We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The New Old Me Audiobook

The New Old Me: My Late-Life Reinvention

Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood.

For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood. After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life savings, and the collapse of her once-happy marriage, Meredith Maran - whom Anne Lamott calls "insightful, funny, and human" - leaves her San Francisco freelance writer's life for a 9-to-5 job in Los Angeles. Determined to rebuild not only her savings but herself while relishing the joys of life in La-La land, Maran writes "a poignant story, a funny story, a moving story, and above all an American story of what it means to be a woman of a certain age in our time" (Christina Baker Kline, number-one New York Times best-selling author of Orphan Train).

©2017 Meredith Maran (P)2017 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (26 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.7 (26 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (3)
Story
3.9 (26 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sara Kelly 07-19-17
    Sara Kelly 07-19-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quirky, Emtional, Real"
    Where does The New Old Me rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I loved this book... it was a weird start in my opinion - but I found my self anxious to listen further.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Life is not over at 60. Take Chances. Fall. Get up again!


    What about Christina Delaine’s performance did you like?

    I enjoyed the voice changes when reading different characters. And the pauses between words at times... very real


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Laughed and cried... and cheered for her a little.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LB 06-13-17
    LB 06-13-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not what I expected at all"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    This book was about a lesbian relationship, separation, divorce. I am sure it is beneficial to some but 100% shocking for one with no idea this was the story line plus it was VERY dark.


    What was most disappointing about Meredith Maran’s story?

    .


    Would you be willing to try another one of Christina Delaine’s performances?

    .


    What character would you cut from The New Old Me?

    .


    Any additional comments?

    .

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.