• A Home for Unloved Orphans

  • The Orphans of Hope House, Book 1
  • By: Rachel Wesson
  • Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
  • Length: 14 hrs
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (112 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
A Home for Unloved Orphans  By  cover art

A Home for Unloved Orphans

By: Rachel Wesson
Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.99

Buy for $21.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Her heart broke as she took in the scene before her. There were too many orphans and not enough beds. The rags they wore barely covered them, and they hadn’t eaten in days. How could anyone let innocent children live like this? She picked up a tiny baby who’d cried as she moved past his cot. “I’ll be back soon, little one.” 

Virginia, 1933: Lauren Greenwood was born to look pretty and land a rich husband. For her and her high-society family, it’s easy to forget that America is in the devastating grip of the Great Depression, where children run wild in the streets, endless queues for soup kitchens line sidewalks, and desperation hangs in the air.  

But when a young servant comes to Lauren, pregnant and begging for help, her world crumbles. Someone she loves is responsible, and when she finds out the shocking truth she must decide: Protect the Greenwood name or be cast out? 

When the servant girl is thrown mercilessly into the street, Lauren knows what choice to make. Suddenly, she is homeless and without a penny to her name - utterly broken by her family’s betrayal. 

With nowhere else to go, Lauren takes the servant to a home for unwanted children. She is appalled to find orphans living in squalid conditions, their hunger keeping them awake and making them too weak to even play. The orphanage is on the brink of closure - and those it shelters may lose the roof over their heads....

Yet Lauren refuses to allow such suffering. And when she sees an advertisement in the local newspaper, with an anonymous benefactor promising to donate money to families crippled by the Depression, it could be the answer to her prayers. Can she save the orphans - and her new home - in time for Christmas? 

A heartbreaking yet hopeful tale about a brave young woman who gives up everything to help unloved children who have nothing. Fans of Before We Were Yours, The Orphan Train, and Diney Costeloe will adore this poignant historical novel, which shows that a little bit of kindness can go a long way. 

Listeners absolutely love Rachel Wesson.

©2020 Rachel Wesson (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about A Home for Unloved Orphans

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Wack wack wack WACK!!!

Do not, I repeat, DO NOT waste your credit or your money on this book. First it took wayyyyy to long in the beginning of the book to gather some interest in continuing to listen to the book. It finally picked up when she was gaining courage to stand up to her father and her fiancé and it was all down hill from there. The voices that she did of the kids was spooky and just weird. They sounded like ghosts haunting a house. The ending was worse than the beginning! I fully regret wasting a credit on this horrible horrible HORRIBLE book!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story premise, details not well thought out

This has all the bones of a good story. But it felt to me that was hastily written, as the details of the plot could be much more thoughtfully considered. This is the first time I’ve read this author, and am not surprised to look up her book list and see that she is pushing out work at a rapid pace. Result is a less- than-satisfying listen, even though Ms. Rodriguez does a good job as the narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating

I absolutely loved this book! It is well written! I loved listening to it as the reader changed voices for different characters! I will definitely be telling others about this book! I couldn’t put it down! Rachel Wesson has become a new favorite author!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I cried ny eyes out!!

Absolutely the best I have read from Ms Wesson. I read the Orphan Train series and this was even better!! I look forward to following the lives of her new characters that she brought to life. Feels like I am tracking my own family's journey through The Depression.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kind people win

I very much enjoyed listening to this Depression era story which tugged at my heart.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible Sexually Violent Book

If you are sensitive to men being violent over women, please do not buy this book I'm only 1 third of the way through this book and it is giving me nightmares. There is no indication of such content in the synopsis, only of poverty and suffering during the depression. I am angry that Audible gave no warning and refuses to allow me to return the book. Worst book so far.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful story

A very enjoyable story! I enjoy Rachel Wessons books. A Home for Unloved Orphans is a heartbreaking story of love, choices, persistence, hope, and bonds between those you love. I had a hard time putting it aside to go to bed or work. 😊
I wasn't impressed with the narration but wanted to know what happened so I put it on 1.2 speed and sometimes 1.5 to make it bearable to listen to. I'll have to do the same for the next one in the series because I want to know what happens next. You knows it's a good story if you can get through narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Truly enchanting

The story had many interesting characters in both of them together, and that storyline was true to most peoples lives where there are tragedies and excitement. It’s just life’s turns and twists and truly gave an ending to each and many of the characters just sometimes lacking in many books.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book

A little slow to start with but soon stoke my heart Hope there are more books to follow up

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The story and the reading are terrible!

First of all, the main character is made to be completely naïve and incompetent and yet seems to be brilliant when compared to her servants. The story is slow, annoying and predictable. On top of that, the reading is absolutely awful. The narrators voice is syrupy sweet and it’s really hard to listen to her over the top, breathy, dramatic delivery. Don’t waste your time or money.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!