Regular price: $24.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood.

For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood. After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life savings, and the collapse of her once-happy marriage, Meredith Maran - whom Anne Lamott calls "insightful, funny, and human" - leaves her San Francisco freelance writer's life for a 9-to-5 job in Los Angeles. Determined to rebuild not only her savings but herself while relishing the joys of life in La-La land, Maran writes "a poignant story, a funny story, a moving story, and above all an American story of what it means to be a woman of a certain age in our time" (Christina Baker Kline, number-one New York Times best-selling author of Orphan Train).

©2017 Meredith Maran (P)2017 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 3.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Annoying - Pretty Much a Downer

What did you like best about The New Old Me? What did you like least?

Kind of a struggle to get through - Accurate portrayal of LA - but the hero is so unable to be satisfied

Would you recommend The New Old Me to your friends? Why or why not?

No - Character was "all about me" Blah Blah Blah

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disappointing

I was drawn to this book because of its catchy, wry title. The author did deliver on her story, but it seemed self-indulgent to me. Page after page of me, me,me. A main theme is how much she missed her wife, whom she never refers to by name. The endless repetition of the term " my wife" seemed an annoying affectation. Meanwhile, she never discusses becoming a lesbian after twenty years of marriage to a man, and having two children, whom she barely mentions.
There were a few amusing, sympathetic incidents and the writing is ok. I did finish the book to see how she found her way, but honestly I just didn't enjoy it.
Also, I found the narration grating. It wasn't terrible, but the narrators voice rose loudly so often for dramatic effect that I was always turning down the volume.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Quirky, Emtional, Real

Where does The New Old Me rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I loved this book... it was a weird start in my opinion - but I found my self anxious to listen further.

What did you like best about this story?

Life is not over at 60. Take Chances. Fall. Get up again!

What about Christina Delaine’s performance did you like?

I enjoyed the voice changes when reading different characters. And the pauses between words at times... very real

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Laughed and cried... and cheered for her a little.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great Story, Annoying Narration

I loved the story, but almost couldn't get past the over-dramatic, over-acted narration. I would have rather read this book just to avoid the narration. But I pushed on because I did really enjoy the story and the author's perspective.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Inspiring Reminder

I really enjoyed this book. Maran is a great writer, kept me very entertained. I think deep down everyone has the fear that they'll have to reinvent their lives when they get older, be it from divorce or death of a partner, or even a new job. Maran showed the reality of insecurity and dispair, but also the value of friendship and reaching out when comfort is needed. I'm so grateful to have this reminder of how important friends are and how much they are willing to give when you reach out. Life goes on be it alone or not, your choice.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • NJ
  • 06-13-17

Not what I expected at all

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

This book was about a lesbian relationship, separation, divorce. I am sure it is beneficial to some but 100% shocking for one with no idea this was the story line plus it was VERY dark.

What was most disappointing about Meredith Maran’s story?

.

Would you be willing to try another one of Christina Delaine’s performances?

.

What character would you cut from The New Old Me?

.

Any additional comments?

.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful