LISTENER

Kari P

Texan back in Texas at long last!
  • 10
  • reviews
  • 7
  • helpful votes
  • 31
  • ratings
  • The House Next Door

  • Thrillers
  • By: James Patterson
  • Narrated by: Lauren Fortgang, Peter Ganim, Christopher Ryan Grant
  • Length: 9 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 566
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 489
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 486

The world's number-one best-selling writer - three pulse-pounding thrillers in one audiobook: The House Next Door, The Killer's Wife, and We. Are. Not. Alone.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Aliens again?

  • By Evelyn B on 01-23-19

Definitely recommend this book with 3 stories!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-19-19

A couple of the stories were much better than the other, but I enjoyed all three. As always, James Patterson didn't disappoint.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Merciless

  • By: Danielle Vega
  • Narrated by: Amy Rubinate
  • Length: 6 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 105
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 94
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 93

Brooklyn Stevens sits in a pool of her own blood, tied up and gagged. No one outside of these dank basement walls knows she’s here. No one can hear her scream. A terrifying tale in the tradition of Carrie and The Exorcist.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Thoroughly entertained.

  • By michael hernandez on 06-19-14

Was pretty good- until the ending.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-12-19

The book was pretty interesting, some parts were even great, but the ending was the absolute definition of "meh".

  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,743
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,199
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6,192

Amber wakes up in a hospital. She can't move. She can't speak. She can't open her eyes. She can hear everyone around her, but they have no idea. Amber doesn't remember what happened, but she has a suspicion her husband had something to do with it. Alternating between her paralyzed present, the week before her accident, and a series of childhood diaries from 20 years ago, this brilliant psychological thriller asks: Is something really a lie if you believe it's the truth?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great book. Highly recommended.

  • By Amazon Customer on 03-17-18

was a little hard to stay up on the twists.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-15-18

It was a little hard to stay up on the twists, and I'm an avid reader & listener. Overall it was simply good.

  • Ready Player One

  • By: Ernest Cline
  • Narrated by: Wil Wheaton
  • Length: 15 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 214,327
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 200,145
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 199,728

At once wildly original and stuffed with irresistible nostalgia, Ready Player One is a spectacularly genre-busting, ambitious, and charming debut—part quest novel, part love story, and part virtual space opera set in a universe where spell-slinging mages battle giant Japanese robots, entire planets are inspired by Blade Runner, and flying DeLoreans achieve light speed.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I’m sorry I waited so long to read this book.

  • By Julie W. Capell on 05-27-14

Really fun!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-01-18

Great read- especially for those who love the 80's. The narration was really good. The story was fun. You don't have to be a gamer to enjoy this.

  • The Circle

  • By: Dave Eggers
  • Narrated by: Dion Graham
  • Length: 13 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 8,132
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 7,470
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 7,490

When Mae Holland is hired to work for the Circle, the world's most powerful internet company, she feels she's been given the opportunity of a lifetime. The Circle, run out of a sprawling California campus, links users' personal emails, social media, banking, and purchasing with their universal operating system, resulting in one online identity and a new age of civility and transparency. As Mae tours the open-plan office spaces, the towering glass dining facilities, the cozy dorms for those who spend nights at work, she is thrilled with the company's modernity and activity.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Terrifying look at a techno-destruction of privacy

  • By FinanceBuzz on 01-20-14

Excellent listen!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-30-17

I really enjoyed this book. The narrator did a great job, especially with the parts that he read quickly to build up emotion.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Before We Were Yours

  • A Novel
  • By: Lisa Wingate
  • Narrated by: Emily Rankin, Catherine Taber
  • Length: 14 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 48,464
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 44,107
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 43,951

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge - until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents - but they quickly realize the dark truth.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I was rivetted, finished in three days.

  • By Lin Cloward on 06-26-17

Great read!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-16-17

This is a wonderful story about the Tennessee Children's Home scandal that ran from the twenties to 1950. I enjoyed every minute of it!

  • The Chemist

  • By: Stephenie Meyer
  • Narrated by: Ellen Archer
  • Length: 17 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 30,000
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 27,612
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 27,576

She used to work for the US government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn't even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning. Now she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They've killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Listened all night!

  • By bebe on 06-04-17

Wonderful read.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-25-17

Really enjoyed The Chemist. I liked the characters the story line and the narration. A÷

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Fever

  • By: Megan Abbott
  • Narrated by: Caitlin Davies, Kirby Heyborne, Joe Barrett
  • Length: 9 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars 287
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 255
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 257

The Nash family is close-knit. Tom is a popular teacher, father of two teens: Eli, a hockey star and girl magnet, and his sister Deenie, a diligent student. Their seeming stability, however, is thrown into chaos when Deenie's best friend is struck by a terrifying, unexplained seizure in class. Rumors of a hazardous outbreak spread through the family, school and community.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Potential Unmet

  • By FanB14 on 07-07-14

The Fever was ok- not bad, but not great.

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-18-16

I expected this to be better. I love to read and I read a LOT. This had too little substance and focused too much on teenage sex. I'm glad it wasn't any longer. The narration was good.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Graceling
    
    
        By:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Kristin Cashore
    
    


    
    
        Narrated by:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        David Baker,
    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Chelsea Mixon,
    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Zachary Exton
    
    


    
    Length: Not Yet Known
    1,788 ratings
    Overall 4.1
  • Graceling

  • By: Kristin Cashore
  • Narrated by: David Baker, Chelsea Mixon, Zachary Exton
  • Length: Not Yet Known
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,788
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,446
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,459

Set in a world where some people are born with a Grace - a unique, sometimes uncanny, gift - this is the story of Katsa, whose Grace, demonstrated at an uncomfortably early age, is for killing. This makes her a perfect tool for her uncle, King Randa But Katsa chafes at the way she is being used - and even more at the injustices she sees around her.Then she meets Prince Po, who has a Grace to match hers...

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wounderful

  • By Wayne on 03-12-10

I'm thoroughly enjoying this trilogy.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-18-15

The Graceling trilogy is quite good. It is very well-written. Character development is on point. Graceling is primarily about Katsa and Prince Po, both of whom are graced. Toward the end, they come upon Bitterblue who is Po's little cousin and her father is King of Monsea.
The second book, Fire, takes place before Graceling . Although it is my least favorite of the three, it is still intriguing and quite fascinating.
My favorite is Bitterblue, the third book. Bitterblue has become Queen of Monsea at a very young age. She tried to write the wrongs of her father while he was king and struggles to become the leader she wants so badly to be.
I highly recommend them!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Fifty Shades Darker

  • Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy
  • By: E. L. James
  • Narrated by: Becca Battoe
  • Length: 19 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 23,349
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20,298
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20,297

Daunted by the singular tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house. But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Good Point, Well Made!!

  • By Moki on 05-04-12

great sequel!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-23-15

i waited for years before i decided to give this trilogy a try. I generally don't read romance, but after so many of my friends said I would like it, I jumped in and have enjoyed all 3 books immensely.