LISTENER

R Neustel

Felton, PA
  • 28
  • reviews
  • 8
  • helpful votes
  • 31
  • ratings
  • Uncommon Protector

  • Living an Extraordinary Life One Day at a Time
  • By: Shelley Shepard Gray
  • Narrated by: Nan Gurley
  • Length: 8 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 44
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 39
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 39

Overwhelmed by the responsibilities of running a ranch on her own, Laurel Tracey decides to hire a convict - a man who's just scary enough to take care of squatters and just desperate enough to agree to a one-year post.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Enjoyable listening. Good narration.

  • By Amazon Customer on 06-24-18

Worth 10+ stars

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-03-18

An Uncommon Protector is one of those books that make the heart stir and the characters to stay with you way after you quit listening. Even though I thought the difficulty in the book was taken care of somewhat anticlimatically, and I wondered what became of the step-siblings after all the trouble they caused, for me that wasn't enough to take even a star off.

This book is filled with emotion, and there are few narrators that can make you feel every emotion as this narrator. I didn't realize this is the second book in this series about a group of soldiers that were together in a Civil War pow camp on an island in Lake Erie. I'm desperately hoping I will find Nan Gurley narrates that one also!

  • The Cost of Betrayal

  • Three Romantic Suspense Novellas
  • By: Dee Henderson, Dani Pettrey, Lynette Eason
  • Narrated by: Susan Bennett
  • Length: 10 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 66
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 59
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 59

This bundle includes three romantic suspense novels: Betrayal, Deadly Isle, and Code of Ethics

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Novellas from some of my favorite authors

  • By Joy B Keller on 09-23-18

Inspiring trio

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-02-18

I couldn't find anything I didn't love about this trio of romantic suspense novellas. Each book has an underlying component of betrayal causing pain to the recipient. The books are clean with no foul language or sex.

The narrator is a pleasure to listen!

  • The Wild Inside

  • A Novel of Suspense
  • By: Christine Carbo
  • Narrated by: R. C. Bray
  • Length: 13 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,643
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,417
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,411

For fans of Louise Penny, C. J. Box, and Nevada Barr comes a haunting crime novel set in Glacier National Park, where one man finds himself on a collision course with the dark heart of the wild and the even darker heart of human nature.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Mystery, Thriller, Suspense & The Great Outdoors

  • By Sara on 09-18-15

Superb police procedural set in Glacier Nat'nl Pk

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-15-18

I found this book to be beautifully written with descriptions of the natural beauty of Glacier National Park juxtaposed with descriptions of the brutality of what humans will do to one another and the unfeeling, impartiality of nature.

Mr. Bray's narration, as always, is brilliant.

  • The Nanny Murders

  • By: Merry Bloch Jones
  • Narrated by: Marguerite Gavin
  • Length: 8 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 28
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 6

In the tradition of Mary Higgins Clark comes this deliciously written woman-in-jeopardy novel from a wonderful new talent.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Definitely a

  • By James Gordon on 08-10-05

Awesome suspense with romance!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-15-18

At first I wasn't too sure I was going to like the main character. There's an issue with her ex-husband that seemed petty and snarky, and I thought she might present that way throughout the book, but I soon became caught up in the story of the disappearing nannies from the neighborhood and all the characters from the sreet and their activities as related to the missing nannies. There's a romantic thread through the book, too. The end of the book is very good--suspenseful and creepy, and if I had to sum it up, I would say, "It's not over, 'til it's over!"

The narrator is quite good with a, different to me, style of delivery. I had to slow the speed to 0.90 to listen best for me.

  • The Captain's Bluestocking Mistress

  • Dukes of War, Book 3
  • By: Erica Ridley
  • Narrated by: Stevie Zimmerman
  • Length: 4 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 136
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 122
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 123

Captain Xavier Grey's body is back amongst the beau monde, but his mind cannot break free from the horrors of war. His friends try to help him find peace. He knows he doesn't deserve it. Just like he doesn't deserve the attentions of the sultry bluestocking intent on seducing him into bed....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Clever and well thought out

  • By Zena on 03-15-17

The series continues!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-14-18

I have a little complaint over the story line in this episode of the "Dukes of War" series. In Jane's determination to use Xavier as her object of a "night or two of passion" without taking into account Xavier's reasons for not wishing this to take place, I just felt like she was making a big mistake. It had a high likelihood of backfiring and making Xavier resent her later. Of course, this is a romance with a happily ever after, so no worries.

