A Mother's Goodbye

Narrated by: Lisa Rost-Welling
Length: 10 hrs and 27 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (76 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In cart

Publisher's Summary

You know you can’t keep your baby. But can you trust someone else with their life? 

When Heather finds herself unexpectedly pregnant, she knows there is no way she can keep her baby. She can barely manage to stay afloat as it is. But how can she stop herself from loving the child as it grows inside her?

She thinks she’s found the perfect adoptive mother in Grace. Confident and wealthy, Grace has everything that Heather doesn’t. But when the heartbreaking moment arrives, will Heather be able to give up her baby? And if she can’t, what will this mean for Grace?

Two women’s lives are forever entwined by the love for the same child and by the agonizing choices they will both have to make. A Mother’s Choice will make listeners ask themselves what it truly means to be a parent and whether they could make an ultimately selfless decision when it comes to their child’s future.

A Mother’s Choice is a heartbreaking and compelling emotional drama with a tear-jerking twist - perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Kelly Rimmer, and Diane Chamberlain.  

Praise for Kate Hewitt:

"Pulled me in and never let me go...Hewitt writes about the complex emotions of family relationships with sensitivity and realism." (Marie Bostwick, The New York Times best-selling author) 

"Kate Hewitt writes with deep emotion and stunning prose." (Kathleen McGurl, author)

"Warm, wonderful, emotion storytelling." (Sarah Morgan, author)

"A lushly imagined, deeply moving story...stunning...the perfect book to lose yourself in." (Megan Crane, USA Today best-selling author) 

"Touches the heart and pulls the reader in." (RT Reviews)

"Quality women’s fiction...at its finest." (Fictionophile)

©2018 Kate Hewitt (P)2018 Bookouture
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not what I expected

what I thought would be a book about adoption and the challenges and pain of this decision turned out to be so much more. I enjoyed the two sided view and storytelling.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What choice would you make?

my heart felt for both parties of this story. Grace & Heather eventually end up on similar paths to which both gain understanding. a mother's love will always put the child first in the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely beautiful

Loved every beautifully written and narrated word. One of my best reads - looking forward to my next Kate Hewitt book!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fiona
  • Fiona
  • 09-12-19

Not quite a success

I bought this because of suggestions it was a parallel for Jodi Picoult whom I love. It is not. Neither female lead is likeable enough and so the swing the author is hoping you will feel from one to the next in their experience of the situation becomes annoying rather than emotive. I won’t be pursuing this author

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa
  • Lisa
  • 04-10-19

Very sad!

Good book but sadder than I thought it would be 😢would read more by Kate Hewitt

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-28-19

Slow start, didn’t get much better

Hard to get into as the start was so slow and tbh the story didn’t get much better although became a bit more interesting. Left hanging with one portion of the story at the end though which was annoying. Narrator accent heavy going.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 01-30-19

Read this book

I have never left a review for any book I've read before, I am an avid reader though.
This book is truly extraordinary, I found myself tremendously involved with it, even when I wasn't listening to it I was thinking about it.
The characters, the family, were all too messily and emotionally believable and therefore the way things unfolded seemed astoundingly likely. Nothing jarred in this novel, not bad writing, unrealistic circumstances.
I wish it could have been set in England, but struggling families and babies and tragedy happen everywhere.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carole D'Costa
  • Carole D'Costa
  • 09-15-18

Brilliant

So sad. Having to give the baby away. But what unexpected twist at the end.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-23-18

emotional

Easy enjoyable listen but you will need some tissues as it's definitely a tear jurker!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs
  • Mrs
  • 07-02-18

Very sad book

A well written but very emotional story. I enjoy the story even though it made me sad.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trudibubble
  • Trudibubble
  • 02-28-20

Broke my heart

Such an emotionally charged but beautifully crafted story of love, sacrifice and loss. Just breathless

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela Eden
  • Angela Eden
  • 01-03-20

Easy read

I enjoyed this story after initially expecting it to be a little soppy... it drew me in and I had to keep going - so glad that I did!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue
  • Sue
  • 12-10-19

Not my sort of book

I found this a bit depressing but I guess life isn’t all happy times. Struggled to finish it, predictable half way through. Narrator used the same monotone, a little bit dreary. Now for a happy book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Therese Tucker
  • Therese Tucker
  • 11-05-19

harrowing

loved every minute. Deeply moving, i felt both mothers emotions throughout the book well written and narrated. this book will be hard to forget.