LISTENER

AudioBook Reviewer

Madison, WI, United States
  • 1,438
  • reviews
  • 12,557
  • helpful votes
  • 1,513
  • ratings
  • You're Going to Mars!

  • By: Rob Dircks
  • Narrated by: Khristine Hvam
  • Length: 11 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 6

Living and slaving in Fill City One, you get used to the smell. We call it the Everpresent Stink. But every once in a while, on a spring day with a breeze, it clears away enough to remind us that there is something more out there. Most Fillers' wildest dreams would be just to get past the walls and live in the mainland. But my dream? It’s a little bigger. I’m going to Mars.   

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Reviewers Choice Award, its that good

  • By AudioBook Reviewer on 11-13-18

Reviewers Choice Award, its that good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-13-18

Triplets named Paper, Rock and Scissors live in Fill City One with their father and grandmother.  Paper’s dream is to go to Mars someday.   Good news for Paper!  Zach Larson, a private entrepreneur is funding a private trip to Mars.  For one lucky person who competes on his TV game show and wins!  Much like Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, Paper has to find the much sought-after prize, a red scarab.  If she’s lucky enough to find a winning scarab, she has to escape Fill City One; ride over 2,000 miles with her absentee mother, then she has to compete in Larson’s live TV show for three months and beat out 25 other contestants. Can she do it?  Thing is Paper is smart and strong but she’s not without feelings.  She has to decide to what depths she will sink to get to Mars …

Rob Dircks, the author, gives his audience an action-packed adventure full of twists and emotional highs and lows. Dircks creates characters that he gives depth to and cultivates them into likeable (and hate-able) beings.

The plot is well structured and solid.  Each character is realistic as is the dialog.  The reactions of his characters are spot on as well.  Dircks has carefully and delightfully constructed a memorable story.  I would love to see it filmed!

I got this audiobook two days ago and I finished it within the 48 hours I had it.  It is captivating, interesting and creative.  I could not put it down!

Khristine Hvam performed the audiobook excellently!  She was comfortable with the story and characters, she made the audiobook pleasant and memorable as well.  This is the first time I have heard her; she is perfect!

I loved it this book.  I enjoyed the different messes Paper found herself; I found the emotional discoveries she made were insightful and at times painful.  This is an audiobook I will listen to again and again!

There were no issues with the quality or production of this audiobook.

This audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

22 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • The Book of Ralph

  • By: Christopher Steinsvold
  • Narrated by: James Patrick Cronin
  • Length: 8 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 244
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 233
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 232

A message appears on the moon. It is legible from Earth, and almost no one knows how it was created. Markus West leads the government's investigation to find the creator. The message is simple and familiar. But those three words, written in blazing crimson letters on the lunar surface, will foster the strangest revolution humankind has ever endured and make Markus West wish he was never involved.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Enjoyed this a lot!

  • By Heather on 04-06-17

Drink Diet Coke on the Moon

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

A message appears on the Moon, and Coca-Cola is blamed about it. Sometime later a gigantic can of soup descends upon the White House, with Ralph, a strange alien in its interior. He is coming to warn humanity about a terrible threat.

This book was incredibly funny, quirky, and original. It’s clear that it was written by a college professor due to the little pieces of wisdom and philosophy scattered throughout the book. I really enjoyed Ralph’s view of the world, and how he shared it with Markus West.

There are a couple of twists in the book, and things that didn’t end up being what they seemed at first, which made things more interesting. It was a good book, just maybe a bit long-winded since there are moments when nothing important seems to be happening, and the ending felt a bit like cheating. I have the feeling that the book started with great premises, and it deflated a bit after a while. It was enjoyable nonetheless, and I think it will work especially well among the younger readers.

I thoroughly enjoyed James Patrick Cronin’s narration. His interpretation of Ralph was absolutely perfect, and he also provided the necessary nuances for the rest of the characters. This is one of those cases where a superb narration makes for a better final product, Cronin’s narration really made the story shine.

