LISTENER

Brenda

  • 208
  • reviews
  • 415
  • helpful votes
  • 626
  • ratings
  • Witch Slapped

  • Witchless in Seattle, Book 1
  • By: Dakota Cassidy
  • Narrated by: Hollie Jackson
  • Length: 6 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 551
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 500
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 500

Hello. My name is Stevie Cartwright, and I've been witchless for 30 days. If only there was a support group for down-on-their-luck ex-witches who've had their powers slapped right out of them (literally). Just as I was licking my wounds after returning to my hometown of Ebenezer Falls, Washington, and navigating my suddenly nonmagical existence with the help of my familiar, Belfry, things got sticky. Enter an ex-spy and newly departed spirit named Winterbottom, who's infiltrated my life with his sexy British accent and a couple of requests....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Enjoyed this cozy tremendously!

  • By janet on 08-05-16

VERY GOOD<br />

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-26-18

I WAS VERY PLEASANTLY SURPRISED WITH THIS BOOK. ITS SO REFRESHING TO HAVE BOOK WITH NO VULGAR LANGUAGE AND NO SEX . I WOULD RECOMMEND IT.

  • Leverage in Death

  • In Death Series, Book 47
  • By: J. D. Robb
  • Narrated by: Susan Ericksen
  • Length: 13 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,997
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,824
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,814

For the airline executives finalizing a merger that would make news in the business world, the nine a.m. meeting would be a major milestone. But after marketing VP Paul Rogan walked into the plush conference room, strapped with explosives, the headlines told of death and destruction instead. The NYPSD’s Eve Dallas confirms that Rogan was cruelly coerced by two masked men holding his family hostage. His motive was saving his wife and daughter - but what was the motive of the masked men? 

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Captivating

  • By Jean on 09-23-18

wonderful story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-19-18

This is the very best one yet. I just finished it and going to start it again. incredible!!!!

  • Prince Charles

  • The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life
  • By: Sally Bedell Smith
  • Narrated by: Rosalyn Landor, Sally Bedell Smith
  • Length: 18 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 258
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 237
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 237

From the New York Times best-selling author of Elizabeth the Queen comes the first major biography of Prince Charles in more than 20 years - perfect for fans of The Crown. Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look at Prince Charles, the oldest heir to the throne in more than 300 years.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Diana dissed at every chance

  • By Amazon Customer on 09-12-17

boring!!!!

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-30-18

I've listened to this extremely boring book about half way through. I slept during some of it. I know there can't be a more boring person in the world. He should be grateful that Diana even married him.

  • Four Funerals and Maybe a Wedding

  • By: Rhys Bowen
  • Narrated by: Jasmine Blackborow
  • Length: 9 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,671
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,563
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,557

In the days leading up to her wedding to Darcy O'Mara, Lady Georgiana Rannoch takes on the responsibilities of a grand estate, but proving she can run a household just may be the death of her in the new Royal Spyness Mystery from the New York Times best-selling author of On Her Majesty's Frightfully Secret Service.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Overall I loved it!

  • By Dylan on 08-13-18

BEST OF THE SERIES

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-09-18

I loved this book. I think it's the best in series. The new reader did a great job and she did have big shoes to fill. I can't imagine having to step into that situation but job well done.

  • The President Is Missing

  • By: Bill Clinton, James Patterson
  • Narrated by: Dennis Quaid, January LaVoy, Peter Ganim, and others
  • Length: 12 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 10,602
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 9,736
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 9,694

The White House is the home of the president of the United States, the most guarded, monitored, closely watched person in the world. So how could a US president vanish without a trace? And why would he choose to do so? An unprecedented collaboration between President Bill Clinton and the world's best-selling novelist, James Patterson, The President Is Missing is a breathtaking story from the pinnacle of power.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Wanted it to be so much better

  • By K. Moeller on 06-18-18

BORING

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-22-18

I've never read a book by Patterson. I just could not get into it. It was so boring that I just turned off my device.

  • West Cork

  • By: Sam Bungey, Jennifer Forde
  • Narrated by: Sam Bungey, Jennifer Forde
  • Length: 7 hrs and 50 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 22,204
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 19,833
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 19,830

This much we do know: Sophie Toscan du Plantier was murdered days before Christmas in 1996, her broken body discovered at the edge of her property near the town of Schull in West Cork, Ireland. The rest remains a mystery. Gripping, yet ever elusive, join the real-life hunt for answers in the year’s first not-to-be-missed, true-crime series.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • ENTERTAINING AND THOUGHT-PROVOKING

  • By Ann on 02-13-18

terrible

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-02-18

I hated the format in which it was done. VERY
difficult to follow. I would not recommend.

  • Breaking Free

  • How I Escaped Polygamy, the FLDS Cult, and My Father, Warren Jeffs
  • By: Rachel Jeffs
  • Narrated by: Rachel Jeffs
  • Length: 8 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 583
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 525
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 522

In this searing memoir of survival in the spirit of Stolen Innocence, the daughter of Warren Jeffs, the self-proclaimed Prophet of the FLDS Church, takes you deep inside the secretive polygamist Mormon fundamentalist cult run by her family and how she escaped it. Born into the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, Rachel Jeffs was raised in a strict patriarchal culture defined by subordinate sister wives and men they must obey.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Heart breaking addition to the FLDS cult story

  • By blueskies982 on 12-10-17

NO

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-17-18

I didn't like it at all. I thought the entire thing was boring as they get. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Day Shift

  • A Novel of Midnight, Texas
  • By: Charlaine Harris
  • Narrated by: Susan Bennett
  • Length: 9 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,606
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,371
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,368

A number-one New York Times best-selling author, Charlaine Harris penned the addictive Sookie Stackhouse series. In Day Shift psychic Manfred Bernardo is hounded by the press after a client drops dead during a reading. Turning to the local vampire's lover for help, Manfred hopes she can put the squeeze on the scandal before someone else is put on ice.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Midnight, Texas Continues to Fascinate

  • By Lulu on 08-21-15

Delightful and strange

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-23-17

I am delighted with this book and the other two. It was full of surprises, mystery, and humor. Well done Ms. Harris.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Cases That Haunt Us

  • From Jack the Ripper to JonBenet Ramsey, the FBI's Legendary Mindhunter Sheds Light on the Mysteries That Won't Go Away
  • By: John Douglas, Mark Olshaker
  • Narrated by: Malcolm Hillgartner
  • Length: 14 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 784
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 712
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 708

Did Lizzie Borden murder her own father and stepmother? Was Jack the Ripper actually the Duke of Clarence? Who killed JonBenet Ramsey? America's foremost expert on criminal profiling and 25-year FBI veteran John Douglas, along with author and filmmaker Mark Olshaker, explores those tantalizing questions and more in this mesmerizing work of detection. With uniquely gripping analysis, the authors reexamine and reinterpret the accepted facts, evidence, and victimology of the most notorious murder cases in the history of crime.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • John Douglas is AMAZING

  • By Amazon Customer on 12-17-16

NOT A FAN OF JOHN DOUGLAS

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-20-17

True to form John Douglas, likes to blow his own horn about how great he is and how smart he is. His huge ego just wont let him see all the things around him. I have decided this is my last book written by this author. I won't waste anymore of my time and money on his books.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • The Witch's Halloween Hero

  • A Nocturne Falls Short
  • By: Kristen Painter
  • Narrated by: B. J. Harrison
  • Length: 1 hr and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 776
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 725
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 726

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better. When a spell goes wrong on the night of Samhain for witch Corette Williams, her only hope is the man she loves, Bartholomew Stanhill. But time is running out.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Remember me, my love.

  • By Troublemer on 11-10-17

I love this series

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-12-17

The author is very talented. The stories are just fun. I love the humor that is used along with no bad language or sex scenes. Not that there is anything wrong with that but its nice to just be entertained.