Again, Stevie Zimmerman is a delightful narrator who brings Xavier and Jane to life. Enough said!

  • The Viscount's Christmas Temptation

  • Dukes of War, Book 1
  • By: Erica Ridley
  • Narrated by: Stevie Zimmerman
  • Length: 1 hr and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 241
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 215
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 216

Certain individuals might consider Lady Amelia Pembroke a managing sort of female, but truly most people would be lost without her help. Why, the latest on-dit is that rakish Viscount Sheffield is canceling the fete of the year because he hasn't time for silly soirees. He doesn't need time - he needs her!

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A lovely listen!

  • By Heather on 06-14-16

A delightful romp through December 1815

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-09-18

This delicious book takes place in a very short time period in December 1815 and is the first in a series about a group of noblemen, most of whom fought in the Napoleonic wars.

The narrator really makes this book work! She brings the characters to life as you can hear all the emotions...most of which is humor.

  • The Last Chance Christmas Ball

  • By: Mary Jo Putney
  • Narrated by: Elaine Claxton
  • Length: 13 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 108
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 95
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 96

Guests are arriving to celebrate Christmas at Lady Holly's ball, and at the top of each guest's wish list is a last chance to find true love before the new year. Amid the sumptuous delicacies, glittering decorations, and swell of the orchestra, every duchess and debutante, lord and lackey has a hopeful heart.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Lovely stories, great narrator.

  • By harp diva on 10-07-16

A most excellent book!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-07-18

I simply ate this book up, and I know it will be one I listen to over and over again in the future!

The narration is also amazingly perfect! Elaine Claxton has a beautiful, rich voice that does every character's voice and accent perfectly.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • When He Was Wicked

  • By: Julia Quinn
  • Narrated by: Simon Prebble
  • Length: 9 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 815
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 614
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 620

Michael Stirling and his cousin, John, the Earl of Kilmartin, are as close as brothers. However, Michael is secretly in love with John's wife, Francesca Bridgerton. When John suddenly dies, Michael is wracked with guilt and pain. Even though he is determined to remain simply Francesca's friend and confidant, the temptation is far too great.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • LOVED IT!!

  • By Cindy R. on 09-26-07

Beautiful story; beautiful narration

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-30-18

This historical romance is one of my personal top five favorites, both in story and narration. There's so much emotion in this romance, and there's no one better at conveying that emotion through their voice than Simon Prebble.

  • Galloway

  • The Sacketts, Book 14
  • By: Louis L'Amour
  • Narrated by: Jason Culp
  • Length: 4 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 402
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 322
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 322

Filled with action, adventure, mystery, and historical detail, the Sackett saga is an unforgettable achievement by one of America's greatest storytellers. In Galloway, two brothers must struggle to survive in a wild and beautiful land to build themselves a ranch and a future.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Louis once again gives us a superb western novel

  • By Jesse on 08-25-05

Another great L'Amour!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-12-18

Of course, Louis L'Amour couldn't write any. that weren't great, in my opinion. I began reading his books when I was 12 or younger, but I was happy to listen to an old favorite. It brought the story to life for me more than reading did.

I really love Jason Culp's narration. He is truly an artist and doesn't just read the book. He makes you feel like you're there with Flagan as he's naked, in pain from bloody, torn feet and attempting to steal an elk kill from wolves.

  • Borden Chantry

  • A Novel
  • By: Louis L'Amour
  • Narrated by: Erik Singer
  • Length: 5 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 188
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 167
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 169

The marshal's name was Borden Chantry. Young, lean, rugged, he's buried a few men in this two-bit cow town - every single one killed in a fair fight. Then, one dark, grim day a mysterious gunman shot a man in cold blood. Five grisly murders later, Chantey was faced with the roughest assignment of his life - find that savage, trigger-happy hard case before he blasts apart every man in town...one by bloody one.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Read and good story

  • By Garrett on 04-06-18

Great Western!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-01-18

I thought I'd read/listened to all of Louis L'Amour's books, but I'm happy to see there are some I haven't. I enjoyed the tie-in with the Sackett family, too.

I think this is the first book narrated by Erik Singer that I've heard, and I felt he did a great job! All the voices he used for the characters were enjoyable and well-modulated. I would be quite happy to listen to him on another book!