adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $23.95

Buy for $23.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this compelling and heartfelt mystery story, Janae Marks - author of the critically acclaimed best-selling From the Desk of Zoe Washington - follows a young girl reshaping her meaning of home. Perfect for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Rebecca Stead.

“Joyful. A book that kids will love.” (Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me)

Joy Taylor has always believed home is the house she lived in her entire life. But then her dad lost his job, and suddenly, home becomes a tiny apartment with thin walls, shared bedrooms, and a place for tense arguments between Mom and Dad. Hardest of all, Joy doesn’t have her music to escape through anymore. Without enough funds, her dreams of becoming a great pianist - and one day, a film score composer - have been put on hold.

A friendly new neighbor her age lets Joy in on the complex’s best-kept secret: the Hideout, a cozy refuge that only the kids know about. And it’s in this little hideaway that Joy starts exchanging secret messages with another kid in the building who also seems to be struggling, until - abruptly, they stop writing back. What if they’re in trouble? 

Joy is determined to find out who this mystery writer is, fast, but between trying to raise funds for her music lessons, keeping on a brave face for her little sister, and worrying about her parents’ marriage, Joy isn’t sure how to keep her own head above water.

"Squeezes your heart in such a special way." (Lisa Moore Ramée, author of A Good Kind of Trouble and Something to Say)

“Readers will find hope in Joy’s courage, ingenuity, and fierce dedication to her friends.” (Kate Messner, author of Breakout and Chirp)

“A timely story about connection, loss and the spaces we need to understand one and brave the other.” (Paula Chase, author of Dough Boys and So Done)

©2021 Janae Marks (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about A Soft Place to Land

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.