LISTENER

John

  • 18
  • reviews
  • 19
  • helpful votes
  • 122
  • ratings
  • An Unattractive Vampire

  • By: Jim McDoniel
  • Narrated by: Drew Campbell
  • Length: 9 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,988
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,870
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,867

After three centuries trapped underground, thousand-year-old Yulric Bile, also known as The Cursed One, The Devil's Apprentice, He Who Worships the Slumbering Horrors, awakens only to find that no one believes he is a vampire. Apparently he's just too ugly. Modern vampires, he soon discovers, are pretty, weak, and, most disturbing of all, good.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Blood, Guts and lots of laughs!

  • By Aaron on 08-27-16

Vampires Seinfeld style

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-23-17

This book was amusing and entertaining, but the narrator needed to pause and give the listener time to process what he read instead of running thoughts and sentences together. If you like vampire stuff and especially situational satire, definitely a good listen, if not, may be a bit ridiculous.

  • Alexander Hamilton

  • By: Ron Chernow
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 35 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 13,760
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 11,908
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 11,845

Ron Chernow, whom the New York Times called "as elegant an architect of monumental histories as we've seen in decades", now brings to startling life the man who was arguably the most important figure in American history, who never attained the presidency, but who had a far more lasting impact than many who did.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • An Outstanding & Riveting Book!

  • By Kevin on 03-04-05

Excellent recount of an amazing founding father!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-28-16

This book is an incredible recount of our revolutionary history. Rich with personal insights into Hamilton's life and many of his counterparts.

Although it is very long, spanning Hamilton's entire life, it is definitely worth your time. I did, however, have to take breaks from listening as sections would get a bit tedious and I found my attention wondering.

It is amazing to realize that our most influential forefather never became president and although he is gaining recognition now; to read about all of his contributions to our modern culture and society, that he hasn't been as recognized as Washington or Jefferson, is unbelievable!

  • Me Before You

  • A Novel
  • By: Jojo Moyes
  • Narrated by: Susan Lyons, Anna Bentink, Steven Crossley, and others
  • Length: 14 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 30,761
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 27,363
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 27,311

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life - steady boyfriend, close family - who has never been farther afield than her tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life - big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel - and now he's pretty sure he cannot live the way he is. Will is acerbic, moody, bossy - but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Journey Into the Unknown

  • By Pamela Harvey on 01-13-13

Beautiful, quirky, difficult, heartfelt

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-11-16

Loved this book! "Lu" is the awkward, plain, unsure version of every one of us. Will is the superstar type we all want to be. It's wonderful how these two very different people from different worlds come together and help each other find the best version of themselves. Lovely, but brutally real.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Endurance

  • Shackleton's Incredible Voyage
  • By: Alfred Lansing
  • Narrated by: Simon Prebble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,288
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,780
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,767

In August of 1914, the British ship Endurance set sail for the South Atlantic. In October, 1915, still half a continent away from its intended base, the ship was trapped, then crushed in the ice. For five months, Sir Ernest Shackleton and his men, drifting on ice packs, were castaways in one of the most savage regions of the world.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Superb in so many ways

  • By David on 01-19-14

Amazing, unbelievable and chilling!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-02-16

I cannot believe the abilities of explorers in the earlier centuries. I cannot imagine enduring one night of their best day!

Well told depiction of these men's lives, duties, experiences and trauma. I was cold listening to their daily trials in below freezing temps! Definitely going to do more research on the expedition!!

  • Shadows of the Workhouse

  • Call the Midwife, Book 2
  • By: Jennifer Worth
  • Narrated by: Nicola Barber
  • Length: 10 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,726
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,584
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,583

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the direst section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood';s most vivid chronicler. Woven into the ongoing tales of her life in the East End are the true stories of the people Worth met who grew up in the dreaded workhouse, a Dickensian institution that limped on into the middle of the twentieth century.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • If you like the PBS series

  • By HODGEPODGESPV on 07-14-15

Wonderful and compassionate

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-03-16

After listening to Call The Midwife and Shadows... I realize how little I know of history. We learn about big events that shape countries but we are taught so little of the small but significant history that shape people's individual lives!

  • The Design of Everyday Things

  • By: Donald A. Norman
  • Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
  • Length: 7 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 809
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 679
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 675

First, businesses discovered quality as a key competitive edge; next came science. Now, Donald A. Norman, former Director of the Institute for Cognitive Science at the University of California, reveals how smart design is the new frontier. The Design of Everyday Things is a powerful primer on how - and why - some products satisfy customers while others only frustrate them.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Badly needs updating

  • By Sean on 10-29-11

Information very dated written prior to Mobil phones!

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-08-16

So many of the references are outdated. Also refers to other, older books that the author has written. Many items are repeated throughout the book. Audible should clearly display original book publication date on details page.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Remaining: Extinction

  • By: D. J. Molles
  • Narrated by: Christian Rummel
  • Length: 12 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,018
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,876
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,869

This is the sixth and final novel in the action-packed series following Special Forces captain Lee Harden and a group of survivors struggling to survive while rebuilding an America devastated by a bacterium that has turned 90 percent of the population into a ravenous horde.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • An amazing ending to this great series.

  • By Drew (@drewsant) on 02-01-16

Great ending to an intense series!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-20-16

After the disappointing novellas, DJ Molles delivers a great final chapter in the Remaining series! Just bummed it's over!!

  • A Man Called Ove

  • By: Fredrik Backman
  • Narrated by: George Newbern
  • Length: 9 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 60,708
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 55,548
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 55,450

Meet Ove. He's a curmudgeon - the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him "the bitter neighbor from hell". But behind the cranky exterior there is a story and a sadness.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I Laughed and I Cried

  • By Bill on 08-22-15

Sweetest grumpy old man!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-17-15

Want something different from sex, violence or who done it? Listen to this! Lovely story, sad, funny, poignant, and refreshing. Reminds me of my grouchy father in law, except Ove actually has redeeming qualities!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Secret History

  • By: Donna Tartt
  • Narrated by: Donna Tartt
  • Length: 22 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3,792
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 3,244
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 3,243

The snow in the mountains was melting and Bunny had been dead for several weeks before we came to understand the gravity of our situation.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Addictive

  • By Ann on 03-06-11

Loved Goldfinch, The Secret History would've been so much better with a male narrator!

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-24-15

Ms. Tarte writes wonderful novels but should've had a man narrate this predominantly male story! It's difficult to truly envelope oneself into the story and believe the characters when the voice associated with them is all wrong!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,319
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,818
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,816

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

Funny as hell, but hate the frickin' singing!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-17-15

I totally want to hang out with Jenny Lawson, but I will smack her if she sings while talking! She has a good voice, but dude, this is an audio book not a music CD!!