Regular price: $27.37

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In this engagingly witty, wise, and heartfelt memoir, Martin Short tells the tale of how a showbiz-obsessed kid from Canada transformed himself into one of Hollywood’s favorite funnymen, known to his famous peers as the "comedian’s comedian".

Martin Short takes you on a rich, hilarious, and occasionally heartbreaking ride through his life and times, from his early years in Toronto as a member of the fabled improvisational troupe Second City to the all-American comic big time of Saturday Night Live and memorable roles in movies such as ¡Three Amigos! and Father of the Bride. He reveals how he created his most indelible comedic characters, among them the manic man-child Ed Grimley, the slimy corporate lawyer Nathan Thurm, and the bizarrely insensitive interviewer Jiminy Glick. Throughout, Short freely shares the spotlight with friends, colleagues, and collaborators, including Steve Martin, Tom Hanks, Gilda Radner, Mel Brooks, Nora Ephron, Eugene Levy, Catherine O’Hara, Paul Shaffer, and David Letterman.

But there is another side to Short's life that he has long kept private. He lost his eldest brother and both of his parents by the time he turned 20, and, more recently, he lost his wife of 30 years to cancer. In I Must Say, Short talks for the first time about the pain that these losses inflicted and the upbeat life philosophy that has kept him resilient and carried him through. In the grand tradition of comedy legends, Martin Short offers a show business memoir densely populated with boldface names and rife with re-tellable tales: a hugely entertaining yet surprisingly moving self-portrait that will keep you laughing - and crying - from the first page to the last.

Special Lyrics for "It's The Most Wonderful Show of the Year" and "Picture-Perfect Christmas In The Palisades" by Martin Short, Marc Shaiman, and Scott Wittman; Special Lyrics for “Marty Throws a Party Just to Sing" by Marc Shaiman.

©2014 Martin Short (P)2014 Harper Collins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,192
  • 4 Stars
    722
  • 3 Stars
    165
  • 2 Stars
    49
  • 1 Stars
    13

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,454
  • 4 Stars
    307
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,928
  • 4 Stars
    654
  • 3 Stars
    168
  • 2 Stars
    54
  • 1 Stars
    15
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is what audio books were made for!

If you could sum up I Must Say in three words, what would they be?

"Read By Martin!"
Oh, give me a break, what a wonderful performance by Marty, and that's no lie. Can I call him Marty? I suppose if we were best friends, I could call him Marty. Oh and I suppose that would ever happen! This book made me completely mental, I was so sad when the book finished and there was nothing more to listen to, it was similar to a pain that may linger, I must say.

What did you like best about this story?

Read and Performed by Martin Short.

What does Martin Short bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

It's a total performance masterpiece. He does not merely narrate, he goes into his all sorts of different voices, there's even a couple of times where a piano is played. (but no triangles are played.)

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Skip the movie, buy the audio book, it's better!!

30 of 34 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

A high point for audiobooks...Bravo!

It's almost as if this was conceived as an audiobook first. His performance makes this more than just someone reading their book. This is the real Martin Short, as funny, candid and tender as someone can be when sharing their life and talent. Very highly recommended.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Short and Sweet

Martin Short is the consummate showman and this audio memoir is like being at a dinner party with him as he regales you with the story of his life.

I was most taken by his optimism and sunny disposition in the face of family tragedy. He is a man with a "Teflon interior," and at 64, shows no signs of stopping.

This audio book is well read, and performances by Jiminy Glick, Ed Grimley, and songs sung at Short's famous Christmas parties are icing on the cake.

I plan on keeping this audio book to check in with Smarty Marty whenever I'm feeling like a good swift kick in the comedy pants.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not Just For Fans, Say I

This book is great fun for fans of SCTV, SNL, Martin Short, and 1970s--80s humor generally. Short impeccably reads his own multiple laugh-out-loud stories about practically everything under the sun, including lots of humorous anecdotes concerning awkward social situations during which the author, usually in an effort to impress some major celebrity he's just met for the first time, manages to put his foot squarely in his mouth, concluding his rueful tale with his trademark self-deprecating "'Damn thee, Marty Short,' said I."

There are also a lot of recreated sketches and songs, which led my much-older husband (who never followed SCTV) to become rapidly bored while listening, and prompted me to imagine I would be qualifying my review with the title "Great For Fans." However, just before its final hour, the book takes an unexpected (for me) very serious turn, and without giving any spoilers, I have to say I had tears in my eyes at the end.

Bravo, Marty Short! say I. Thank you for sharing. I'm sure I'll listen to this one again sometime. Grade: A.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I always hoped he'd be like this.

If you could sum up I Must Say in three words, what would they be?

A Wonderful Life.

What did you like best about this story?

I liked the whole thing so much I don't know how to answer this question.

What about Martin Short’s performance did you like?

It was him. It felt like he was talking to me.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I didn't know his history beyond the work so it hit me when he began talking about Nancy in the past tense at a certain point in the book.

Any additional comments?

I wish he had only covered half his life so we could have another book.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Humble, heartfelt and hilarious

I enjoyed the flow of the story. The hilarious highs and the humility and telling grace through the lows. I have already recommended it to like minded friends after having to pull over to the side of the road on TWO occasions, once for laughing myself to tears and the other, well tears. It's a love story masqueraded as a memoir.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • tina
  • FORT PAYNE, AL, United States
  • 01-11-15

I laughed, I cried, I wet my pants...Ty Marty

A true comic genius, a must read if you need to laugh, or if you are in the mist of coping with a loved one with cancer. Great perspective.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Maybe my expectations were too high

I had high hopes going into this one. I mean, it's Martin Short reading his own biography. Aside from the occasional deep insights and funny story, this book is fairly dry. You walk away knowing about Martin Short's life, but don't walk away with the stories and humor that I was expecting from one of my favorite comedians. It pains me to rate it so low, but I would probably pass on this one if I hadn't already listened to it.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Martin, how you can entertain

Slapstick comedy is his profession. Having a loving wife & kids is his legacy. Such a positive book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nobody could narrate this better!

What a terrific "read" - hilarious anecdotes, touching life lessons. This experience wouldn't have been the same had it been narrated by someone else, or read in the traditional way people read books. Complete with his masterfully accurate voice impersonations, he really brings the book to life. Wonderful!