Your audiobook is waiting…

Before You Go

Narrated by: Daniela Acitelli
Length: 3 hrs and 55 mins
Categories: Fiction, Literary

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Counting things in threes usually calms Dell’s crippling anxiety - the passionflower vine along the shop wall, the jimsonweed by the roadside, the sleeping valley in the distance - but when her baby daughter goes missing, her world shatters completely.

Virginia, 1979. Growing up among the sprawling valleys and forests of Blyth, beautiful young Dell has always had a natural intuition for how to fix other people’s hurts, if not her own. She hopes for a better future, although thanks to her alcoholic father and narcissistic mother, happiness seems far out of her reach. She certainly could never have predicted holding her baby girl for the first time and the life-changing, powerful love she would feel when she did.

Even as a heartbroken single mother in a small town riddled with gossips, she suddenly feels that she can do this. She can raise her daughter. But when she turns to her own mother for help, her mother convinces her that the child would be better off with another family. With nobody to fight her corner, Dell must watch the local church take the baby away, leaving her alone and completely devastated.

Dell feels there’s nothing left for her in her tiny hometown but heartache and shattered dreams, and so she flees, vowing never to go back. It finally seems like luck is on her side when she finds a small shop for rent, overlooking the peaceful Shenandoah Valley. This quiet corner of paradise feels like the perfect place to heal and use her gift to help others heal, too. Until Dell’s mother tracks her down to deliver crushing news - her baby girl is missing.

Dell knows she won’t find out where her child is in the stars or on her palms. Instead, she must do the one thing she promised she never would. She must return to Blyth and all of her memories. Will what Dell finds there finally heal her fragile heart or break it into a thousand irreparable pieces?

An unforgettable and heart-wrenching debut about the endurance of love, the power of forgiveness, and finding beauty in the world around us. Your must-listen book of 2019. Perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing, Kristin Hannah, and Kerry Lonsdale.

Book club discussion questions are included in the book.

©2019 Kelly Heard (P)2019 Bookouture

More from the same

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.