Your audiobook is waiting…

A Lady's Guide to Selling Out

A Novel
Narrated by: Chelsea Morgan
Length: 10 hrs and 18 mins
Categories: Fiction, Humor
4 out of 5 stars (38 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A brilliant young woman navigates a tricky 21st-century career - and the trickier question of who she wants to be - in this savagely wise debut novel for fans of Younger, The Bold Type, and The Devil Wears Prada.

Casey Pendergast is losing her way. Once a book-loving English major, Casey lands a job at a top ad agency that highly values her ability to tell a good story. Her best friend thinks she’s a sellout, but Casey tells herself that she’s just paying the bills - and she can’t help that she has champagne taste.

When her hard-to-please boss assigns her to a top-secret campaign that pairs literary authors with corporations hungry for upmarket cachet, Casey is both excited and skeptical. But as she crisscrosses America, wooing her former idols, she’s shocked at how quickly they compromise their integrity: A short-story writer leaves academia to craft campaigns for a plus-size clothing chain, a reclusive nature writer signs away her life’s work to a manufacturer of granola bars.

When she falls in love with one of her authors, Casey can no longer ignore her own nagging doubts about the human cost of her success. By the time the year’s biggest book festival rolls around in Las Vegas, it will take every ounce of Casey’s moxie to undo the damage - and, hopefully, save her own soul.

Told in an unforgettable voice, with razor-sharp observations about everything from feminism to pop culture to social media, A Lady’s Guide to Selling Out is the story of a young woman untangling the contradictions of our era and trying to escape the rat race - by any means necessary.

Advance praise for A Lady’s Guide to Selling Out

"Bitingly funny.... [Sally] Franson’s snappy debut nimbly skewers the high-flying world of advertising and romance in the age of social media.... Franson’s irresistibly flawed heroine holds her own as she strives to find honesty, meaning, and even love in a demanding world, resulting in an addictive, escapist novel." (Publishers Weekly)

A high-spirited heroine loses herself in a vortex of modern striving in this debut novel.... Come for the hilarious narration, stay for the whirlwind plot, luxuriate in the satirical gleam." (Kirkus Reviews)

"Truly beautifully observed, A Lady’s Guide to Selling Out is a gorgeous treat. Sally Franson’s voice is addictive: whip-smart, biting, and clever. I kept pausing to reread parts of it with a huge smile on my face." (Jane Green, author of Summer Secrets)

©2018 Sally Franson (P)2018 Random House Audio

More from the same

Narrator

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

too outrageous

character and her situations were too outrageous and unbelievable. became annoyed at her lack of forethought and consequences .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The type of book that makes you wait.

I thought this book was horrible when I first started listening to it. I didn't think it would be much. Then the book took this turn that really established the story. I found myself falling steadily into the story. I didn't want to stop reading it. I love how this book developed from another millennial story into a bold and solid read. I will keep it in my list of honorable mentions on my top 20 list. Try it out!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

This book is Awesome. Funny, current, and authentic. I enjoyed every moment of it! Highly recommended!