LISTENER

Just My Opinion

  • 178
  • reviews
  • 121
  • helpful votes
  • 236
  • ratings
  • In the St. Nick of Time

  • By: K. M. Daughters
  • Narrated by: Ted Brooks
  • Length: 6 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 1

Kay Sullivan Lynch, reinstated to the Chicago Police Department after two years as a widowed mom of four, not only plans to excel on the force, but to show her brothers - who opposed her return to "the job" - that she's up to the challenge. Captain Flynn Dowd, battling demons of his own, empathizes with Kay's struggles - but Sidewalk Santas collecting for the hungry are dropping dead all over Chicago. No apparent motive, no identifiable MO. It's up to Kay and Flynn to stop the "Santa Slayer." As they race against time to stop the killer, Kay's grief-deadened senses awaken to Flynn's overwhelming sexual magnetism.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wonderful Conclusion

  • By Just My Opinion on 01-08-19

Wonderful Conclusion

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-08-19

This was an exciting and wonderful conclusion to the Sullivan Boys series. I loved the fact that it involved their sister Kay and that she got her story and happy ending as well. When Kay decides to return to police work her brother’s reactions are not quite what I would have expected from the loving and caring family in previous books. I thought they were a bit over the top however all worked out in the end. I loved her strength and tenacity and the fact that she didn’t let her brothers dictate what she should do. Flynn Dowd was the perfect hero for her and I fell in love with him right from the start. As with most of the series, there was a bit more romance than suspense however just enough of each to keep you interested. There were of course some bumps in the road for Kay to overcome with her children, which made the story that much more believable. This was a very entertaining and enjoyable story and I am sorry to see the end of the Sullivan family. Ted Brooks was once again wonderful to listen to as he narrated with his various voices. I will be listening to this series over again periodically as I have enjoyed each and every one of these books. Thank you K. M. Daughters for a wonderfully written series.

  • All's Fair in Love and Law

  • Sullivan Boys
  • By: K. M. Daughters
  • Narrated by: Ted Brooks
  • Length: 5 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 1

With CPD cutbacks and a serial murderer to apprehend, new Chicago Police Department Captain Patrick Sullivan struggles to uphold the law and his reputation, while infamous defense attorney Charlie Demarco seems determined to undermine him. Chained to her job to restore her family's finances, Charlie has no choice but to defend the criminals Pat wants behind bars. Her biggest battle yet involves defending her heart against Patrick Sullivan.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Romantic Suspense

  • By Just My Opinion on 01-08-19

Romantic Suspense

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-08-19

This fourth book in the Sullivan Boys series is Patrick Sullivan’s story. It is an emotional, suspenseful and action packed romantic story that kept me interested from beginning to end. After losing their brother Jimmy and now with the death of Kay’s husband Mike, brother-in-law of the Sullivan boys in this book emotions are raw right from the start. It also involves a rather sadistic serial killer that has a penchant for using a bat. The heroine in the story is a defense attorney who takes a bit of time to warm up to in my opinion. However once you get to know her and her reasons for why she does what she does you understand and want the best for her and Patrick. The romance in the story is, as usual with a K. M. Daughters book, captivating but not without some conflict. Ted Brooks did a wonderful job with the narration. He always brings the characters to life and makes the story that much more entertaining. This is definitely a book well worth getting.

  • A SEAL for Christmas

  • All I Want for Christmas is..., Book 2
  • By: Leslie North
  • Narrated by: D. C. Cole
  • Length: 3 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 11

Navy SEAL Murphy Coen should be celebrating the upcoming holidays with friends and family, but with his sister, Aileen, missing, there’s not much for Murph to feel thankful for. To find Aileen, he’s fully prepared to use force, until an unexpected encounter has him rethinking his tactics. Shayma, his friend Daveed’s former fiancée, is sexy as hell, and something about her soothes his wayward soul. The brunette bombshell claims she can help, but Murph’s never been known for his patience. The clock is ticking, and he isn’t sure Shayma won’t get in the way.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Loved the story

  • By Amazon CustomerBeliever on 01-06-19

Cute Story With Great Narration

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-17-18

This was a cute, romance with some fun banter between the main characters that kept me entertained throughout. However I was, once again, disappointed that the mystery of the missing sister was not solved. The entire book seemed to be centered around the fact that the sister was missing and that Murphy was looking for her, however there is no resolution. Other than that, it was a fun story with likable characters. D.C. Cole’s narration was the highlight of the book. As usual he does an exemplary job with all the voices and emotions.

