We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The New Old Me Audiobook

The New Old Me: My Late-Life Reinvention

Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood.

For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood. After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life savings, and the collapse of her once-happy marriage, Meredith Maran - whom Anne Lamott calls "insightful, funny, and human" - leaves her San Francisco freelance writer's life for a 9-to-5 job in Los Angeles. Determined to rebuild not only her savings but herself while relishing the joys of life in La-La land, Maran writes "a poignant story, a funny story, a moving story, and above all an American story of what it means to be a woman of a certain age in our time" (Christina Baker Kline, number-one New York Times best-selling author of Orphan Train).

©2017 Meredith Maran (P)2017 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (35 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.7 (32 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (3)
Story
3.8 (32 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Catherine 09-06-17
    Catherine 09-06-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Annoying - Pretty Much a Downer"
    What did you like best about The New Old Me? What did you like least?

    Kind of a struggle to get through - Accurate portrayal of LA - but the hero is so unable to be satisfied


    Would you recommend The New Old Me to your friends? Why or why not?

    No - Character was "all about me" Blah Blah Blah


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Teresa J. Rhyne 10-29-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story, Annoying Narration"

    I loved the story, but almost couldn't get past the over-dramatic, over-acted narration. I would have rather read this book just to avoid the narration. But I pushed on because I did really enjoy the story and the author's perspective.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lou D300 Louisville, KY 09-28-17
    Lou D300 Louisville, KY 09-28-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Inspiring Reminder"

    I really enjoyed this book. Maran is a great writer, kept me very entertained. I think deep down everyone has the fear that they'll have to reinvent their lives when they get older, be it from divorce or death of a partner, or even a new job. Maran showed the reality of insecurity and dispair, but also the value of friendship and reaching out when comfort is needed. I'm so grateful to have this reminder of how important friends are and how much they are willing to give when you reach out. Life goes on be it alone or not, your choice.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Retired 08-30-17
    Retired 08-30-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    I was drawn to this book because of its catchy, wry title. The author did deliver on her story, but it seemed self-indulgent to me. Page after page of me, me,me. A main theme is how much she missed her wife, whom she never refers to by name. The endless repetition of the term " my wife" seemed an annoying affectation. Meanwhile, she never discusses becoming a lesbian after twenty years of marriage to a man, and having two children, whom she barely mentions.
    There were a few amusing, sympathetic incidents and the writing is ok. I did finish the book to see how she found her way, but honestly I just didn't enjoy it.
    Also, I found the narration grating. It wasn't terrible, but the narrators voice rose loudly so often for dramatic effect that I was always turning down the volume.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sara Kelly 07-19-17
    Sara Kelly 07-19-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quirky, Emtional, Real"
    Where does The New Old Me rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I loved this book... it was a weird start in my opinion - but I found my self anxious to listen further.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Life is not over at 60. Take Chances. Fall. Get up again!


    What about Christina Delaine’s performance did you like?

    I enjoyed the voice changes when reading different characters. And the pauses between words at times... very real


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Laughed and cried... and cheered for her a little.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    NJ 06-13-17
    NJ 06-13-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not what I expected at all"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    This book was about a lesbian relationship, separation, divorce. I am sure it is beneficial to some but 100% shocking for one with no idea this was the story line plus it was VERY dark.


    What was most disappointing about Meredith Maran’s story?

    .


    Would you be willing to try another one of Christina Delaine’s performances?

    .


    What character would you cut from The New Old Me?

    .


    Any additional comments?

    .

    0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.