LISTENER

AudioBook Reviewer

Madison, WI, United States
  • 1,466
  • reviews
  • 13,022
  • helpful votes
  • 1,541
  • ratings
  • It's Only Funny If You Laugh

  • The Haunting of the Midlands Amusement Park
  • By: Kevin Candela
  • Narrated by: Gary Bennett
  • Length: 2 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 19
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 19
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 19

In 1972, the Red Bozos were the friendliest faces in frenetic Midlands Amusement Park. Flash forward four and a half decades: Midlands is a ghost park. Closed long ago and nearly forgotten, even by the locals, it sits shrouded in undergrowth and hill-topping forest surrounded by upscale new homes. Ringed with a decaying fence, hidden from sight, it presents a huge temptation to a group of bored, thrill-seeking youths who are about to learn that terror is, in fact, immortal. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Candela Clowns around with time travel

  • By Ray Johnson on 06-19-18

Scary rollercoaster horror with hidden secrets

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-08-19

It’s Only Funny If You Laugh, The Haunting of the Midlands Amusement Park written by Kevin Candela. The narration is provided by Gary Bennett. The running time is 2 hours and 36 minutes. During that time the listener is taken on a wild ride from the mind of the author. According to the publishers summary a group of bored, thrill-seeking youths who are about to learn that terror is, in fact, immortal. That is just the tip of the iceberg of this unique horror, time travel, and clown filled story.

The groups of youth’s breaks in with the intent of having some fun in the old haunted Amusement Park until things start to go wrong. This at first appears to be your standard B-type horror story as the character start to get picked off one by one. Then things are changed up and the story really got interesting and unique. The surviving characters all shared a dark secret.

This story does a fair job of hold the listener’s attention. Then action does start quickly early on with some quick and shocking deaths in standard horror fashion. As the story slows down to develop the time travel plot is where this listener’s attention started to wander. I enjoyed the aspect of the story just felt it was a bit and understood the need to develop the plotline but it just made the story drag. The overall story is really good. The ending actually had me rolling with the Sheriff talking to one of the Youths and his mention of the FBI Agents they had called. I laughed and had a huge grin on my face.

The narration by Gary Bennett was simply amazing in the audio performance. Mr. Bennett brought something unique to each character in this story. This was a large cast of male and female characters voices and the narrator made sure this was a truly enjoyable audio performance. The characters were memorable and I enjoyed the production to a greater level due to the narration. The production quality of this audiobook is also the highest quality. I heard no problems during the entire performance. There were not any detectable flaws that I was able to hear during the entire performance such as loops, breaks, or buzzing. The production was crisp and clear. Fire Dragon Publishing delivered an excellent audiobook production.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Horizon

  • Horizon Series, Book 1
  • By: Tabitha Lord
  • Narrated by: DW Draffin
  • Length: 8 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 8
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 7

Caeli Crys isn't living - she's surviving. On the run after the genocide of her empathic people, she witnesses a spaceship crash near her hidden camp. When she feels the injured pilot suffering from miles away, she can't help but risk discovery to save his life. Commander Derek Markham awakens stranded on an uncharted planet. His co-pilot is dead, his ship is in ruins, and he's only alive because a beautiful young woman is healing him with her mind. As Derek recovers, Caeli shares the horror of her past and her fear for the future.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Very good story!

  • By Jonella A. Moore on 11-04-18

Unique and diversity characters

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-08-19

It is difficult to review a book that has received numerous awards already for its writing, and it seems quite well received by other reviewers. I was given the pleasure of listening and reviewing “Horizon”, a science fiction romance audiobook written by Tabitha Lord. Due to an extended long drive, I was able to consume the entire audiobook in a single sitting and I will say that I was entertained and engrossed much of the time. The audiobook narration was decently performed, with a few issues covered later in this review, by DW Draffin. Mr. Draffin appears to be a relative newcomer to the narration scene with just over ten works on Audible at the time of this review. If you like deep and well-written science fiction that includes a fair amount of romance, I think you would enjoy picking up a copy of Horizon and giving it a listen. If you are instead a hard-core space opera type of person, you may find the level of tech and shooting taken up by the softer and more emotional parts of the book. Don’t get me wrong, it was a good book, it just was different from what I had initially expected it would be. The story moves between various location from being on the planet to being in space. It also pivots between time by keeping us in the present while feeding us details form the past. The author does a very good job of unraveling the story elements and packing things nicely into this package. Would I have preferred more fights, tech, and space aspects, sure, one can never have enough of these? But, come to the book knowing what it is about will make it that much more enjoyable when you do listen.