  • Saving Shadows

  • Shadows Landing, Book 1
  • By: Kathleen Brooks
  • Narrated by: Eric G. Dove
  • Length: 6 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 61
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 55
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 55

Gavin Faulkner was the only doctor in the small South Carolina inner coastal town of Shadows Landing. He was used to patching up everything from fishing lures stuck in skin to gator bites. Nothing could surprise him anymore - except when he found an unconscious woman partially submerged near his dock after a fierce thunderstorm. Ellery St. John’s last memory was of a bat swinging toward her head. The next thing she knew, she was cold, wet, and a sexy man was pressing his lips to hers. Too bad it turned out to be CPR instead of a passionate kiss.  

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another great story!!!

  • By Sharon E Smith on 11-27-18

Wonderful New Series!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-30-18

Wow! Another wonderful new series from Kathleen Brooks. This book has a little bit of everything, from romance, action and suspense, to laughter and sadness. It definitely left me wanting more. I highly recommend this book and can't wait for the next in the series. Eric Dove does an exceptional job with the narration. He has such a talent for bringing all the characters to life and making listening to the story a wonderful experience.

  • A Highland Moon Enchantment (A Tale from the Order of the Dragon Knights)

  • By: Mary Morgan
  • Narrated by: Charles Robert Fox
  • Length: 6 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2

Irish warrior Desmond O'Quinlan has never surrendered his heart to any woman. He has no wish to have his soul tortured by love. Yet the moment he locks gazes with Ailsa, his fate is destined for an adventure he never fathomed. He may have battled alongside a Dragon Knight, but his greatest challenge will come from within his own heart. 

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazing Story!

  • By Just My Opinion on 11-22-18

Amazing Story!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-22-18

Mary Morgan once again weaves her spell and grabs your attention from start to finish. Desmond and Ailsa’s story is heartwarming and sweet. I already liked Desmond from previous stories, however he definitely gained my heart this time around. He has vowed to never fall in love and allow a woman to break his heart. Ailsa is a warrior and wants only to lead her clan at her father’s side until the day she can take over. She certainly has no room for a man in her life. However fate has a little twist for both of them. I absolutely love Mary Morgan’s stories and look forward to each one as they are always rich with multi layered plots. I will never tire of hearing about the Dragon Knights and look forward to more stories including them and their families. Thank you Ms Morgan for another compelling story! Charles Robert Fox has a lovely accent and so much potential as a narrator, however all he does in this book is read the story. There is little emotion in his voice and he does not give any of the characters a voice of their own. Once I accepted the fact that all he was going to do was read to me I just sat back and listened to this amazing story.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Learn Beginner Italian Bundle: Lessons 1 to 30 Learning Italian Like Crazy

  • The Ultimate Italian for Beginners Bundle
  • By: Patrick Jackson
  • Narrated by: Giovanna Carriero, Tony Russo, Sophia Colombo
  • Length: 12 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 17
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 17
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 17

The learn-Italian-for-beginners bundle audiobook covers Italian for beginners and consists of lessons one to 30 from Learning Italian Like Crazy. This learn-beginner-Italian bundle program will teach you how to speak authentic Italian. I have only used native Italian speakers in this program to make sure you develop an authentic Italian accent.  

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Why I decided to give it 4 stars and not 5

  • By Drew R. on 12-30-18

Excellent!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-13-18

This was a very helpful way to learn the basics of the Italian language. It was helpful having Italian speaking instructors teaching the proper pronunciations and also having male and female voices doing so. I would not hesitate to try learning another language by Patrick Jackson. I received a free copy and am providing an unbiased review.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • A Magical Highland Solstice

  • By: Mary Morgan
  • Narrated by: John McNee
  • Length: 4 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6

Laird Cormac Murray has witnessed how love destroyed his own father after the death of his mother, and he vows to never take a wife. Yet, when he comes upon a bewildered lass traveling alone, he finds his heart will no longer listen to his mind. In the end, Cormac risks everything to claim the love of a woman not of his time. Eve Brannigan loves helping others and baking. After winning a contest, she is stunned to learn that the Clan Murray has requested her assistance to cater to their guests during the holiday season.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another Enjoyable Highland romance

