LISTENER

Karen

  • 2
  • reviews
  • 10
  • helpful votes
  • 3
  • ratings
  • Life Itself

  • A Memoir
  • By: Roger Ebert
  • Narrated by: Edward Herrmann
  • Length: 14 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 486
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 429
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 427

Roger Ebert is the best-known film critic of our time. He has been reviewing films for the Chicago Sun-Times since 1967, and was the first film critic ever to win a Pulitzer Prize. He has appeared on television for four decades, including twenty-three years as cohost of Siskel & Ebert at the Movies. In 2006, complications from thyroid cancer treatment resulted in the loss of his ability to eat, drink, or speak. But with the loss of his voice, Ebert has only become a more prolific and influential writer.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Roger Ebert Life Itself

  • By MERCEDES on 12-04-11

My favorite audio book of all time!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-06-14

What did you love best about Life Itself?

Edward Herrman's narration.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Roger Ebert's stories are charming.

Any additional comments?

Since the stories are non-linear, I am never bored by this book. I find the narration and story cadence to be soothing, I have listed to this three times already!

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,260
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,763
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,762

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

Every "ing" is pronounced "ink"

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-02-13

What would have made Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) better?

Different narrator would have made this better. Sorry Jenny, I just can't get past your saying "ink" instead of "ing" for all words ending in "ing" and boy, there were a lot of those words. I think in this case I would have preferred reading the actual book. Or sayink in your language, I would have preferred readink the actual book.

Has Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) turned you off from other books in this genre?

Nope.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

Yep.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Dissapointink narratink

10 of 15 people found this review helpful