All in all, it was an enjoyable book, even though some parts made the story drag a bit.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • The Alien Corps

  • Prosperine Series, Book 1
  • By: PJ McDermott
  • Narrated by: Lisa Michelle Negron
  • Length: 6 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3

When the father who abandoned her as a child formally requests Hickory's release from the Alien Corps to check out the political stability on the remote planet Prosperine, she knows he's hiding something, but what? Hickory's superiors are reluctant to let her go after her last mission failed so spectacularly. But they agree on the proviso she checks out an alien spiritualist known as the teacher. They believe he could be the one referred to in an ancient prophecy discovered nearly a hundred years before.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Original Star Treky Feel to it

  • By AudioBook Reviewer on 11-08-18

Original Star Treky Feel to it

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

“Alien Corps” is the first book in the “Prosperine” series which I would classify as a spiritual contemporary science fiction story; written by PJ McDermott. The audiobook was well narrated by Lisa Michelle Negron who has a few Audible titles under her belt at the time of this review. As a side note, the author has also available a prequel to this story called “Born of Fire”. The book’s main character (Hickory) is sent to a newly discovered planet so she can report back on its political association along with the availability of a precious element needed by Earth’s ships to achieve faster than light space travel. Additionally, she is assigned the role of seeking out and communicate with a spiritualist called “The Teacher” relating to a prophecy discovered long ago. Not only these, but our main character is also known for her blemished past from a previous assignment, which could affect her new assignment. If you enjoy more young adult science fiction writing style and a bit of spirituality woven in, you might find this book appealing. For me, the book was a bit fractured and flat compared to others in the genre. I’m not to say it is a bad book, but I found that it was quite different than what I had expected from its description. It was neither an amazing science fiction story nor a complete disaster. I found the story, its characters and its narration somewhat mediocre based on the number of the book I have listened too. However, I would say if you enjoy YA writing style and science fiction, you might find this book appealing.

From the book’s summary description, I did not expect it to be written in a YA-style. The conversations and sentence structure were often quite simplistic and lacked a sense of depth. With the detailed world-building, I felt like I was dropped into an original Star Trek series episode and I sat back to watch it unfold. However, I was hoping both the characters and story would align to take full advantage of this great world, but I did not feel they did. Many of the characters felt non-dimensional and I could not find a character that I really related too or cared for deeply. Again, this may be based on the book’s writing and story focus. I found the religious or spiritual aspects of the book an odd addition along with some questionable theological components. While I understand this is a piece of science fiction, I think the book could have done without the spiritual underpinnings and still been a good story.

I did enjoy the continued search and negotiation for this precious element as the story progressed. You can see the struggle between the relations to the planet’s inhabitants and was it more important than the resources necessary for space travel? Yet, at times there were technologies included on this distant and foreign world that are a part of our world that felt wrong to be elsewhere. For example, the GPS (global positioning system) reference that was used to track people on the planet, I felt it should have been called something else or referred to as something like our GPS. Although I will admit this was a small thing, I do remember clearly when it was used and how it pulled me from the story. There is a need for one to suspend belief while reading this story, and if you can get past that it is well laid out. I did like the superstitions of the tribal people when they met more modern-day weapons or objects and how they tried to explain them to one another.

The book’s narration by Lisa Michelle Negron was good. She was able to easily voice the multiple characters along with a few accents giving characters their own unique personalities. Some of the narration was a bit monotone or lacking inflection which the story required. The audio itself was clean and free of any artifacts I recall. The narrator’s voice was easy to understand, and the reading was at a good pace.

For parents and younger readers, take note that this book does contain vulgar language, alcohol use, some rather graphic depictions of torture, and some sexual subject matter (prostitution and innuendos) which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

In summary, although I did not find the book overly enjoyable, it was entertaining, and the world was well crafted. Most of the storylines are closed in this book, yet it is clear that there are going to be additional books in the series released. I would have liked for the author to have carried over the complexity of the world to the characters and the story itself as I believe this would have made it much more likable. Maybe future books in the series will give us the depth and escape many of us enjoy when listening to audiobooks.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Foundlings

  • By: Richard Levesque
  • Narrated by: Steven Jay Cohen
  • Length: 11 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 6

Derek Chandler had it all, but a tragic accident changed everything, and his life now stands in ruins. Haunted by the ghosts of what might have been, Derek tries to lose himself in his new job, but what begins as a minor academic mystery soon unravels, leaving him with the burden of a second truncated life: that of long-vanished science-fiction writer Kichiro Nakamura. Convinced that finding Kichiro is somehow the key to finding his own peace, Derek is drawn into a frantic search of modern and post-war Los Angeles.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wonderful mystery about a rarely mentioned time

  • By Margaret on 10-15-18

Survival, Twists, Emotional - Captivating

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

A captivating story of two men; two lifetimes apart and both seeking peace in the world they live in. Derek Chandler is trying to recover from losing his wife to a tragic accident; he makes a discovery that sets him on a journey where he hopes he will find peace. Koichiro Nakamura is trying to find his own peace during World War II while his family is trapped in the internment camps in the US and he is fighting against the Emperor of Japan.

Chandler’s discoveries of Nakamura’s writings set him on a path to discover who this man was and what happened to him. In his research, Chandler stumbles across the truth and it is not what he expected!

Richard Levesque has written a mystery based around historical events with a shocking twist! I was captivated by the story immediately and found opportunities to hear it. The final twist left me wide-eyed and amazed. Levesque has a way of capturing his audience and holding them from beginning to end.

Steven Jay Cohen performed the book perfectly. He captured the essence of each character and made them real. There were times I felt Cohen was Chandler or Nakamura. He has a smooth voice with the correct amount of inflection.

The audio quality and production of this book were clear and without issue.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Iron Circlet

  • By: Phil Tucker
  • Narrated by: Noah Michael Levine
  • Length: 14 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 202
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 188
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 186

The war for the soul of the Ascendant Empire is coming to a head. Factions with ill intent move to undermine or destroy that which has stood for centuries, while armies muster promising slaughter. In this time of desperation, old enemies find common ground. Ancient truths emerge to shatter long held beliefs. Monsters from myth and legend emerge onto the world stage, while blood drowns the ceremonies of the faithful.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved It

  • By To on 01-11-18

Unexpected Twists - Hanging on Every Word

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

The second to last book in the Chronicles of the Black Gate series. This book really threw me for a few loops. I was expecting it to go one way, and Phil Tucker definitely switched it up on me and kept me guessing right up until the very last chapter of this one. The character arcs are spot on and none of the characters really leave anything to be desired. Another masterpiece by Phil Tucker! I have recommended this series to all of my friends and even bought a few copies for them. I just can’t believe that even after 4 books, this series still has me enthralled. This book really does have it all too, magic, mystery, open combat even on an epic scale, and the world building is still spot on. I never get tired of hearing about the various places and lore of the world and I can’t wait to see what the next book has in store for me.

The audio quality was spot on, as always. Noah Michael Levine continues to be one of the best narrators I’ve ever heard and I am still not tired of listening to him tell me this story. 4 books, and over 40 hours worth of content later and I still hang on his every word. The man is truly an amazing narrator and I want to listen to his other works.

This installment takes place across a wide swath of the empire, but it mostly focuses on Starkadr, the home of the flamewalkers of old, and the fall of the empire. I have to say, the ending through me pretty hard and it was not even close to what I thought was going to happen going into this book. Even after 4 books, it all still feels really fresh and interesting. Audsley goes through a lot of harrowing experiences with his demons and it starts to seem like they are successfully corrupting him, or are they? Audsley is one of the strongest people, mentally, I’ve ever read that didn’t seem just overly powerful for no reason, and he is still my favorite character in the whole series.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Rated R

  • By: Mike Leon
  • Narrated by: Buzz Blackburn
  • Length: 5 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 78
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 76
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 75

It's crass gun porn filled with fanboy pandering action movie references. Do you like action movies? Do you like dark, edgy, hard-boiled heroes? Do you like fully automatic weapons blasting guys' heads off? How about product endorsements that are awkwardly placed between depictions of intense violence? Yeah? Then this book is for you!

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • This book has been rated F, for fun, fights, and f

  • By Ray Johnson on 02-27-18

Unusual Listening Experience!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

Rated R: The Postmodern Adventures of Kill Team One, Book 1 written by Mike Leon and narrated by Buzz Blackburn is one of the most unusual listening experiences I have ever had as a reviewer. This audio-book was a not politically correct, violent, sex-filled, story with graphic language and complete and total fun. This was like a time machine back to the late 80’s and 90’s where you could see a great mindless Rated R action flick and not have to worry about any PC casting choices just good gratuitous violence and naked women that have minimal reason to be in the story.

The main character is Sid. Raised from birth to be the best at killing it is all he knows. He takes a job at a video store in hopes to form a normal life meeting while on the run from his past meeting Lilly. Lilly is the Goth hot girl with serious issues. She has a Stepfather she wants dead and decides to manipulate Sid like all men into doing things she wants to be done. The action starts when Sid’s clone brother escapes from prison and the killing begins. This is a fun crazy wild ride and makes you nostalgic for old 80’s action flicks. The product placement commercials are just funny as hell.

This is one audiobook that will hold your attention if it is something that is a genre you are interested in listening to. The pace is fast. There is plenty of action, with a lot of violence, and funny dialogue. If you were a fan of the 80’s and 90’s actions movies like Commando this would be the audio-book that would hold your attention for a few hours. I found it to be really fun to listen to. The over the top action and the craziness was a fun escape for an afternoon.

Buzz Blackburn did an amazing job with the narration on this audio-book. This performance had a wide cast of characters and he gave each of them a unique voice and just really did an over amazing performance. This was the first time I have heard a performance from Mr. Blackburn but I am going to look for more of his work in the future based on this performance. The production value of the audio-book was of high quality. The Audio-book is published by Mike Leon and the audio-book was crisp and clear through the entire production.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • The Wayward Bard

  • World of Chains, Book 1
  • By: Lars M.
  • Narrated by: Justin Thomas James, Jeff Hays, Laurie Catherine Winkel
  • Length: 12 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 291
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 275
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 276

With all the pesky planning out of the way, Daniel set out to realize his ultimate dream: gaining enough money to buy a tropical island and spend his days playing the violin and RPGs. What could possibly go wrong?   

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A New Look

  • By Austin on 10-24-18

Authors throws in the kitchen sink emotion wise

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

Lars M. has entered the audiobook scene with his premiere work, “The Wayward Bard”. I will say up front that this is one of the better books I have listened too in the genre in quite some time. It is the first book in a number of stories expected in the “World of Chains” series. I can also say that the author has partnered with one of the best narration companies out there. They have made a name for themselves in the Literary Role-Playing Game (LitRPG) genre; Soundbooth Theater. The book includes voicing by Jeff Hays for a few of the book’s characters, he is one of my all-time favorite narrators out there. The book’s main narration is performed by two others from the Soundbooth production house, Justin Thomas James and Laurie Catherine Winkel. If you are looking for a new LitRPG series to start listening too, I would say you should have a serious look at this one. Many books in the genre feel like you are a third-person watching a Twitch stream of another playing the game. This book instead has all the items one expects from a book in the genre, yet it feels vaster and story-like similar to playing the video game Skyrim. A great job for a first book, I look forward to others in the series yet to come.

In all areas, one sees how gaming has influenced the author and he is able to transfer this experience (pun not intended) very well to the pages of the book. The story does not feel stiff or robotic in its telling like a few others I have listened too. Instead, this book feels vast, detailed and full of life. Even from the opening few scenes where we are dropped into this new world, it felt right, and I wanted to learn so much more about it. The first book in this series mainly takes place as a remote rather quiet town, but that does not mean that the action was limited. Not at all. Our characters struggled as they were often on their own from the protection of a large city and the author did a great job of revealing details as one progresses through the text. There are a number of directions this series could take, and I hope the author spends as much time on future works as this one.

I felt the author did a good job or creating a unique and different reason for entering the game. Most authors have a character enter for health issues or a way of escaping a dystopian world, but this one starts with a unique reason and purpose which only get better as the story progresses. For those familiar with role-playing games, one often starts with the worst armor and weapons. This book is no exception as the main character starts with nearly nothing for protection but a trusty and rusty knife, a poor bow with crooked arrows, and not much else. One thing I liked setting this story apart from others is that we often see warriors, fighters, or other more common character classes being played by the main character. However, in this story, as the title suggests, the main character plays a bard. Even with my experience of playing RPG games, I never really thought of being a Bard and I can say that I learned some new things about this class from the book. The joke is always that no one plays a bard, but in this story, it felt right and immersive.

During a battle with a rather large cat during one quest, I had to laugh out loud when the main character says, “Not today Garfield”. The author throws in the kitchen sink when it comes to emotions. There is action, romance, suspense, intrigue, and so much more. The book is not all about stats and equipment, but it does include these in infrequent updates to keep the traditional feel of a LitRPG book, but the lack of this is more than made up in the storytelling found in the book. As with a number of RPG type literature, things start off slowly but ramp up quite quickly as our character is thrust into a quite large quest that takes the rest of the book to complete. There are a number of side quests keeping the book moving, and many were detailed and well thought out. I also liked how the main quest was slowly revealed in bits and pieces reminding the listener of the main purpose or driving force for the main character.

As I stated previously, I’m a big fan of Soundbooth Theatre productions, yet this book had a few issues that felt less professional then others I have listened too; a bit unusual for this team. I quite enjoyed the multiple narrators and an appearance from Jeff Hays. The use of inflection and emotion showed me that the narrators understood their material before recording. However, the final product felt a bit unfinished or unpolished. At times, the added sound effects or musical playing drowned out speaking parts. The start and finish of extra items such as sound effects felt unnatural or stiff the way they were inserted. Often with Soundbooth Theatre productions, these items are skillfully inserted to enhance and not take away from the story. The issues I raise above would not stop me from listening to this great book, but with the high standards this group has set for themselves, I simply expected more.

For parents and younger readers, be aware that this book contains some use of light vulgar language, graphic violence, along with some sexual over and undertones. There were also aspects of crude humor that may not be appropriate for younger listeners. Although it is a great story, I would recommend it only be listened to by mature audiences.

In summary, the book is very well crafted, and I liked the more storytelling format from other LitRPGs I have listened too. You want to follow along with the main character as he not only learns about his new environment but also many hidden things that begin to reveal how and why this town exists. I will be quite interested in the direction the author takes in future books. It is well worth an Audible credit.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • The Siege of Abythos

  • By: Phil Tucker
  • Narrated by: Noah Michael Levine
  • Length: 24 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 210
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 193
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 193

Lady Iskra and her followers have survived the onslaught of demons, forged powerful alliances, and are finally ready to wreck righteous vengeance on the Ascendant Empire. Yet even as they begin their endgame, a new danger arises that threatens to annihilate everything in its path, heretic or no: Tharok, the greatest peril to humanity since Ogri the Destroyer.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant.

  • By Karen Svenson on 12-31-17

Exciting epic adventure

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

Phil Tucker has done it again! I was a little skeptical about the series being able to keep me enamored for 3 whole books as it doesn’t happen very often, but I just could not stop listening to this one! More excellent world building, more excellent character arcs, and more excellent views in to the inner workings and life of people in various countries! One thing that I liked about this book in particular is everything is starting to tie in together. Tharok is finally part of the main storyline, and Audsley gets all kind of page time. Audsley has really changed and grown a lot through the course of the last 3 books and I’m glad for it. He was a bit of a whining, simpering coward in the first book and now he is large and in charge, running things like someone of his intelligence should be!

Noah Michael Levine… Keep up the good work man. The only bad thing I even have to say about this book is that some of the female voices kind of start to blend together if you listen for like, 6 hours at a time. All in all, still an amazing job and I look forward to listening to your rendition of the next book.

Overall, still my new favorite book series. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me in the next one, and maybe someday I’ll get to meet Phil Tucker and get his autograph. There’s just so much in this book to be appreciative for, and I truly hope you take this book series into account when you are deciding on your next epic series.

As always, the audio quality is top notch, not a single problem with it.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Dagger's Destiny

  • Curse of Clansmen and Kings Series, Book 2
  • By: Linnea Tanner
  • Narrated by: Kristin James
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 7
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 7
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 7

In the rich and vibrant tale, Author Linnea Tanner continues the story of Catrin and Marcellus that began with the awarding-winning novel Apollo’s Raven in the Curse of Clansmen and Kings Series. Book 2: Dagger’s Destiny sweeps you into an epic tale of forbidden love, mythological adventure, and political intrigue in Ancient Rome and Britannia. War looms over 24 AD Britannia where rival tribal rulers fight each other for power and the Romans threaten to invade to settle their political differences. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Forbidden Love, Magic and Evil

  • By AudioBook Reviewer on 11-08-18

Forbidden Love, Magic and Evil

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

I don’t know where to begin! This is an amazing story by Linnea Tanner. Tanner continues the tale of Princess Catrin, Marcellus her love and husband, her parents and the hideously evil and vile Merrick. Caught up in removing the curse that has doomed them all, Catrin must assume the Raven Warrior mantle and rescue her people and her home. Catrin becomes enmeshed in the political intrigue and mystical complexity of her father’s curse and those who are driven with ambition for power and revenge.

This is a much darker story than book one; it is historically true to the time period. Tanner took some serious situations that were disturbing but instead of focusing on the grotesqueness of the situations, she provided enough detail without being over-the-top gruesome.

Tanner focused this book on the growth of Catrin and the trials and tribulations she met for being a woman. Accused of being naïve, Catrin falls prey to a mystical druid but so did her father and other males. The differences between Catrin as a female and males was well presented and while subtle, was powerful.

Tanner is a masterful wordsmith and storyteller. There were no plot holes, everything was believable, and her characters grew as did the plot. This is an epic story, one that takes a lot of organization, research, and perseverance for the writer. A tale that requires solid and constant action to keep all the parts moving along and not becoming bogged down. I cannot wait for book 3!

Kristin James, the narrator, performs the book excellently. Her smooth voice is a pleasure to hear, almost melodious. She kept the story moving along with her passion and investment in the story – she is Catrin! Well done!

There were no issues with the production or quality of this audiobook.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Eldren: The Book of the Dark

  • By: William Meikle
  • Narrated by: Chris Barnes
  • Length: 8 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 25
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 25

Two boys in the west of Scotland awaken an ancient vampire. And the only way to stop it is in the power of a book - a bible detailing the dark religion of the Eldren. But time is running out, and the sun is getting low.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A good read.

  • By Natalie @ ABookLoversLife on 09-05-18

Monster Vampires in Scotland

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

This is an old-school vampire novel, reminiscent of ’30 Days of Night’ – where vampires are monsters rather than misunderstood romantic heroes and the only thing that can defeat them is ordinary people with nerves of steel.
The author creates a biblical backstory for the existence of these monsters, which was a take that I really enjoyed because it adds an ancient evil vibe to proceedings.

This story takes place in a small hamlet in Scotland, two young boys wake up something evil while they’re playing in the local haunted house one day and soon only a child, two primary school teachers, and an escaped killer can save their neighbours, and potentially the world.

There’s something about the grey, rainy setting that makes it perfect for the atmosphere of this novel. Everybody knows everybody, which makes it more sinister with every death and attack.

Chris Barnes did a great job narrating this book, it’s always good to have an authentic accent to the setting of the book and it’s so rare to actually hear a Scottish narrator! I felt like he could have differentiated a bit between the character voices, but otherwise no complaints.

This book wasn’t the best fit for me, I found my attention straying because I wasn’t able to connect with any of the characters. The chapters alternate between perspectives, some of which are more compelling than others but they switch too quickly to really bond with any one character which is essential for me to really get into a book.

I think that this would be a great book for fans of claustrophobic, classic horror – it reminded me of Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot, which was another book I didn’t particularly get on with despite my best efforts!

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

1 of 1 people found this review helpful