  • By Cyndy on 11-24-18

Enchanting!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-07-18

This was another wonderful story from Mary Morgan. I was so excited to see that Cormac was getting a story and a HEA. He has been one of my favourite characters from the Dragon Knights tales and such a loyal friend. Eve was perfect for him. She was strong, feisty and a truly caring and loving soul. Their story was fun to listen to and oh so sweet. I am an avid fan of anything Mary Morgan writes and am always anxious to read/listen to her next book. John McNee did a fabulous job with the narration. His voices were wonderful for all the characters and he made the listening experience most enjoyable. I will definitely be listening to this one over and over again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Gabe

  • In the Company of Snipers, Book 8
  • By: Irish Winters
  • Narrated by: Troy Duran
  • Length: 12 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 4

While The Team struggles to deal with the blow they never saw coming, former Marine Gabe Cartwright is assigned to protect Alex's widow, Kelsey. Already haunted by the fear that he let his boss die, he vows to protect her with his life. Nothing and no one will get in his way, until bossy Nurse Sullivan arrives to care for Kelsey. Sullivan is anti-gun, anti-dog, and the last damned thing he needs. Shelby Sullivan is an admitted control freak. She loves her new client, Kelsey Stewart, and intends to help her in any way possible, but Shelby has no use for Kelsey's bodyguards.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Packs An Emotional Wallop!

  • By Just My Opinion on 11-06-18

Packs An Emotional Wallop!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-06-18

Wow this one really packs an emotional wallop right from the start. It begins with Alex Stewart getting killed! Yes you read that right, Alex gets killed! Talk about heartbreaking! I just couldn’t believe it and let me tell you I didn’t put this book down until I found out what was going on. Gabe’s story was another emotional one from Irish Winters and once again she kept me glued until the very end. She totally took me on an emotional roller coaster ride and I used up a fair amount of tissues along the way. Troy Duran is simply amazing. His narration always makes the listening experience so incredibly enjoyable and you feel as though you are listening to these characters in real life. This is definitely an audiobook not to be missed!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Tharaen (Immortal Highlander, Book 2)

  • A Scottish Time Travel Romance
  • By: Hazel Hunter
  • Narrated by: William MacLeod
  • Length: 7 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 62
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 59
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 59

Lieutenant Diana Burke will not give up. Though her missing person case had gone stone cold, something about the disappearance of Kinley Chandler doesn't make sense. But the last place the detective expects to find her is the highlands of medieval Scotland. Bodyguard Tharaen Aber needs another security complication like he needs the plague. But the ingenious lass he catches sneaking around Dun Aran castle couldn't be more opposite. As skilled a tracker as he's ever seen, she lends her aid at every opportunity, but the complications she brings to his heart aren't nearly as easily solved.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Marvelous creditworthy audiobook!

  • By Jeri G on 11-27-18

Entertaining!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-19-18

Another entertaining listen in this Immortal Highlander series. Tharaen and Diana’s story has some good twists and though some were a bit creepy for my tastes, they were still interesting. I must admit to fast forwarding parts of this book, especially some of the scenes with the undead leader. I really liked both main characters and it was nice having characters from the first book included in the storyline. All in all it was very entertaining. William MacLeod is an amazing narrator and adds so much to the enjoyment of the listening experience. I look forward to the next book in the series. I received a free copy of this audiobook and am providing an unbiased review.

  • Kings Crossed Lovers

  • Safe Harbors, Book 4
  • By: Donna K. Weaver
  • Narrated by: Vicki Pierce
  • Length: 3 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 9
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 9

Ethan Walters has no time for distractions like romance. Not if he's going to have the brilliant medical career he's always dreamed of. But when he's given a trip to a theme park resort as a college graduation present, he can't exactly say no. Even if Samantha - the one girl with the power to dismantle his goals - is tagging along.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Sweet and fun!

  • By PATRICIA on 10-18-18

Just Okay

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-14-18

I was looking forward to this story as I have really enjoyed all the other books I have read or listened to by this author, however this one just didn’t do it for me. Though the story was really well written, as usual, I couldn’t connect with the characters or the storyline. Others may enjoy a theme park setting (Harry Potter style) , I just felt the couple was little too old for it. The narrator did do an excellent job wth the narration. I was given a free copy for an honest review.