (127)
1 star
 (49)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    A. Potter Washington D.C. 01-16-16
    A. Potter Washington D.C. 01-16-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    143
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    21
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Phenomenal book!"
    Any additional comments?

    I deeply connected with neurosurgeon Paul Kalanithi’s search for meaning in his young life, as a boy torn between literature and science; during medical school as he carefully opens up cadavers and ponders their former human selves; and after his diagnosis of stage IV lung cancer, as he confronts his decline at the peak of his career and the birth of his daughter, a precious girl who brings so much joy to his final days. I’m thankful Paul found a way to share his love of writing and prodigious talents with the world, especially under such harrowing circumstances. The world is richer place because of it. I’ll carry this book in my mind for a long time to come.

    96 of 102 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Denise 01-21-16
    Denise 01-21-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    101
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    58
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "How this book was recommended"

    This book was auto-recommended to me by audible because of the types of books I like to read. I, however, think it should be recommended to everyone. This is a book that is not only poignant, touching, and painful; it is a book that is full of love, insight, courage and humility. One I know I will read again and again. May I recommend that you read it at least once?

    96 of 105 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shermeen 01-21-16
    Shermeen 01-21-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    96
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    68
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Life changing"

    It's the middle of the night, and I am still in tears as I have just finished one of the most profound books I have ever read. I fear I will never have the dignity and grace that Paul had, and continues to have in my mind. This book is vulnerable, beautiful, and just so completely honest. You will not forget this book. Amazing delivery as well. I know what this world has lost.

    91 of 100 people found this review helpful
  •  
    W Perry Hall 02-18-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2604
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    833
    377
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    191
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Memoir, Message, A Morning Glory"


    As memorable as it is moving for not only the charm and impact of Dr. Paul Kalanithi's writing but also his impressive might to complete the memoir's manuscript maugre the malignancy that ultimately ended his life before he finished writing.

    Though I'd never presume as much, I try to maintain my faith that a reason exists for the premature death of someone like Paul Kalanithi, who was able and devoted to giving so much. That is to say, I must have hope that Dr. Kalanithi, a mid-30s highly respected neurosurgeon with a loving wife and infant daughter, was empowered by his disease, as the best of empyreal messengers, to contemplate, conceive and write his message in a way that reminds its readers that we are mortal, a reminder not in a melancholic or morbid sense, but as eyeing a morning glory, as we move forward on the road to the rest of our lives.

    As I see his message, we will die, but we can live a meaningful life by giving of ourselves to make an impact on others, by trying to improve those around us by doing good deeds and by art, such as by creating through writing. In this way, we may live on, as Dr. Kalanithi has managed through this sublime memoir.

    I found his wife's epilogue particularly touching in describing the last couple of weeks, when he could write no more, and his monumental endeavor to write this memoir.

    35 of 38 people found this review helpful
  •  
    CHET YARBROUGH LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, United States 01-23-16
    CHET YARBROUGH LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, United States 01-23-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    876
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    943
    513
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    59
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A LIFE OF DECENCY"

    “When Breath Becomes Air” memorializes a life of decency. It is not a perfect life. It is a short life of comfort and accomplishment, infused with stress and failure. Paul Kalnithi is the son of Indian immigrants who grows up in Kingman, Arizona. Kingman is a town of less than 29,000 people lying between Las Vegas luck and Phoenix senior living.

    Those who choose to listen to “When Breath Becomes Air” will look at life differently. Not because of belief in God or the fallibility of human beings, but because we all live between Las Vegas luck and Phoenix senior living. Death is a part of life whether it is an end or a beginning. Education makes a difference and no life of comfort and accomplishment is without stress and failure. The best one hopes for is to live and leave life as decently as Paul Kalnithi who dies at 37.

    90 of 100 people found this review helpful
  •  
    C. Huang los angeles, ca 01-23-16
    C. Huang los angeles, ca 01-23-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    47
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing book"

    This book brought me to tears many times. It's rare that we find someone so eloquent with such a tragic story and wonderful insights that is able to verbalize their findings so well. I recommend it to all my friends. As a fellow physician, it really struck a cord with me.

    47 of 52 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dusty S. Human 01-16-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    67
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    15
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Love and Beauty in Extremis"

    The author expresses, lived, and has shared how meaning can transform tragedy into a deep transcendence of being that shimmers. As a hospice chaplain, I could not help but be awed by the clarity and beauty of love, vulnerability, and honesty that has been lived by the author and his family.

    52 of 60 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hannah 01-15-16
    Hannah 01-15-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    56
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    75
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Insanely Good / Will be my favorite book of 2016"

    This book will be hard to top, seriously so good. Should be required reading for all medical staff, but also for all non-medical staff.

    49 of 57 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Celia 05-31-16
    Celia 05-31-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Inspirational yet Existential Crisis Inducing"

    I found the foreword almost unbearably flowery and was unable to follow Kalanithi's discussion of the evolution of his religious beliefs in the face of his illness. Aside from this, however, this book was inspirational, informative, and deep. One caveat, however: this one can be quite the inducer of existential crises. Or at least it was for me.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Narine Harrylall 01-20-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    you get lost in his words, vsualizing these brief glimpses of a brave soul. Simply beautiful.

    34 of 40 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.