We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (5275 )
5 star
 (2870)
4 star
 (1190)
3 star
 (608)
2 star
 (302)
1 star
 (305)
Overall
4.1 (4864 )
5 star
 (2609)
4 star
 (1122)
3 star
 (554)
2 star
 (280)
1 star
 (299)
Story
4.2 (4864 )
5 star
 (3029)
4 star
 (860)
3 star
 (440)
2 star
 (226)
1 star
 (309)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    T. Thompson Wilmington, DE USA 04-05-16
    T. Thompson Wilmington, DE USA 04-05-16 Member Since 2014

    tevist

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful!!!!!!!!
    "

    I did not get any of this book? I did not find it funny or entertaining! Avoid this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacy Nunn 04-03-16
    Stacy Nunn 04-03-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't do it."
    What disappointed you about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    The author tried too hard to be funny. Very negative.


    What could Jenny Lawson have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Get to the point faster


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    The narration was fine - it was the content that was lacking


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    The "singing" of each chapter title


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Iris 04-02-16
    Iris 04-02-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "THERE ARE NO SECRETS!"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    I have listened twice. Just wanted to relisten for more in-sight.


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    I try not to compare books, each should be enjoyed as their own single work.


    Which character – as performed by Jenny Lawson – was your favorite?

    not sure


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Honesty is the best policy, but is scary as hell for everyone.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 03-28-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"

    Hilarious & I completely understand her personal struggles she goes through. Recommend to anyone.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rebecca Barrett 03-26-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "hilarious!"

    I loved it! I found myself laughing out loud and probably should have been embarrassed at times at the looks I received when listening in public. so worth it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brad Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada 03-25-16
    Brad Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada 03-25-16 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Funniest Book I have ever listened to."
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    OK, she is zany, certainly crazy but unquestionably brilliant. Smart, weird and wonderful this book is non stop laugh out loud. Just buy it and enjoy.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    H. Brat 03-23-16
    H. Brat 03-23-16

    H. Bratsakis

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So funny So crazy"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to be better than the print version?

    Jenny Lawson is so crazy but so funny. I laughed out loud so many times during this book. She has an interesting take on life and a even more interesting family. I love that she reads the book herself. Adding her own voice makes this listen even more enjoyable.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ruffleddove utah 03-22-16
    ruffleddove utah 03-22-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the funniest books I've read recently!"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    Yes and I will I'm sure. I've recommended it to all my friends.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Jenny has a wild imagination and an interesting perspective on life. Her upbringing is very unorthodox which gave this book a different spin rather than your run-of-the-mill, a comedian writes a book. I've read several of those and her memoir surpasses everyone.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    My favorite scene was when she was being chased by the turkeys at her school. It was hilarious the way she describes it.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Laughed out loud several times.


    Any additional comments?

    My only criticism of the book is the singing on the chapter titles. I know Jenny is hilarious and she must have thought this was funny, but it was a bit annoying and overdone.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda 03-21-16
    Linda 03-21-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It's Approved!"

    Wow.

    I am at a total loss now having finished both of her audiobooks. (Yes. I know. This is the first one. I listened out of order, which is actually great because the singing of the titles may have turned me off to listen to the second had I listened to the first FIRST and I am so happy it didn't get a chance to. But I digress...)

    Jenny Lawson is my FAVORITE! I don't think anything will be able to measure up now. She set the bar WAY too high. I dare you to listen to this and not love it. (I know, some people have, but that was before the whole dare so it totally doesn't count.)

    I just--I just can't think of anything else wonderful to say. It may be because of all the shots she made me do toward the end. The words escape me.

    All joking aside, these are hilarious audiobooks. Not for people easily offended (I can just picture my 87-year-old Aunt falling on a fainting couch, and she is cuhRAYzy progressive for her age!) but if you can handle bawdy humor, and a ton of roadkill, you'll love this book. Or your money back. I'll take it out of what Penguin owes me for all the drinks.

    THANK you, Jenny! It's the most I've laughed in months. And at a time that I really needed it. ❤️

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laura G. Williams 03-20-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The worst language"

    Did not finish it due to the constant foul language. It could have been hilarious but for the offensive language.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.