LISTENER

Hughes

  • 4
  • reviews
  • 39
  • helpful votes
  • 13
  • ratings
  • The Magicians

  • A Novel
  • By: Lev Grossman
  • Narrated by: Mark Bramhall
  • Length: 17 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 16,733
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,818
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 14,835

Quentin Coldwater is brilliant but miserable. A senior in high school, he's still secretly preoccupied with a series of fantasy novels he read as a child, set in a magical land called Fillory. Imagine his surprise when he finds himself unexpectedly admitted to a very secret, very exclusive college of magic in upstate New York, where he receives a thorough and rigorous education in the craft of modern sorcery.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Not an average book

  • By Kyle on 04-30-11

Good and bad

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-23-16

The actual story is pretty tortured for the first 3/4 of the book. I didn't ever find myself really caring all that much about Quentin or any of the protagonists. However, the last quarter is a pretty brilliant deconstruction of Narnia (which I still love). I'm not sure the author has truly redeemed Quentin in this book, but the 2nd book is definitely better. I've yet to read the recently released third book. Hopefully it will finally tie up all the loose ends.

  • Taken

  • Alex Verus Series, Book 3
  • By: Benedict Jacka
  • Narrated by: Gildart Jackson
  • Length: 10 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,527
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,339
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,323

This time last year, I could go weeks without seeing another mage. In mage society I was an unknown and, all in all, that was how I liked it. It’s hard to say what changed. Whatever it was, I got involved in the magical world again and started getting myself a reputation.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great book. Action packed and fun.

  • By Cliff on 02-03-14

Best in the series so far

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-15-15

I've read the first 3 books in the Alex Verus series and this is the best in the series so far. Good writing, nice pacing, and a mystery that will keep your guessing.

  • Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen

  • By: Garth Nix
  • Narrated by: Graeme Malcolm
  • Length: 11 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,436
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,314
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,320

Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world-building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic, and is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great prequel to Abhorsen trilogy

  • By ciorstan on 10-17-14

Right up there with Garth Nix's best work

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-21-14

If you've read the other Abhorsen books, I think you will be happy to learn that this book is right up there with Garth Nix's best work. Characters in this book are more real and more maturely written than in many of his other books. I think it is some of his best writing to date. It also turns some typical fantasy tropes on their heads, which is refreshing. Overall this is a great book and a welcome and unexpected addition to a great series. I'm itching to say other things, but I'll avoid spoilers. Read it, you won't be sorry!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Stardust

  • By: Neil Gaiman
  • Narrated by: Neil Gaiman
  • Length: 6 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,114
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 5,356
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,347

Tristran Thorn has lost his heart to the hauntingly beautiful Victoria Forester. One crisp October night, as they watch, a star falls from the sky, and Victoria promises to marry Tristran if he'll retrieve the star and bring it back for her. It is this promise that sends Tristran on the most unforgettable adventure of his life.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • This is an ADULT fairytale

  • By Rebecca on 01-25-08

beautiful and fun

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-20-07

I listened to this book as an audible.com download, and it was gorgeous. Neil Gaiman narrates as well as he writes. The voices and tone are perfect. Stardust is a fairytale for adults. The village of Wall sits on the edge of Faerie, and every 9 years there is a fairy market on the border. One day a boy from the village vows to get a fallen star to win his true love’s favor. Problem: the star fell on the far side of the wall. There are airships and evil witches and cat girls and talking badgers. What’s not to like? In the audible version, there’s also an interesting interview with Neil Gaiman at the end.

38 of 42 people found this review helpful