Regular price: $28.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's 20-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.

Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did.

Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011, all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly "brandished" a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for "felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon".

Within months, she found herself in the psych ward - and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang", she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her 40s.

In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.

©2017 Amy Dresner (P)2017 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Like Carrie Fisher's 1987 autobiographical novel, Postcards from the Edge, and Mary Karr's 2009 memoir, Lit, Amy Dresner's story of addiction and recovery, My Fair Junkie: A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Stay Clean (Hachette Books), is one for the ages." (Elle)
"Effortlessly candid and wryly written chronicle of a life hijacked by drugs, booze, and bad behavior. As a noted West Hollywood stand-up comedian and addiction journalist, she handles this complex tale with wit.... A hard-knocks addiction memoir buoyed with humor and insight." (Kirkus)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loved this

Although this is a shocking and sad story at times I laughed out loud so many times.The author is so irreverent but so honest about her addiction and her life.Not sure it's for everyone but I loved it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Break Through Newcomer Denial With This!

This is the kinda stuff that’s necessary to bust through newcomer denial. And I like that she’s appropriately skeptical of Meeting Culture. But this comedienne isn’t funny. And the relentless sexalog/drunkalog/monotonealog is overwhelming (and I’m a slipper). I mean overwhelming in the detail of quotes, specific actions, memories, people, places, and things. No one remembers that clearly through all that fog. Mine the sleaze for all it's worth!, but this redemption song is lame.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Oy vey

I mean this book jumped around so much that I had no idea sometimes where she was – married, doing community service, with one guy or another on one drug or another… It had absolutely no organized story.

I was captivated I listened until the end which says a lot because sometimes I don’t, but as far as story and overall enjoyment, I was more confused than anything and just stuck it out to see how it ended. Which was a huge disappointment anyway. Not impressed

  • Overall

Wow!

What a writing! Very foul language but I don't know how she could have wrote without it!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Worthy listen even if you're not an addict.

The production was superb. The text was read flawlessly with great pacing. I found the book enlightening, provocative, and entertaining. The refreshing honesty captivated my attention for the duration. The only minor complaint that I have was the sudden jumping from one point on the timeline to another and back.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Amazing!

Want to listen to an honest and heart wrenching book about addiction and recovery? This one will blow your mind. Amy Dresner nails it and I haven’t been able to stop listening to her incredible journey.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

So honest and real!!

I’ve read virtually all the addiction memoirs. Amy’s is unique! It is real and honest. To me, this book will help a lot of people!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Unbreakable

Seeringly honest and captivating. Amy Dresner and addiction are great pals. However, with strength, honesty, a fresh mouth and good humor Amy fights back with the help of a myriad of good people. Godspeed Amy Dresner and it is a story of hope and success. Thank you.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful