LISTENER

AudioBook Reviewer

Madison, WI, United States
  • 1,459
  • reviews
  • 12,885
  • helpful votes
  • 1,536
  • ratings
  • Ancient Echoes

  • Ancient Secrets Series, Book 1
  • By: Joanne Pence
  • Narrated by: Tim Paige
  • Length: 12 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 8
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 8

Over 200 years ago, a covert expedition shadowing Lewis and Clark disappeared into the wilderness of central Idaho. Now, seven anthropology students and their professor vanish in the same area. The key to finding them lies in an ancient secret, one involving alchemy, gold, and immortality...a secret that men throughout history have sought to unveil. Michael Rempart is a brilliant archeologist whose colorful and controversial career has earned him admiring fans and implacable foes, but he is plagued by a troubling sense of the supernatural and a mysterious spiritual intuitiveness.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Very good story

  • By Robert on 01-17-19

Lots of Deadly Earth Shaking Secrets

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-19

Lots of secrets. Deadly secrets! Covert missions in the past with Lewis and Clark combined with the same type of covert missions with men in black, domestic and international all seeking the same place, the same mysterious pillars in Idaho – yes, Idaho! Mix in some college students and renowned archaeologists, an Egyptian princess and the secret of alchemy and you have one attention holding, edge of your seat thriller!

Slightly over 12 hours, this audiobook is enthralling and intriguing! Combining the past with the present and everything in between would be confusing and distracting, however, Joanne Pence writes eloquently and thoroughly leaving nothing confusing, distracting or incomplete. Vivid descriptions along with solidly built characters and a well-executed storyline, listeners will NOT be able to shut it off.

Pence allows her readers to believe everything is going smoothly, they expect an outcome then she gives them a major twist that will leave the listener wanting more. Yes, there are some parts that are repetitive, but they are so for a reason – to drive home the point that things are not normal, and each character must experience it to come to that conclusion themselves. It also helps to add to the terror of what is really going on.

The supernatural piece of this book was well done and blended well into the past and present happenings. I have to say, she writes evil well! There was no question at all who or when the evil was present!

The narrator, Tim Paige, performed the audiobook with a smooth, flowing style. Paige gave the listener a solid reading that was captivating and easy to follow. He did not do voices which I think could have taken away from the story and lost some of the depth to the story. For a first time narrator, I give him a 5-star rating! Hope to hear more from him.

The production and quality of the audiobook were good, however, there was some electronic noise about halfway through the book when a new chapter began. It didn’t hurt the book or my enjoyment, but it was annoying.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Broken Branches

  • By: Brenda M. Spalding
  • Narrated by: Eliza Wethers
  • Length: 5 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11

The death of her grandmother brings artist and gallery owner Megan Calloway to Salem. She is rescued by a tall, dark stranger from a careless driver. Was it an accident, or something more sinister? After another death, Megan and her rescuer, Jake, investigate the strange occurrences in her grandmother's house. Everything revolves around a ring she inherited and riddles she must solve. Visions of the past lead Megan to find her future and a treasure lost in time.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Broken Branches

  • By medlovebooks on 10-27-18

Engaging story line with plot twists

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-19

Overall, I enjoyed this book and would like to read the other books in the series. It is written like an edgy cozy mystery – a little stronger on the suspense and the romance than the norm. One thing that was a distraction for me was how quickly the attraction between Megan and Jake progressed. For example, after only three days, Jake proposes to Megan AND schedules the wedding for that same week. The romance felt “instant,” instead of a natural progression of emotions and feelings. Other than that, I fell in love with the story. The character development was good, and I enjoyed the personalities of each of the main characters.

Megan is an artist with a gallery in New York but has come home to her grandmother’s old house after her unexpected death. Megan receives a Claddagh ring in her grandmother’s will, complete with instructions of how the ring is worn and what each part of it means. The mystery of the ring reveals itself as the story develops. At first, authorities believed that Megan’s grandmother’s death is an accident, but it soon, becomes apparent that it is much more. Spalding has created several suspects that keep you in suspense; a frustrating policeman who is less than helpful; all making an engaging storyline.

One obvious suspect could have been Jake. The fact that he was there to “save” her, how fast he “fell in love” with her, and the fact that he was very successful (and not already taken) was not part of the storyline but it could’ve made an interesting plot twist and provided a little vinegar for a too-sugary romance.

At the beginning of the book when Eliza Wethers, the audiobook narrator, is reading as the story’s narrator, the reading is a little stilted and over-enunciated. My initial reaction was that I wouldn’t make it through the whole book. However, when she switched into the voices of the characters, she rocked it. The only other thing was when she read “lobster roll” she pronounced it as “lobster ROLL” – emphasis on ROLL, a couple of times. It was a little distracting, but the further into the reading, I became immersed in the characters and didn’t even notice her as “the reader” – she blended into the background as the characters came alive. So, for anyone listening to this audiobook – don’t let the first minute or two divert you – it just gets better and better.

This story has everything I like in a book: an old house, possible paranormal activity, a mystery, suspense, and romance.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • The Shadow Above the Flames

  • By: Daniel Swenson
  • Narrated by: Steve Campbell
  • Length: 10 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 23
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 22
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 22

Five years ago, hungry for energy and profits, the Union Forest Corporation embarked on an aggressive search for alternative power sources. In their quest they drilled too deeply, releasing a long-forgotten evil that’s been terrorizing the planet. As frightening as the dragon is, the executives at Union Forest are more terrified of losing corporate secrets than losing human lives. Somewhere in that drilling site, there’s a data core that they desperately want back.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The shadow

  • By MEDY L on 11-15-17

Waking a dangerous monster

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-19

The Union Forest Corporation has been digging for some time in order to find more available power sources. But five years ago they went too far, and awakened a dangerous and terrible monster, and now the corporation wants to silence this terrible truth and slay the dragon This is the story of two brothers who risk their lives to get rid of a powerful menace.

The premises of this book were so interesting, but it failed to deliver. This is your typical classic dragon book but in a modern setting. The plot was well built, but I the character development was poor. There were constant POV changes, being the story told by both brothers alternatively. The problem here is that both characters sound exactly the same, talking and thinking, so I found it difficult and tiresome to follow the story and identify POV.

As in other military fiction books, there are many secondary characters, and if the main characters were not very developed, the secondary ones were just mere drafts, and I was not very moved when there were casualties.

I struggled to finish this book, since I wasn’t able to connect with the characters and I didn’t become very invested in the story. Another issue is the constant repetitions and reiterations. The book could have benefited from an editor and transformed in a more polished product.

Steve Campbell’s narration was correct. He did a wonderful job regarding character’s interpretations, but I would have preferred their different voice tones to be a bit more subtle. It felt a bit overdone, in my opinion.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Commune: Book Three

  • By: Joshua Gayou
  • Narrated by: R.C. Bray
  • Length: 17 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 2,020
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,927
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,921

Having been bolstered with the supplies sufficient to carry them through the winter, the survivors of the Jackson commune must now hunker down and endure the bitter Wyoming snows, while to the south, factions are beginning to form, coalescing from the ashes of the dead world. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The best series in sci-fi for great characters.

  • By TK2.0 on 11-19-18

Beautiful World Building, Exciting

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-19

Commune Book 3 is written by Joshua Gayou and narrated by R.C. Bray. This is the third in a series of books in a world Mr. Gayou has created. A massive Coronal Mass Ejection (CME) has hit earth. Our technological dependants’ society is dealt a crippling blow. Then a near extinction level pandemic flu of unknown origin. People have to gather into groups for survival. Fighting begins over the limited resources thus thinning the small population. The first winter has arrived and this has made things even worse in the world as people struggle more for survival daily for food and warmth.

The story picks up where the last one ended. Wang, Gibbs, and the 2 others were rescued by a Helicopter and taken to the only remaining tent city; the Elysium Fields, in Arizona. They take them there and patch up the wounded and escort them back to the Bowl while keeping Wang due to the need for surgery. Four Guardsmen winter in the bowl and Wang spends the winter in the Camp with these new people who are led by the last Navy Seal nicknamed Otter. Who feels it is his mission due to his last order to collect all Americans and protect them as they are a valuable commodity for starting over to civilization. When spring arrives they will roll out and head north to the Bowl in Wyoming with Wang to show them where to collect the others.

This audiobook holds the listener’s attention and does not go through the entire performance. Commune Book 3 continues the unique method of storytelling in the Post Apocalyptic genre as it is being told in the future by a narrator collecting stories from the earliest members of the Jackson Wyoming Commune and how it started. The narrator hopes to gain their personal thoughts and memories of the transitions from the old world to the new. The Commune in the bowl in Wyoming gets built up to 26 people in this edition. At the start of this audiobook, the author explains that this is the book he wanted to get to when he started this story. Mr. Gayou knew he needed to fill in the pieces first to get here. He explains that as much as certain characters dominated the first two books there will be one character that will have his story be the driving force in this book. That character is intended to be Jake. This is a book with a running time of just under 18 hours. There is a huge cast of characters now. The group in Colorado that attacked Gibbs and the team that brought back the food for the winter. They are a force to be dealt with. Then there is Otter and his Grand Plan. The author has laid out a great deal of world building. The story has grown but from the first book but the world building is a thing of beauty.

The narration for Commune Book 3 is provided by R.C. Bray. Mr. Bray is just one of those ultra skilled narrators who will draw a listener into the story with his voice like few others can do. He also has a way of delivering the lines with perfect timing for just the right effect either comedic or deadpan. The best example I can give is his delivery of Gibbs lines when the character becomes agitated. I have laughed out loud with headphones on and snorted to the point of other looking at like I was having an episode or something. The narrator is a true pleasure to listen to when combined with a great author. This was a really great audio performance. The audiobook was produced by Blue Heron Audio and Joshua Gayou. The production quality of this audiobook is also topnotch. I heard no problems during the entire performance. There were not any detectable flaws that I was able to hear during the entire performance. I did not hear any loops, breaks, or buzzing. The production was crisp and clear. Blue Heron Audio and Joshua Gayou delivered an excellent audiobook production.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Girl on the Brink

  • By: Christina Hoag
  • Narrated by: Angela Rose Masi
  • Length: 7 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14

The summer before senior year, 17-year-old Chloe starts an internship as a reporter at a local newspaper. While on assignment, she meets Kieran, a quirky aspiring actor. Chloe becomes smitten with Kieran's charisma and his ability to soothe her soul, torn over her parents' impending divorce. But as their bond deepens, Kieran becomes smothering and flies into terrifying rages.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Girl on the Brink

  • By MEdy on 09-30-18

Hauntingly thought provoking

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-19

I have listened to numerous novels with a domestic abuse theme. What made ‘Girl on the Brink’ stand out from the crowd for me personally was the age of the main character. This is technically a young adult novel, but it should appeal to a much wider audience. There is so much potential for discussion here, it would be a great book to be shared and talked about between parents and teenagers, in youth groups etc.

17-year-old Chloe is about to start her last year at high school when she meets charming Kieran. Initially, Kieran seems perfect boyfriend material. Unlike other boys Chloe has come across, Kieran doesn’t just want sex, he is very attentive and fun to be with. He actually listens to Chloe, when she needs to talk about her difficult time at home. Her parents have recently separated and Chloe’s Mum is not coping well.

While some readers/listeners will soon pick up on the tell-tale signs of where Chloe and Kieran’s relationship is starting to turn sour, the story is ideal for introducing less experienced audiences to this difficult subject matter in a meaningful but very enjoyable way. Chloe is a brilliantly drawn character and it is easy to feel for her, but what made this really outstanding for me, is the fact that Christina Hoag’s characterization of Kieran made me feel all sorts of emotions, too. I was there with Chloe when she tried desperately to help Kieran. The push and pull between needing to save herself and wanting to save Kieran were done so well and really emotional.

Christina Hoag has evidently done extensive research into the topic. The novel is well written, the story is completely believable, characters and dialog felt realistic, and the cycle of abuse is portrayed frightfully accurately.

Possible spoiler: Unlike other domestic abuse stories I have read, this one doesn’t end when Chloe “frees herself”. I liked that it went further into the aftermath of it all. The support group meeting certainly provided a lot more information about domestic abuse without ever coming across as being preachy. My only minor niggle: while I realize that most domestic abuse is targeted at women, it would have been nice to acknowledge, within the support group meeting perhaps, that men can also be victims of domestic abuse.

The narration by Angela Rose Marsi was excellent. She had a young sounding voice that suited Chloe’s first-person perspective very well, but her male voices were equally great and very believable. There were no issues with the production of the audio.

This is the sort of novel that should be widely available in educational establishments, libraries, and homes across the country. Highly recommended!

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Death Rites (The Lazarus Codex)

  • By: E. A. Copen
  • Narrated by: Travis Baldree
  • Length: 6 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32

Old gods die hard. Professional necromancer Lazarus Kerrigan knows all too well that the Big Easy is anything but. Crime is up, business is down, and someone--or something--crushed an innocent girl to death on his doorstep. After the search for the murderer brings the police to his front door, Laz must prove his innocence by hauling in the real killer with help from the dead. When the sun sets in New Orleans, more than monsters go bump in the night... And what Laz awakens in his quest for answers might just get him--and everyone else in town--killed.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fun Start to a Promising Series

  • By Spooky Mike on 11-06-18

Death keeps finding the necromancer

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-19

One would think being a necromancer and wizard would be exciting, profitable and one could have the world at his feet, but Lazarus Kerrigan is on the wrong side of Karma! He finds himself facing Darrius, a gang leader he ‘wronged’, his girlfriend took a powder, his funds are running low, oh, and there’s a dead body in his doorway. The cops are looking for him and so is The Baron, aka the Big D!

Lots of magic, mystery and edge of your seat thriller as Lazarus tries to discover who is killing women and leaving them in places the cops keep connecting them to him!

E.A. Copen has written an exciting, fun yet mystery thriller involving magic and the paranormal. The story-line is clear, well written and executed. The book definitely keeps one’s attention! The characters are well-developed and defined; interesting and vividly described. I liked how Lazarus was a down-to-earth wizard with scruples and a snarky outlook and mouth to match!

The narrator, Travis Baldree gave a strong performance. His voice was strong and clear, he portrayed each character well. It is my thought that Baldree provided yet another connection to the book and characters through his well-done performance.

I cannot wait for the next installment to see what kind of trouble Lazarus can get himself into with his new-found powers!

I encountered no issues around the production or quality of this audiobook. It was clear and crisp. I enjoy the audiobooks that allow the narrator to become the book and characters without dramatic sound effects or background music that hinders the narrator and story; this is a well-done performance!

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Totally True Adventures of Gustav Gustavson: Legendary Viking Warrior

  • By: Morgan Hobbes
  • Narrated by: Basil Sands
  • Length: 5 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 34
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 33
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 34

Experience the awesomeness of my unexpected voyage to an undiscovered land where I survive shipwrecks, arena death match spectacles, rampaging rhinoceraptors, naked and rather surly giants, and even dragons! Well, a dragon.... All in my pursuit of fame and glory. Every word of it is true. Totally true. How do I know? Because it's all about me. Gustav Gustavson, Legendary Viking Warrior.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Phenomenal Performance!

  • By Natalie @ ABookLoversLife on 03-02-18

Captivating, Interesting

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-04-19

The Totally True Adventures of Gustav Gustavson: Legendary Viking Warrior was written by Morgan Hobbes. The narration is provided by Basil Sands. The audiobook is produced by Morgan Hobbs with a running time of 5 hours and 46 minutes. During that time you will get to hear the Amazing True Adventures of Gustav Gustavson. For me, this was a laugh out loud good time.

Gustav gives nods in the opening to other Great Viking Warriors that the listeners would be familiar with including Ragnar Lothbrook from History Channels Viking’s. Yet he insists his deeds are still the greatest. Losing his ship he ends up in a strange land where he is unknown. This is a shock for poor Gustav as he is sure his deeds are known far and wide. Things turn crazy and the fun really starts for the listener as the story really begins.

This audiobook held my attention thru the entire production. This is one of those rare productions that will have an effect on the audience where they either love or loathe the audiobook. For me, I was hooked. This book just grabbed me and I was thinking of the greatest elements of Monty Python and Mel Brooks in their prime. Politically correctness was not a valve to censor humor. Gustav is just one of those rare characters that is some much fun to follow on his adventures as he travels with this friends on their quest.

The narration by Basil Sands was interesting. Some people have really seemed to dislike his performance of Gustav. I really enjoyed. I think many people expect the Nordic Accent to be what is seen on television and movies. As someone who grew up in Minnesota and stayed until I was 30, the people with the last name of Gustavson sounded like the character. So that is my normalcy bias showing thru. The narrator did an excellent job with all the characters in the story. Each was given a unique voice. This was the first performance that I have heard from Mr. Sands but I truly enjoyed the work he did throughout the entire production. The publisher for this audiobook is Morgan Hobbs. The production value of this audiobook is excellent. The production value is of the highest quality. I heard no problems during the entire performance. There were not any detectable flaws that I was able to hear during the entire performance. I did not hear any loops, breaks, or buzzing. The production was crisp and clear.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Ray vs the Meaning of Life

  • By: Michael F Stewart
  • Narrated by: Kevin Clay
  • Length: 7 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10

Grandma's last will and testament names Ray to inherit the trailer park. It's a million-dollar estate with one hitch: To prove he's not as aimless as he seems, Ray must discover the meaning of life by the end of the month. (She left the answer in an envelope.) If he fails, the camp goes to his estranged family.  

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • THIS is what a YA book is meant to be!

  • By Hall Ways on 10-01-18

Inspiring quirky satire that sucks you in

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-04-19

This story pulled me in right from the start when Ray recounts the unfortunate events that led to grandma’s death. Much to the chagrin of the rest of his dysfunctional family, Grandma has stipulated in her last will that Ray will be the sole beneficiary of her substantial inheritance provided he discovers the meaning of life within 30 days. No easy task for a teenager who spends most of his time in the world of online gaming. Fortunately, Ray is aided in his quest by self-help/life coach Dalen Anders. What a character he was!

At the beginning, Ray’s spiteful family made me angry and sad, so much so that I was hesitant whether I wanted to continue. I’m glad I did because it was fantastic how Michael F Stewart allowed each character to evolve and change slowly throughout the story. Although told from the first-person perspective of 17-year-old Ray and written in a teenage style, this young adult coming-of-age story should appeal to a wide audience. During his journey to find the meaning of life Ray comes across some insightful advice and universal truths. I actually added the eBook once I had listened to this because there were several quotes I wanted to highlight. However, you don’t need to be into self-help books or similar to enjoy this story.

I have had the pleasure of listening to several books narrated by Kevin Clay recently. With this one, he has turned me into a huge fan. Voicing the range of characters in this story, from the persistent little girl to teenagers, to rough rednecks, to upright Dalen and wise, old grandma can’t have been an easy feat, but Kevin Clay made each character sound credible and memorable. His timing was spot on. There were no problems with the production of the audio.

Great for teenagers and adults alike. Recommended if you are looking for an engaging, quirky satire that will make you laugh out loud but will also inspire you to reflect on the important things in your life.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Mythborn I: Rise of the Adepts

  • Fate of the Sovereign, Book 1
  • By: V. Lakshman
  • Narrated by: Michael Kramer
  • Length: 20 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 139
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 133
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 133

Apprentice assassin Arek Winterthorn has a power even he himself doesn't understand. Unable to cast even the simplest of spells, he can still disrupt the magic of others with a single touch. Arek's master, Silbane, is ordered to use that power to close a gate between their world and one inhabited by demons. This will save their people, but potentially at the cost of Arek's life. Thus begins an epic quest brimming with betrayals, plot twists, violence, and intrigue.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Angst Teenager, Magic, Battle and a Quest!

  • By AudioBook Reviewer on 12-19-18

Angst Teenager, Magic, Battle and a Quest!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-19-18

Mythborn: Rise of the Adepts is the first audiobook in the Fate of the Sovereign Series. The author V. Lakshman’s has created a high fantasy world that’s so engrossing until the end, it will leave you wanting to immediately start the second book. I think this is an epic series you’ll want to keep your eye on. Lakshman’s writing is very well done.

The story begins at the end of a devastating battle and the listener is quickly drawn in by Michael Kramer’s narration and Lakshman’s writing. This historic battle shapes the entire world the listener is introduced to. The world building is a bit complicated so I’d recommend sticking with it even if you’re confused a bit at first. It’s definitely worth it.

This fantasy revolves around apprentice Arek Winterthorn who has a very different kind of … power? He could be described as being anti-magical. He has the ability to nullify other people’s magic. Being young he also is dealing with the anxiety and low self-esteem that can plague someone who is very different from his peers and who’s skills are contradictory to the norm. Right before he is to take a test and hopefully become an Adept, Arek is taken on a quest by his teacher. A quest that will make use of Arek’s special ability to nullify magic. Lakshman’s writing lets you see how the complicated journey of growing up can affect the choices people make later on in their lives. He crafts his story carefully and slowly but never does it drag.

I’m not a big fan of Michael Kramer’s voice but I also realize I’m probably in the minority in that opinion. However, I wanted to give him another try and I easily finished this audiobook without any problems. I recognize that Kramer is most certainly a skilled voice actor. His voice just isn’t my cup of tea. However, if you like Michael Kramer’s voice then you will definitely love the combination that is Lakshman and Kramer. At the time of this writing only the first audiobook is available but here’s hoping the skilled Kramer can narrate the rest. Lakshman’s writing definitely deserves the professional skills of a great narrator.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Villains Pride

  • The Shadow Master, Book 2
  • By: M. K. Gibson
  • Narrated by: Jeffrey Kafer
  • Length: 7 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 717
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 681
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 679

Jackson Blackwell, The Shadowmaster, is in over his head this time. After his last adventure, where he tore fantasy novels a new one, Jackson has to deal with the repercussions of angry gods, angrier conspirators, and the wrath of his pregnant girlfriend! Thanks to a godly decree and a crafty clause, Jackson has been banished from his home. And the only universe kindly enough to take him in is one infested with comic-book-style superheroes and supervillains.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Book 2

  • By MEDY L on 01-02-18

Snark and so much more! Prepare to enjoy!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-19-18

Jackson Blackwell, better known as The Shadowmaster is in trouble. He is facing the consequences of the wrath of gods, his pregnant girlfriend and practically anyone who breathes! He takes up residence in a new universe, the only place permitted at this time, dominated by superheroes and supervillains in comic-book-style. Shadowmaster is invited into the universe provided he can do something “unique” to entertain King Stanley (who’s really a god). Faced with clearing his name, impending fatherhood, and staying one step ahead of the other villains and superheroes, Blackwell has his plate full.

The story is full of snark, witty comebacks, and well, what some might classify as rambling off on tangents that are a mile long. It’s a fun book as long as you realize the offensive comments are meant to be obnoxious as Blackwell is an obnoxious type guy, he lives for it! And it’s something he excels at beautifully!

Well written, fun and entertaining. You do have to be mindful of language – not really suitable for young penguins … listen to the book!

Jeffrey Kafer is MAGNIFICENT in this book. His narration is captivating, he truly transports the listener into the story – the penguin thingy – I laughed until I almost peed my pants! It was obvious that Kafer was into the story. Awesome duo!

If you enjoy superheroes, villains and obnoxious people this is perfect! Well done, characters were developed well … loved the 1930’s period where Myst becomes independent. OMG!

There were no issues with the production or quality of the audiobook (well, at least as far as I could tell – I was laughing a lot, loudly).

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

1 of 1 people found this review helpful