A Love So Dark

Dark Regency, Book 4
Narrated by: Lillian Yves
Series: Dark Regency, Book 4
Length: 5 hrs and 47 mins
Categories: Romance, Regency
4.5 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

An enticing Gothic romance in the tradition of Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights, A Love So Dark is a slow burn regency romance filled with mystery and intrigue.

Having no fortune, a negligible reputation, and an appearance that could only be described as plain, Miss Olympia Daventry has few prospects. Unless, of course, she elects to remain in her aunt's home dodging her uncle's amourous advances and his sermons, both of which are dished out in equal measure. Out of desperation, she accepts an offer of marriage from a man she has never met. 

Married by proxy, she travels to his home and at her first sight of it, begins to wonder if perhaps she has not made a terrible mistake. Dark, ominous, foreboding - that description fits both Darkwood Hall and her new husband, Lord Albus Griffin, Viscount Darke. 

Griffin had vowed never to marry, but the terms of his meddling aunt's will have left him no other option if he intends to preserve Darkwood Hall and the secrets it holds. But he'd instructed his solicitor to secure a wife for him that would never tempt him to consummate their union. And yet Olympia tempts him at every turn. She incites in him such lust and desire, such possessiveness, that he fears the madness that threatens all the men of his line has finally claimed him. 

But there are other dangers lurking within the walls of Darkwood Hall, secrets and plots, enemies that will stop at nothing to destroy them. Tempted, torn, and tormented by wanting what he should not let himself have, Griffin is lost...but for once he is not alone.

©2015 Chasity Bowlin (P)2020 Chasity Bowlin

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dark, intriguing and... romatic as hell:)

It's my first book by Chasity Bowlin and I loved it. It really is 'an enticing Gothic romance in the tradition of Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights'...:)

It has all the Gothic elements we love the classics mentioned in the premise for: there's a gloomy castle somewhere in the wilderness, there's an ominous secret and a housekeeper who is its sinister guardian, there's madness running in the family, finally there's love at first sight which only grows stronger and more passionate throughout all the tragic incidents that happen on the way to the end... And although none of the elements is new and the story follows the well-known path, it's so well written that we don't really mind it.

Olympia and Griffin are wonderful characters, ideal for the Gothic tale; both hide secrets, yes, but also both hide pain and sorrow, and both have tons of love to give to others. They are well-matched, similar in their loyalties and ambitions, with the same attitude to life and those who depend on them. The sinister characters of the other two women present at Darkwood Hall are wonderfully portrayed, with madness and crulety and sheer greed hanging in the air all the time...
The pace of the story is great; the events build up at a rollercoaster speed up to the final tragedy - and then we get the release we've wanted so much, and the HEA:) A truly wonderful tale:)

Narration by Ms Yves is very good. She does the voices really well (I especially liked the voice of the former Viscountess - sweet and yet so wispy and threatening:)) and brings the whole story to life in a wonderful way.

DISCLAIMER: I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly FULL , DEEP and SATISFYING!

Not sure what I expected but I was pleasantly surprised but the strength of the characters and the twists and turns in the plot. I couldn’t see how a HEA could happen but Chasity Brown revealed hidden family truths and pulled it off!
I have not listened to any others in the Dark Regency series but they’re apparently stand alones because the story wasn’t missing background or character recognitions.
Lillian Yves does a marvelous job narrating.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. My review is HONEST.

👍🏻👍🏻 TWO THUMBS UP!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!!


A Love So Dark is my first Lillian Yves book, and I'm pleasantly surprised. It is a well-composed and fascinating dark historical romance. The premise is uncommon in the historical romance genre, and I enjoyed every minute of it. Chasity Bowlin is a brilliant author, she captivated me with her compelling characters. Griffin and Olympia are incredible together, the connection is one of mutual desire and passion.

Excellent narration by Lillian Yves, she breathed life into the characters. I strongly recommend this audiobook to all dark or gothic historical romance enthusiasts. I received a free copy of this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Regency Romance

A Love So Dark is book four in Chasity Bowlin’s Dark Regency series but it can be read as a standalone, which is what I did.

Throw me in Literary Jail; I’ve never read Jane Eyre and I hated Wuthering Heights. Since I have no knowledge of the former I went into this one a little blind and I’m glad I did because the plot twists and developments were much more interesting than if I had known they were coming. One twist took me by surprise but the plot generally didn’t have many twists and turns and felt more like a puzzle that was being steadily pieced together.

A Love So Dark comes in at just under 6 hours so as you can expect, there is less romantic tension than your typical 10-12 hour+ book, but the romance never felt rushed or forced.

Even though I felt Olympia was more fully developed than Griffin and enjoyed being in her POV the most, they were both likable and easy to root for. There weren’t a great many supporting characters due to it being set in a reclusive mansion, but the ones that were there were interesting and helped to develop the plot and keep the story moving forward.


Audio:
4.5/5 stars
This was the first book I listened to Lillian Yves narrate. She was clear, concise, made smooth transitions from each character, and gave each character a distinct voice. I would listen to a book narrated by her again.

This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

I've said it before in this series and am saying it again - evil characters just don't stand a chance!
And Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights, you have competition!
This story is about Lord Albus Griffin (now why does this remind me of Harry Potter), also known as Viscount Darke and Olympia Daventry who marry by proxy.
It is a gothic romance that grabbed me and I just had to keep on listening because it pulled me in and kept me there with its slow smoldering unfolding of the plot. So brilliant that I just have to recommend it!
Lillian Yves displays her remarkable talent with her narration as usual.
After listening to the audiobook, my voluntary review above is given freely and is unbiased.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Marriage By Proxy, Madness, Desire and Suspense

Another suspenseful, romantic mysterious story of a love unexpected.
Olivia has agreed to a marriage by proxy to escape her life under the thumb and abusive eyes of her aunt and uncle. Griffon needs a wife to retain his property but does not want a woman to tempt him to have children.
A housekeeper to rival the housekeeper in Rebecca, a woman’s cries and wails in the night and Olivia and Griffin who find something in each other unexpectedly.
Great story..have loved everyone in this series.
Also one my very favorite narrators, with fantastic voices and way of telling a story to drawn you in and forget all but the story..incredible job.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Dark Historical Romance

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. This was way darker than I thought it would be and I loved every minute. The narration was awesome. The story was captivating. The mystery was intriguing. I would love to read more in this series.