We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Thalia Book Club: All Aunt Hagar's Children - Stories by Edward P. Jones Speech

Thalia Book Club: All Aunt Hagar's Children - Stories by Edward P. Jones

Regular Price:$6.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

The Thalia Book Club is particularly lucky this episode to feature the brilliant author Edward P. Jones. His first novel, The Known World, won a Pulitzer Prize and his first collection of stories, Lost in the City, a magnificent mosaic of Washington, D.C., moments, won the PEN/Hemingway award. In this episode, Jones speaks with Harper's book critic Wyatt Mason about his new book All Aunt Hagar's Children. Fans of the series will also be happy to note that this episode includes a stunning reading by actress Carmen de Lalvallade.

Publisher's Summary

In 14 sublime stories, Edward P. Jones turns an unflinching eye to the ordinary citizens of Washington, DC: men, women, and children caught between the old ways of the South and the temptations that await them in the city. With the legacy of slavery just a stone's throw behind them and the future uncertain, Jones' cornucopia of characters will haunt the reader for years to come.

Hear the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Circle Award-winning author discuss his new story collection with Harper's Contributing Editor Wyatt Mason. Carmen de Lavallade reads a selection from the book.

Edward P. Jones was born in Washington, DC in 1950. His first short story collection, Lost in the City, won the PEN/Hemingway Award and was short-listed for the National Book Award in 1992. His first novel, The Known World, received the Pulitzer Prize for fiction and the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was also a finalist for the National Book Award. A recipient of a Lannan Foundation Award and a 2004 MacArthur fellow, Jones' stories have been published in The Paris Review, Ploughshares, and Callaloo.

If you haven't heard it already, download Edward P. Jones' All Aunt Hagar's Children.

And don't miss any of the Thalia Book Club author events.

©2006 The Symphony Space, Inc. (P)2006 The Symphony Space, Inc.

What Members Say

There are no reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.


Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.