adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.72

Buy for $20.72

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

'Mom?' The word caught in the boy's throat. She didn't try to speak, didn't roll towards him. She didn't move at all. 

In the middle of the night, 14-year-old Samuel is woken by the sound of a terrified scream from the kitchen of his home on a quiet street. The police - finding him sobbing on the kitchen floor, cradling his mother's lifeless body - hit a dead end before the investigation has even begun: because although he witnessed the murder, Samuel is blind. 

But when Detective Jessica Daniel meets the boy, the way he uses just his sense of sound to accurately locate her hand to shake it convinces her that this clever young teenager could hold the key to the entire case. Her team disagree, but Jessica will do whatever it takes to get justice for the innocent. 

Samuel's description of an intruder he heard walking with a limp leads Jessica to an isolated seaside town, where a well-liked local man has been missing for days. Breaking into his house, Jessica finds him lying flat on the bed, a bullet wound under his chin. 

Digging into the victim's work records, Jessica uncovers a secret he shared with Samuel's mother and it's clear she was terrified for her son's safety. As Jessica pushes the boundaries to get closer to the truth, her most trusted colleague warns that she needs to watch her step...but Jessica won't stop until she's found the killer. Her career may be on the line, but so is Samuel's life. 

An absolutely enthralling thriller, packed with twists and turns, perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Rachel Caine and Kendra Elliot.

©2020 Kerry Wilkinson (P)2020 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about A Cry in the Night

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Horrible

Undeniably the worst of the series. No effort from author whats so ever. Avoid at all cost

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lolli
  • Lolli
  • 04-07-20

fantastic .. grrr at cliffhanger 😀

my absolute favourite series .. I have been with Jess since book 1 ... it is constantly brilliant..
I hope that Becky never stops reading them as she's fantastic and is Jess for me 😊
thanks Kerry and hurry with the next please 😁

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for almypal
  • almypal
  • 06-11-20

Awful

The jokes were crass and I kept drifting off into my own headspace, I listened for 2 hours then gave up

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann D
  • Ann D
  • 04-19-20

Started Really Well!

This started really well. Sadly, like several others by this author, I began to struggle with it from about half way through. I think if it had been tighter/shorter, it would have worked very well. However, for me, it is rather drawn out and ultimately disappointing. Becky Hindley’s narration was compelling and faultless as always.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for tonilorraine
  • tonilorraine
  • 05-20-20

Brilliant as always

Becky Hindley makes Jess come alive ..
great twists and turns as always .
can’t wait for the next one ..

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for G
  • G
  • 05-10-20

Cry in the Night

Usual Wilkinson audible, very entertaining & finished in 1 day! When can we expect the sequel please!! SOON I HOPE!!! 🙏

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for niamh bonner
  • niamh bonner
  • 04-10-20

Superb

Jessica Daniels is my favourite detective. I really feel I could go to the pub and have a good laugh with her. The books get better and better

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Green Rhino
  • Green Rhino
  • 03-23-21

Mixed

I must declare that I am a major fan of the author & the lead character. I must therefore temper my comments, to avoid a knee jerk reaction & from spoiling the ending for others.
What a frustrating, annoying, teeth grinding ending. Still gave it 5* overall but it was a close run thing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for McCheese
  • McCheese
  • 04-27-20

A wee bit disappointing

I love Jessica, she’s a great character and I’ve followed her since Book 1. This story is ok and there are enough Jessica-isms to keep you chuckling through, but it just unravels a bit about halfway through and you start to lose interest somewhat. Some decent editing to keep the story together would have really helped. I had the same thought with the previous book in this series. Please, Kerry, don’t churn them out so routinely that the quality suffers. Maybe the series is reaching its end but please let Jess sashay out in style! Narration excellent as always, Becky Hindley brings the books and Jessica to life.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bernadette Facey
  • Bernadette Facey
  • 04-18-20

Great book, a good 'read'.

As this was my first audio book I was quite surprised how much I enjoyed it. The book was great and couldn't wait to get back to hear what happens next.
The narrator picked up on the characters perfectly that I could practically visualise them. Amazing. Can't wait to start my next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen S.
  • Karen S.
  • 04-16-20

Another amazing book in the Jessica Daniels series

Words fail me on how much I adore sll of this series .. Well done to Kerry for another amazing book , can’t wait till the next and also to Becky for her brilliant narration.

1 person found this helpful