Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Jenna Fischer's Hollywood journey began at the age of 22 when she moved to Los Angeles from her hometown of St. Louis. With a theater degree in hand, she was determined, she was confident, she was ready to work hard. So, what could go wrong?

Uh, basically everything. The path to being a professional actor was so much more vast and competitive than she’d imagined. It would be eight long years before she landed her iconic role on The Office, nearly a decade of frustration, struggle, rejection, and doubt.

If only she’d had a handbook for the aspiring actor. Or, better yet, someone to show her the way—an established actor who could educate her about the business, manage her expectations, and reassure her in those moments of despair.

Jenna wants to be that person for you.   

With amusing candor and wit, Fischer spells out the nuts and bolts of getting established in the profession, based on her own memorable and hilarious experiences. She tells you how to get the right headshot, what to look for in representation, and the importance of joining forces with other like-minded artists and creating your own work—invaluable advice personally acquired from her many years of struggle. She provides helpful hints on how to be gutsy and take risks, the tricks to good auditioning and callbacks, and how not to fall for certain scams (auditions in a guy’s apartment are probably not legit—or at least not for the kind of part you’re looking for!).

Her inspiring, helpful guidance feels like a trusted friend who’s made the journey, and has now returned to walk beside you, pointing out the pitfalls as you blaze your own path towards the life of a professional actor.  

This title is narrated by a full cast. Narrators include: Jenna Fischer, Rainn Wilson, Natalie Zea, Sean Gunn, Derek Waters, Reed Birney, and Mark Proksch.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2017 Andycat Productions Inc. (P)2017 Novel Audio Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

OMG THE INTRO! lol

HAhahahaHA
I've only listened to the first few chapters so far but I wanted to write my review now because I don't think I've ever enjoyed an audiobook's introduction this much before! Rainn Wilson reads it, but it was written by Steve Carell and hilarity ensues. I won't spoil it, but it's soooo funny.
So far, Jenna's chapters are really great, too! I can see how this would be helpful for people who want to become actors, but I am still enjoying it as someone who does not. It's a little bit memoir-y because she shares a lot of personal anecdotes. Her narration is great, too! As a fan of The Office, it's fun to hear things from her perspective as a real life person, not as the character that I think a lot of people still see her as (Pam). That being said, she does seem to share some similarities with her famous character and that is just so super endearing.
She honestly seems so sweet and listening to this really makes me love her even more! I'll finish this one quickly because it is (so far) a great listen.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Perfect for Jenna Fischer/The Office fans!!

Would you listen to The Actor's Life again? Why?

Yes! I'm a huge fan of The Office and it was so cool to hear what it was like on set. I loved Jenna's telling of the Pam/Jim first kiss!

What does Jenna Fischer Rainn Wilson Natalie Zea Sean Gunn Derek Waters Reed Birney Mark Proksch bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Since the book is part memoir, it was great to hear her read it. It was also awesome that the interview part at the end with her actor friends was actually read by the actors and Jenna!

Any additional comments?

A must listen for fans of Jenna Fischer, The Office and aspiring actors alike! Or even if you've ever wondered what struggling actors in Hollywood really go through!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Vernon
  • JERSEY CITY, NEW JERSEY, United States
  • 01-14-18

Very interesting

This was great considering it came out right after I went to a seminar that Jenna did in New York. I’ve been acting for over 20 years, but always goes back to basics when I see an interesting book. I think a must read for any actor, listen to the stories that you think just happen to you. Enjoy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loved this book! lots of great advise

Definitely listen to this if you are a struggling actor and need some advise or just reassurance that you are doing the right thing in following your dreams. never give up!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Better than expected

I really respect Jenna for her candidness, honesty and care towards other actors like myself

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

So helpful and encouraging!

Would you listen to The Actor's Life again? Why?

Yes. In addition to the TON of practical advice, there is an encouraging tone to the words that are spoken. It feels like having a personal coach there with you, reminding you that "Yes, you are enough. And that life is more important than just nailing that audition, and getting that role." You can really hear the sincerity in the author's voice, and because it's her voice, and not my own self-critical voice saying the words (which would be the case if I were reading the book), I feel that the book packs more of an encouraging and affirming punch, so to speak.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Actor's Life?

Rainn Wilson reading the forward is worth the price of the book alone - it's so funny. Apparently he ad-libbed some of what was said? It had me laughing out loud.

Which scene was your favorite?

The interviews at the end of the book are super insightful. It's nice to hear the other actor's echo some of what has been said earlier in the book. Hearing the story of the broadway actor (I'm sorry I can't remember his name) and the dedication he's had pursuing his craft was really inspiring.

Any additional comments?

Give it to every actor you know. This book, though specifically written for actors, can be applied to any one's pursuit of their art. I think it should be required reading for anyone choosing to pursue a career in the performing arts (actors, musicians, comedians, directors, writers etc...)! Big thanks to the author for taking the time and effort, and having the willingness to share her journey with all of us who have wondered what it takes to make it as an actor, or what it is like to live the life of a working artist. Indeed, it IS a noble pursuit!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

loved every second

I dont care what industry you're in, Jenna tells it like it is and if you have an interest in becoming successful and laughing at her amazing stories, then go buy the book. TODAY!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loved it!

I'm not looking to become an actor, but I really love Jenna Fischer and wanted to give it a listen. It was incredibly inspiring knowing how hard actors and actresses work to do what they love. The narration and material were also perfect and really kept me engaged. Loved it!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great Performances!

I can't emphasize enough how great the performances were on this audiobook! A lot of narrators (who are also actors sometimes) have great chops, but it is something special to have an actor read their own work. Really, really enjoyed that, especially the interviews at the end. Also, I feel like Jenna Fischer is one of those celebrities that if you met her in real life she would be just so. damn. nice. This audiobook confirmed that feeling for me. I get the impression that she genuinely just wants to help other people, particularly aspiring actors. I am not an aspiring actor, but I still really enjoyed this listen.