Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
A Thousand Ships  By  cover art

A Thousand Ships

By: Natalie Haynes
Narrated by: Natalie Haynes
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $16.02

Buy for $16.02

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2020

 One of the Guardian's and TLS's 'Best Books of 2019'   

In A Thousand Ships, broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective, for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker.

This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all....

In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames. Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen. 

From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war. 

Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships Natalie Haynes puts the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story.

©2019 Natalie Haynes (P)2019 Macmillan Digital Audio

Critic reviews

"A gripping feminist masterpiece." (Deborah Frances-White)

What listeners say about A Thousand Ships

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Unforgiving and powerful novel

This books shines a bright light on the often disregarded characters of these epic novels we heard, read, and tought about. It shows us a different perspective that is both refreshing, and tragic. I truly hope the ghosts of these women will find some semblence of rest, knowing there is someone who is doing her best giving them the justice and recognition they deserve

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!