I like the main characters and felt attached to who they were along with what each does that drives them. The characters felt like they had dimension, cause, and purpose. There were moral decisions, consequences for one’s actions and more. On the planet, the book felt tight and focused. Once in space, things opened up a bit and I felt some of the main character’s actions were no longer their choices; sometimes they were not. Not only did the author bring in a conflict between characters, but we are also given a view into a great civil war that forever separated this race of people into good and bad. Much of the drive of the main character is for revenge, but to accomplish this, she first needs to survive to be stalked by her enemies.

I enjoyed the diversity and uniqueness of the main characters in the story. Having the empath ability made the potential for misuse a bit more a reality. The story had a fair amount of suspense and mystery which seemed to unroll as the story progressed. And the use of many flashbacks helped to solidify what motivates the character. I’m not sure if it was the author intended or not, but I felt that the romance aspect of the story often conflicted with the characters direction and decision-making ability. As with real life, romance seems to have clouded over the minds of the characters to make the right choices.

What would I have changed? Some of the writing felt more young adult (YA) than I would have suspected. This seems to improve as the story got closer to the end. I found the alien race to be too human-like to feel alien. Their mannerisms, food, entertainment, etc. all felt to Earth-like. The ability to communicate was too quick and seemed near perfect instead of some form of Google Translate. A few of the romance scenes made me feel uncomfortable as they came very close to being adult only rated, yet often at the last minute cut the scene to something else. A few of the other characters felt flat and were only there for a specific plot fulfilling reason. Could there have been more guns, ships, tech, and aliens, you bet as there is never enough of this for a science fiction fan. None of these make the book unenjoyable, just observations I wanted to point out for those not knowing what to expect before they dive in.

The audiobook’s narration, for me, was not at the level one would expect from a story of this caliber. I feel there were some major issues during and after the production process making the book feel unfinished or rushed. A number of chapters were titled “After” which made me feel the chapter titles were going to be added at a later time and were not. In many places, there were noticeable edits or plugs where the initial narration left out a portion of the words and they needed to be added at a different time; including different level and mic settings. Audio patching should be less noticeable then they were in this piece. Additionally, there were a few places where I recall hearing swallowing and a few points where the audio cut seemed incorrect. The narrator’s voice was smooth and pleasant to listen too, I only wish there were a few checks on the production quality prior to being released in audiobook format.

For parents and younger readers, note the book does contain some profanity which seemed odd for an alien race to use. There are also some rather descriptive scenes of romance which may be inappropriate for younger readers. At times I also felt uncomfortable as an adult. The story was engaging and compelling, however, if you are at all offended by the use of vulgar language, I would recommend you locate a different book.

In summary, the foundations of the story were solid. It was both very enjoyable and entertaining. I liked the character complexity and situations they found themselves in. If you are a fan of science fiction, and you do not mind having a level of romance included, I think you will find this book to your liking. For the hardcore Sci-Fi listener, if you can get past the softer side of the story, you will also enjoy the tale. I can see why it won the number of awarded it had. IF you are not a fan of mediocre audiobook narration, including artifact issues, you may want to pick up a copy of Horizon in another format.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Black Soul Rising

  • From the Taldano Files
  • By: S. A. Ison
  • Narrated by: William E. Fortier
  • Length: 9 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11

Detective Carmela Taldano is handed what seems like a benign, low-level case. Soon, she realizes this case is a game changer, as she is now on the hunt for a vicious and voracious serial killer. She must use her intuition and shear guts to hunt this predator down before more people die. However, while hunting this man down, Taldano becomes the hunted. Someone in her department wants her dead and wants this high-profile case. She also comes into the cross hairs of the very animal she is hunting down. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Black soul rising

  • By MeDi on 12-28-18

A haunting book on so many levels!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-08-19

A haunting and realistic story that clearly defines the early male/female roles, the depths of depravity of mankind, and how it was possible to catch criminals without the help of technology.

In 1950 a tormented young woman gave birth to a beautiful boy, abused and alone, she visited upon him all the hate she held for men.

Years later, Detective Carmela Taldano is a female trying to succeed in a male-dominated career. As a result of her being female and the driving need to humiliate her, she is given a low-profile dog mutilation case. When it is discovered that the dog mutilation case is much bigger, more vicious and is a career-making case, Taldano discovers she is truly hated. She becomes the hunted as she works through the case.

I wasn’t ten minutes in before I began to question if I could listen to this audiobook to the end. It was well done and hauntingly vivid as well as captivating. Ison accurately describes the extreme sexism that existed in our society in 1950-1960’s; the thoughts and practices during a time period in which society supported such behavior.

The pain each character encountered and survived was overwhelming, giving the listener a ride on an emotional rollercoaster. The horror of each victim is stunningly gruesome demonstrating the depths of depravity a single human can reach.
Ison inserted some twists in the plot that were amazing and attention-grabbing. Each character was vividly built and solid.

The narrator, William E. Fortier performed the audiobook with a smooth, easy flowing voice. He gave each character a voice that resonated from beginning to end. I liked how he read the book using his voice to give some inflection to indicate fear, hate, and other emotions.

The only thing that gave me pause was the use of a recorded cat sound that was used once and then the narrator imitated the cat – far better than the recording! Otherwise the production quality was good.

This is a good book, one that most will find poignant and terrifying at the same time. I found I could not stop listening and I know that when I go to bed for the next month or so, I will be haunted.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]


1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Enhancer

  • The Enhancer Series, Book 1
  • By: Wyatt Kane
  • Narrated by: Chris Graves
  • Length: 7 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 625
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 597
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 598

Ty is just a normal guy trying to do his best. He’s single, stuck in a dead-end job with the most hateful boss in the universe, and struggling under a mountain of debt. When he witnesses an impossible battle between two superpowered people, every instinct he has tells him to run. Instead, he becomes the owner of a device that can change his life in ways he can barely imagine. All he has to do is survive for long enough to learn how to use it. 

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A good start

  • By Ray Johnson on 12-26-18

Superheroes are Real

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-08-19

The Enhancer is written by Wyatt Kane. The narration is provided by Chris Graves. The audiobook has a running time of 7 hours and 12 minutes. In that time the listener gets to know Ty Wilcox the down on his luck everyman. Living in a near future world similar to ours where people can buy body modifications and upgrades. Unfortunately, Ty is unable to finish school, lives in a horrible neighborhood, has a mountain of debt, and works as a janitor/repairman at the concubine club for the world’s worst boss: Angie the Hutt. She lives to make is life miserable. To the point of him missing the last bus home and having to walk home thru the worst neighborhoods in New Lincoln. One night he learns superheroes are real when one is murdered right in front of him. Ty’s life changes forever when he becomes the owner of the dead hero’s device.

The story did hold my attention thru the entire audiobook. The story seems to over simply actions and events. Some examples such as how the superpowers worked and why Heroes were attracted to each other like cats in heat. Yet Heroes hated Villains like cats and dogs. But I just went with it and had fun and it was a wild roller coaster ride through the entire audiobook.

The narration by Chris Graves was simply awesome! Mr. Graves gave an outstanding performance. The unique voices for each of the character made the truly memorable. This was my first time hearing a performance from Mr. Graves but I will be looking for more of his audio performances based on this audio production. The publisher for this audiobook is Grave Audio Productions. The production value is of the highest quality. I heard no problems during the entire performance. There were not any detectable flaws that I was able to hear during the entire performance. I did not hear any loops, breaks, or buzzing. The production was crisp and clear.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Do the Gods Hear Our Prayers?

  • A Prayer for Peace, Book 1
  • By: Jeff Henrikson
  • Narrated by: Christopher Johnson
  • Length: 10 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1

After thousands of years of fighting, peace between the light and dark elves is within sight. Ordered by the Overlord to settle their differences, the gods from both sides meet to hammer out a treaty, until the unthinkable happens. Pawns of the gods above, the human kingdom of Kentar and the last elven kingdom of Armena are thrown into war by the conniving genius of the world’s most powerful thieves guild. Nations rise and fall as pieces move around the board in this high-stakes match for domination of the world and the heavens themselves.  

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Humans, Elves and Dragons ... OH MY!

  • By AudioBook Reviewer on 02-08-19

Humans, Elves and Dragons ... OH MY!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-08-19

The gods are interfering again but this time with humans, elves, dragons, and more. The humans want to increase their foothold and are destroying the forest that is protected and rightly belongs to the Elves according to an ancient contract. The elves have their own issues within their courts – the dark and light elven court. Thus, begins the journey and adventure of three elves.

There are several different story arcs happening simultaneously and Jeff Henrikson, the author, does a magnificent job of keeping the story arcs intersecting and not becoming confusing. Each character has depth and validity to the story, nothing is superfluous in his writing or his characters. Some characters are endearing while others demand respect and others instill nothing but dislike. The story was easy to follow, and I hated to reach the end of it.

Christopher Johnson, narrator performed the audiobook very well. He added just the right amount of emotion to move the action and storyline along. I found his voice enjoyable and never heard him stammer or lose his place. Excellent job. I hope to hear more from him.

The book is one in a series. I expect the following books will be just as engaging and exciting as this first installment.

There were no quality or production issues with this audiobook.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Ancient Echoes

  • Ancient Secrets Series, Book 1
  • By: Joanne Pence
  • Narrated by: Tim Paige
  • Length: 12 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 33
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 29
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 29

Over 200 years ago, a covert expedition shadowing Lewis and Clark disappeared into the wilderness of central Idaho. Now, seven anthropology students and their professor vanish in the same area. The key to finding them lies in an ancient secret, one involving alchemy, gold, and immortality...a secret that men throughout history have sought to unveil. Michael Rempart is a brilliant archeologist whose colorful and controversial career has earned him admiring fans and implacable foes, but he is plagued by a troubling sense of the supernatural and a mysterious spiritual intuitiveness.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great first book in a promising series

  • By Victor @ theAudiobookBlog on 02-06-19

Lots of Deadly Earth Shaking Secrets

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-19

Lots of secrets. Deadly secrets! Covert missions in the past with Lewis and Clark combined with the same type of covert missions with men in black, domestic and international all seeking the same place, the same mysterious pillars in Idaho – yes, Idaho! Mix in some college students and renowned archaeologists, an Egyptian princess and the secret of alchemy and you have one attention holding, edge of your seat thriller!

Slightly over 12 hours, this audiobook is enthralling and intriguing! Combining the past with the present and everything in between would be confusing and distracting, however, Joanne Pence writes eloquently and thoroughly leaving nothing confusing, distracting or incomplete. Vivid descriptions along with solidly built characters and a well-executed storyline, listeners will NOT be able to shut it off.

Pence allows her readers to believe everything is going smoothly, they expect an outcome then she gives them a major twist that will leave the listener wanting more. Yes, there are some parts that are repetitive, but they are so for a reason – to drive home the point that things are not normal, and each character must experience it to come to that conclusion themselves. It also helps to add to the terror of what is really going on.

The supernatural piece of this book was well done and blended well into the past and present happenings. I have to say, she writes evil well! There was no question at all who or when the evil was present!

The narrator, Tim Paige, performed the audiobook with a smooth, flowing style. Paige gave the listener a solid reading that was captivating and easy to follow. He did not do voices which I think could have taken away from the story and lost some of the depth to the story. For a first time narrator, I give him a 5-star rating! Hope to hear more from him.

The production and quality of the audiobook were good, however, there was some electronic noise about halfway through the book when a new chapter began. It didn’t hurt the book or my enjoyment, but it was annoying.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Mountain Man: Prequel

  • By: Keith C. Blackmore
  • Narrated by: R. C. Bray
  • Length: 8 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,288
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 3,123
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,104

After a long day of prepping a house for painting, all Gus Berry wanted was the night off to spend some time with his girlfriend and relax before having to return to work the next morning. But that isn’t going to happen. Because Gus’s co-worker Benny has found a one-night job at the local Mollymart East, a job that has to be done by morning. If Gus and his paint crew can complete the work by then, it could mean huge business with a respected, established grocery store chain.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Gus... Redefining the ‘Everyman!'

  • By Tracy P. on 10-24-18

Unique take on the zombie genre

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-19

R. C. Bray is a fantastic narrator. I have listened to several of his books including Burnt Offerings, The Elementals, Gilded Needles, and one of my all-time favorites, The Martian. He does an excellent job of creating discernable characters. His females are never falsettos. They sound natural. Bray’s accents are incredibly good. He excels at communicating emotion including snark, which is actually hard to pull off. There were no issues with the quality or production of this audiobook.

Last year I listened to The Hospital: The FREE Short Story: The First Mountain Man Story. It is a short listen that can be listened to at any point but chronologically between book 1 and 2. It got me interested in the series. When I was given the opportunity to review Mountain Man: Prequel for Audio Book Reviewer (https://audiobookreviewer.com/), I started listening immediately.

Gus makes a living as a house painter. He lives in a small town in Canada near the Bay of Fundy in southeastern Canada. Gus lives a simple. He hopes to make a life with his girlfriend Tammy. He tolerates and encourages his young coworker Toby. Life is going on in a normal trajectory until it takes a sharp, violent turn.

As a virulent strain of flu starts to hit the area, Gus’s boss signs Gus, Toby, and another coworker Gord up to paint the manager’s office at the local Mollymart. The manager’s office is on the 2nd floor overlooking the sales floor. While not thrilled to be working from 7p to midnight after working all day, Gus is glad to make the extra money. As the painters start their work, the world crashes quickly outside.

Individual’s dying from the flu strain are resurrecting as mindless, eating machine zombies. Individuals bit by zombies die and become zombies. One of the stricken runs into the store screaming. What follows is a wonderfully constructed scene. The reader/listener has a good idea of what is happening outside. The people in the store do not. They are confronted with a raging man who does not respond to any type of deterrent and argue with how to proceed. Even though no one can reach 911, the people still are unaware of how violent and dangerous it has become outside the store.

Mountain Man: Prequel is an exciting start to a different take on the Zombie genre. The Canadian location adds some subtle tweaks to the known geography of American towns and cities. The book tracks Gus and friends over the first few days of the outbreak. No explanation is given for the dead rising. Honestly, Gus does not have time to consider anything other than surviving minute to minute. A good story paired with an excellent narrator creates an accessible and exciting entry into a new series.

Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Broken Branches

  • By: Brenda M. Spalding
  • Narrated by: Eliza Wethers
  • Length: 5 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11

The death of her grandmother brings artist and gallery owner Megan Calloway to Salem. She is rescued by a tall, dark stranger from a careless driver. Was it an accident, or something more sinister? After another death, Megan and her rescuer, Jake, investigate the strange occurrences in her grandmother's house. Everything revolves around a ring she inherited and riddles she must solve. Visions of the past lead Megan to find her future and a treasure lost in time.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Engaging story line with plot twists

  • By AudioBook Reviewer on 01-18-19

Engaging story line with plot twists

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-19

Overall, I enjoyed this book and would like to read the other books in the series. It is written like an edgy cozy mystery – a little stronger on the suspense and the romance than the norm. One thing that was a distraction for me was how quickly the attraction between Megan and Jake progressed. For example, after only three days, Jake proposes to Megan AND schedules the wedding for that same week. The romance felt “instant,” instead of a natural progression of emotions and feelings. Other than that, I fell in love with the story. The character development was good, and I enjoyed the personalities of each of the main characters.

Megan is an artist with a gallery in New York but has come home to her grandmother’s old house after her unexpected death. Megan receives a Claddagh ring in her grandmother’s will, complete with instructions of how the ring is worn and what each part of it means. The mystery of the ring reveals itself as the story develops. At first, authorities believed that Megan’s grandmother’s death is an accident, but it soon, becomes apparent that it is much more. Spalding has created several suspects that keep you in suspense; a frustrating policeman who is less than helpful; all making an engaging storyline.

One obvious suspect could have been Jake. The fact that he was there to “save” her, how fast he “fell in love” with her, and the fact that he was very successful (and not already taken) was not part of the storyline but it could’ve made an interesting plot twist and provided a little vinegar for a too-sugary romance.

At the beginning of the book when Eliza Wethers, the audiobook narrator, is reading as the story’s narrator, the reading is a little stilted and over-enunciated. My initial reaction was that I wouldn’t make it through the whole book. However, when she switched into the voices of the characters, she rocked it. The only other thing was when she read “lobster roll” she pronounced it as “lobster ROLL” – emphasis on ROLL, a couple of times. It was a little distracting, but the further into the reading, I became immersed in the characters and didn’t even notice her as “the reader” – she blended into the background as the characters came alive. So, for anyone listening to this audiobook – don’t let the first minute or two divert you – it just gets better and better.

This story has everything I like in a book: an old house, possible paranormal activity, a mystery, suspense, and romance.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Shadow Above the Flames

  • By: Daniel Swenson
  • Narrated by: Steve Campbell
  • Length: 10 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 23
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 22
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 22

Five years ago, hungry for energy and profits, the Union Forest Corporation embarked on an aggressive search for alternative power sources. In their quest they drilled too deeply, releasing a long-forgotten evil that’s been terrorizing the planet. As frightening as the dragon is, the executives at Union Forest are more terrified of losing corporate secrets than losing human lives. Somewhere in that drilling site, there’s a data core that they desperately want back.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The shadow

  • By MEDY L on 11-15-17

Waking a dangerous monster

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-19

The Union Forest Corporation has been digging for some time in order to find more available power sources. But five years ago they went too far, and awakened a dangerous and terrible monster, and now the corporation wants to silence this terrible truth and slay the dragon This is the story of two brothers who risk their lives to get rid of a powerful menace.

The premises of this book were so interesting, but it failed to deliver. This is your typical classic dragon book but in a modern setting. The plot was well built, but I the character development was poor. There were constant POV changes, being the story told by both brothers alternatively. The problem here is that both characters sound exactly the same, talking and thinking, so I found it difficult and tiresome to follow the story and identify POV.

As in other military fiction books, there are many secondary characters, and if the main characters were not very developed, the secondary ones were just mere drafts, and I was not very moved when there were casualties.

I struggled to finish this book, since I wasn’t able to connect with the characters and I didn’t become very invested in the story. Another issue is the constant repetitions and reiterations. The book could have benefited from an editor and transformed in a more polished product.

Steve Campbell’s narration was correct. He did a wonderful job regarding character’s interpretations, but I would have preferred their different voice tones to be a bit more subtle. It felt a bit overdone, in my opinion.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Commune: Book Three

  • By: Joshua Gayou
  • Narrated by: R.C. Bray
  • Length: 17 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 2,541
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2,410
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,403

Having been bolstered with the supplies sufficient to carry them through the winter, the survivors of the Jackson commune must now hunker down and endure the bitter Wyoming snows, while to the south, factions are beginning to form, coalescing from the ashes of the dead world. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The best series in sci-fi for great characters.

  • By TK2.0 on 11-19-18

Beautiful World Building, Exciting

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-19

Commune Book 3 is written by Joshua Gayou and narrated by R.C. Bray. This is the third in a series of books in a world Mr. Gayou has created. A massive Coronal Mass Ejection (CME) has hit earth. Our technological dependants’ society is dealt a crippling blow. Then a near extinction level pandemic flu of unknown origin. People have to gather into groups for survival. Fighting begins over the limited resources thus thinning the small population. The first winter has arrived and this has made things even worse in the world as people struggle more for survival daily for food and warmth.

The story picks up where the last one ended. Wang, Gibbs, and the 2 others were rescued by a Helicopter and taken to the only remaining tent city; the Elysium Fields, in Arizona. They take them there and patch up the wounded and escort them back to the Bowl while keeping Wang due to the need for surgery. Four Guardsmen winter in the bowl and Wang spends the winter in the Camp with these new people who are led by the last Navy Seal nicknamed Otter. Who feels it is his mission due to his last order to collect all Americans and protect them as they are a valuable commodity for starting over to civilization. When spring arrives they will roll out and head north to the Bowl in Wyoming with Wang to show them where to collect the others.

This audiobook holds the listener’s attention and does not go through the entire performance. Commune Book 3 continues the unique method of storytelling in the Post Apocalyptic genre as it is being told in the future by a narrator collecting stories from the earliest members of the Jackson Wyoming Commune and how it started. The narrator hopes to gain their personal thoughts and memories of the transitions from the old world to the new. The Commune in the bowl in Wyoming gets built up to 26 people in this edition. At the start of this audiobook, the author explains that this is the book he wanted to get to when he started this story. Mr. Gayou knew he needed to fill in the pieces first to get here. He explains that as much as certain characters dominated the first two books there will be one character that will have his story be the driving force in this book. That character is intended to be Jake. This is a book with a running time of just under 18 hours. There is a huge cast of characters now. The group in Colorado that attacked Gibbs and the team that brought back the food for the winter. They are a force to be dealt with. Then there is Otter and his Grand Plan. The author has laid out a great deal of world building. The story has grown but from the first book but the world building is a thing of beauty.

The narration for Commune Book 3 is provided by R.C. Bray. Mr. Bray is just one of those ultra skilled narrators who will draw a listener into the story with his voice like few others can do. He also has a way of delivering the lines with perfect timing for just the right effect either comedic or deadpan. The best example I can give is his delivery of Gibbs lines when the character becomes agitated. I have laughed out loud with headphones on and snorted to the point of other looking at like I was having an episode or something. The narrator is a true pleasure to listen to when combined with a great author. This was a really great audio performance. The audiobook was produced by Blue Heron Audio and Joshua Gayou. The production quality of this audiobook is also topnotch. I heard no problems during the entire performance. There were not any detectable flaws that I was able to hear during the entire performance. I did not hear any loops, breaks, or buzzing. The production was crisp and clear. Blue Heron Audio and Joshua Gayou delivered an excellent audiobook production.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]