LISTENER

Marja Coons-Torn

  • 3
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 3
  • ratings
An Image of Death audiobook cover art

Meet Georgia Davis in an Ellie Foreman mystery.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-14-16

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I love Libby Fischer Hellman, but I actually had not read this volume (#3 in the series). So listening to it was great. I knew from Libby's writing that this was the one where we would meet Georgia Davis, who now has her own series. It's a great mystery but also a great crossover. Yes, I would recommend this book to a friend!

What did you like best about this story?

I like the vulnerability of Ellie Forman. She's not perfect so I can relate her very well. But she's smart, as is Georgia Davis.

Which scene was your favorite?

Oh my, too hard to choose one. I liked it from beginning to end.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I really would have enjoyed that, but couldn't make it work for me. It's just fine to listen in segments. The story is clear and you won't lose the thread.

Any additional comments?

I always like Libby's narrators. They make her novels come to life. Nan McNamara was no exception. Plug this in to your iPhone or listen in your car. It will pass the time quickly!

Easy Innocence audiobook cover art

Start here for a great PI series.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-10-16

You're going to want to know who Georgia Davis is. This is the place to find out. When a popular teenager is murdered, a local autistic man who just happened to be nearby gets blamed. It's up to Georgia to find out the truth. Fans of Rizzoli and Isles will find this right up their alley, but almost any mystery fan who starts it is going to enjoy it. Libby is a terrific author and one of my faves.

Distance audiobook cover art

As fun to listen to as it is to read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-14-16

What did you love best about Distance?

I had read the book, but hearing the characters come to life in the voice of the narrator was a great way to revisit a story I already liked a,lot.

What other book might you compare Distance to and why?

Really, I think David's books are so unique that the only thing I can compare to is the previous two books in this series. They just keep getting better!

Which character – as performed by Kerrie Seymour – was your favorite?

Lauren was and is my favorite though I really like Jack too. But I relate to Lauren even though it's been a long time since I was her age.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Extreme pleasure! I just keep rooting for Lauren and Jack, so every time I encounter them is a pleasure.

Any additional comments?

While this book could easily be listened to as a stand-alone, you'd be doing yourself a pleasurable favor to listen to books 1 and 2 as well. If you want to listen to this one first, you can just thing of the first two as prequels!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful