Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In)

Narrated by: Emily Klein
Length: 7 hrs and 46 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (60 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In cart

Publisher's Summary

An international best seller, a number one New York Times best seller, and now a major motion picture! Ruta Sepetys' Between Shades of Gray is now the film Ashes in the Snow!

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." (The Washington Post)

Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life - until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she embeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive? 

A moving and haunting novel perfect for fans of The Book Thief

"Superlative. A hefty emotional punch." (The New York Times Book Review

"Heart-wrenching...an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart." (The Los Angeles Times

"At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historical fiction." (The Wall Street Journal

"Beautifully written and deeply felt.... An important book that deserves the widest possible readership." (Booklist, starred review)

A New York Times Notable Book

An International Best Seller

A Carnegie Medal Nominee

A William C. Morris Award Finalist

A Golden Kite Award Winner

A Best Children's Book of 2011 Selection from The Wall Street Journal, PW, SLJ, Booklist, Kirkus, iTunes, Amazon, St. Louis Post Dispatch, and Columbus Dispatch.

ILA Notable Book for a Global Society Award Winner

Winner of 10 International Book Prizes across France, Sweden, Belgium, Lithuania, and Canada.

26 State Award Lists

Four-Starred Reviews

And more!

©2018 Ruta Sepetys (P)2018 Listening Library
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Very good story. Gives the reader more insight to that horrible holocaust. Well written story!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

this needs to be taught in schools

I'm a 26 year old I was taught about Hitler about the horrific things he did but I never in my life thought that there was more...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great subject

I was excited about this book. Super interesting subject but the narration was really lacking. I still loved the story.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Horrible narration...

This was, BY FAR, the WORST narration I have ever experienced... and I’ve listened to hundreds of books during my lengthy commute.
While this story was interesting, the whiny narration took away from it and failed to do it justice and convey the suffering that the characters experienced.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WONDERFUL

I could not put stop listening to this book once I started. The last 2 chapters are the authors own words on why she wrote this book. Fascinating. I never knew about Lithuvania(sp). LISTEN TO IT!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

needs to be shared

I knew some of the historical facts regarding the annexation of Lithuania, but this book really painted a beautiful, heartbreaking tale. My only issue was I didn't like the narrator's voice

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A review of “Ashes in the Snow “

This book was very painful to listen to. It was a chore to finish. The narration was tedious. I hated it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-16-19

wow

the book was so well written explaining all the terrible things that happened all those years ago. this is an enjoyable book to listen to