Regular price: $35.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable fantasy adventure that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt. Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor.

In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts - lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt.

Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj's livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he's suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now, Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves - and his own life.

©2017 Tochi Onyebuchi (P)2017 Listening Library

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Reading & Listening made fun again!!!

Dont hesitate download now!!! This book is amazing!!!!! And the reader is Amazing!!! You wont regret it PROMISE!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

highly recommend

excellent character development. interesting story line. well read. would recommend to young adults and adults

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

So. Many. Questions.

Let me start by saying I ALWAYS love Prentice Onayemi’s narration. He is brilliant, and I love even more that he read this book with the accent of the narrator. His narration is probably what kept me listening. The premise sounded amazing, I loved the Nigerian influences, and the world built by Onyebuchi was genuinely interesting; however, the world and characters did not feel fleshed out quite enough and left me with many questions that went unexplained. Why don’t Taj’s spots ever fade? How did the family in power get there in the first place? Why were there tunnels under the city? Could the aki have just collectively refused to eat sin? Why did the royal family have to pretend to arrest Taj to get their plan to work? Do different sin beasts in fact represent different sins or are they random? Etc etc etc.

Quite frankly, his lust for the princess irritated me to no end. If I could have skipped those parts, the book may have been better. She was completely unlikeable and his love for her made absolutely no sense. The plot twists, though surprising, were again, nonsensical to me.

It’s worth a first listen, but I don’t know if I’ll be invested in it enough to read the second book, which makes me very sad.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Salaam

I’m a man of few words. This book is Dope! Take the journey & enjoy the ride! Nuff said!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

felt incomplete

I enjoyed this book, but felt that there were some plot holes, unexplained key elements, and strange character development choices.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Beautiful Narration

If you could sum up Beasts Made of Night in three words, what would they be?

Fantastical, unrepentant, and insightful.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

I love the magic being woven into what is really a story about class, trust, and personal growth. There were a couple parts where the story seemed a little disjointed, but I listened to this while incredibly tired while driving for several hours. I do plan to listen to this again. I was expecting to see more struggle for Taj -or maybe hoping Taj would struggle more and not be so perfect at what he does. But maybe the struggle seems less listening instead of reading?

What does Prentice Onayemi bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The narration was stunning. I loved hearing the character in the tone and cadence he would naturally speak in. I could hear him slip at the start of a new chapter, but overall quality was really great. I love that this was unapologetically African -from the the speech of narration to the world Tochi built. Praise!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes! I binged this on the 8.5+ hour drive from Sacramento to Portland all night.

Any additional comments?

Overall a great read -good for a one-time binge. Story is beautiful and I'm looking forward to listen to the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could not put it down.

This book has been the most unique thing I have heard in a long time. The narrator is superb and I was put under his spell. Use your credit on this one folks—you won't regret it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mesmerizing read, can't wait for next book

This debut novel by Mr. Onyebuchi was mesmerizing in its creativity and struck me as especially timely because of the topic, sin, that its characters had to contend with at every moment. Sin, equality, education, and the many other issues that Onyebuchi covered in this book, in a magnificently fantastical way made the darkness of the novel bearable. The very end of the book was frustrating only because I want to read the next one immediately. This series is going to be epic.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The narration lost me

I really wanted to like this book. The cover is beautifully designed, which caught my eye in the first place. And the premise sounded truly interesting. However, the narrator, whose accent I'm sure was designed to add authenticity to the story, only made it much more difficult for me to follow. I struggled not only with what the narrator was saying but his pacing kept throwing me off as well. Maybe I'm one of few who found it difficult to understand and it's quite possible that had I read it instead of listened, my opinion would be very different. But in this case, I just got too lost in the narration and couldn't finish the book. I will be returning this one.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful