LISTENER

Laura Wright

  • 14
  • reviews
  • 14
  • helpful votes
  • 18
  • ratings
  • Before We Were Yours

  • A Novel
  • By: Lisa Wingate
  • Narrated by: Emily Rankin, Catherine Taber
  • Length: 14 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 33,072
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 30,143
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 30,028

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge - until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents - but they quickly realize the dark truth.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I was rivetted, finished in three days.

  • By Lin Cloward on 06-26-17

sad

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-28-18

sad but oh so true story of how one persin can reck such a beautiful thing.

  • My Husband's Wife

  • A Novel
  • By: Jane Corry
  • Narrated by: Rosalyn Landor
  • Length: 13 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 5,533
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 5,045
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,042

For fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door comes an addictive psychological thriller that's already an international sensation. When young lawyer Lily marries Ed, she's determined to make a fresh start. To leave the secrets of the past behind. But then she takes on her first murder case and meets Joe. A convicted murderer whom Lily is strangely drawn to. For whom she will soon be willing to risk almost anything.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • An unexpectedly thoughtful and complex saga

  • By Candice on 02-10-17

bien

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-08-17

great book from beginning to the end. characters are well developed and narrator does a great job

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Caraval

  • By: Stephanie Garber
  • Narrated by: Rebecca Soler
  • Length: 10 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,895
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,771
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,775

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful - and cruel - father. Now Scarlett's father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the faraway once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over. But this year Scarlett's long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind organizer, Legend.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • BORING

  • By Fox on 05-17-17

quick listen

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-20-17

quick listen not a bad book but I thought the story need more development. the land was good but nothing seemed totally fished in the story. discriptions were just shy of what I thought they need to be

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • The Girl on the Train

  • A Novel
  • By: Paula Hawkins
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett, Louise Brealey, India Fisher
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 129,708
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 114,465
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 114,325

Audie Award, Audiobook of the Year, 2016. Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. "Jess and Jason," she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost. And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good? Compulsively readable, The Girl on the Train is an emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller and an electrifying debut.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • The Girl on The Train

  • By BookReader on 12-30-15

Very good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-06-17

great book keeps you on your ties and keeps the suspense up for a long time.

  • Girl Online

  • By: Zoe Sugg
  • Narrated by: Hannah Tointon
  • Length: 9 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 537
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 476
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 482

From YouTube sensation Zoella comes a debut coming-of-age novel that perfectly captures what it means to grow up and fall in love in today's digital world. Girl Online is the first book to be published by Keywords Press, an imprint under Simon & Schuster dedicated to today's digital stars.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So good!

  • By Ashleigh on 12-26-14

fun

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-25-17

Cute little fun teenage love story. ready for the next book should be more fun ahead.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone

  • By: Laini Taylor
  • Narrated by: Khristine Hvam
  • Length: 12 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3,587
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,254
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 3,272

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky. In a dark and dusty shop, a devil's supply of human teeth grown dangerously low. And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war. Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she's prone to disappearing on mysterious "errands"; she speaks many languages - not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Beautiful Writing, Mediocre Romance

  • By FanB14 on 05-24-12

ok

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-21-17

book was ok not as great as I was expecting it to be. still worth the listen though.

  • Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea

  • By: Chelsea Handler
  • Narrated by: Chelsea Handler
  • Length: 6 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,961
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,960
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,970

In this wickedly honest new work, Chelsea Handler casts the net wider with even funnier results, recalling the most noteworthy highs and lows of her life to date - including her efforts to diversify by dating red-haired men, her obsession with midgets, and the dog-sitting interlude in which her boyfriend became overly familiar with a Peekapoo.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Just Plain FUNNYYYY!!!!!!!!!

  • By Theodore on 04-27-12

funny

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-29-16

Very comical I laughed so hard. definitely not political correct so if that stuff offends you don't read it.

  • Fangirl

  • By: Rainbow Rowell
  • Narrated by: Rebecca Lowman, Maxwell Caulfield
  • Length: 12 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,000
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,731
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,734

Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life - and she's really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow Series when they were just kids; it's what got them through their mother leaving. Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere. Cath's sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can't let go.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Perfect

  • By Cynthia Shepp on 09-04-16

ok

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-20-16

I liked it but lacked some real grit in the story. needed some more detail.

  • All the Bright Places

  • By: Jennifer Niven
  • Narrated by: Kirby Heyborne, Ariadne Meyers
  • Length: 11 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,228
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,108
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,109

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Best YA Quirky Love Story of 2015

  • By FanB14 on 06-09-15

Good not great

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-20-16

The story is pretty predictable it could use some more depth in character building. Some of the story just moves a little slow.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Night Circus

  • By: Erin Morgenstern
  • Narrated by: Jim Dale
  • Length: 13 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 17,402
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 15,748
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 15,766

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The circus of your dreams

  • By Pamela on 09-22-11

love

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-22-16

I love this book. the writing is amazing and the writer really brings this world to life. would love to see this become a movie.