LISTENER

R Neustel

Felton, PA
  • 35
  • reviews
  • 8
  • helpful votes
  • 38
  • ratings
  • The Thing on the Doorstep (Dramatized)

  • By: H.P. Lovecraft
  • Narrated by: H.P. Lovecraft Historical Society
  • Length: 1 hr and 12 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 16
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 16
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 15

Screams ring out in a madhouse as a man shoots his best friend in cold blood. What drives him to such a desperate act? Greed? Jealousy? Madness? Or a woman? A woman said to have mystical powers, in league with the darkest forces of the cosmos? Is the gunman’s testimony the invention of a calculating killer, or is he another victim of a supreme evil that lurks unseen among us? 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • What an ending!

  • By R Neustel on 11-10-18

What an ending!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-10-18

This production of "The Thing on the Doorstep" was amazingly performed, and I hung on to every word!

As always, I'm off to find my next listen by the H. P. Lovecraft Historical Society!

  • The Rats in the Walls (Dramatized)

  • By: H.P. Lovecraft
  • Narrated by: H.P. Lovecraft Historical Society
  • Length: 1 hr and 13 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14

An American businessman undertakes the restoration of his ancient ancestral home in England. After moving in, he's haunted by strange phenomena, apparently coming from the very walls of the legend-haunted mansion. A team of experts joins him to dig into the centuried structure's shadowed past, and its shadowy cellars. Can the investigators solve the lingering mystery of the grim and rumor-shrouded priory, or are they merely ushering in the most horrific chapter of the house's monstrous history? 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Freaky!!

  • By R Neustel on 11-09-18

Freaky!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-09-18

Now, I didn't see that ending coming! The production was amazing and just the right length.

So, I'm heading off to find my next listen by the H. P. Lovecraft Historical Society!

  • Dreams in the Witch House (Dramatized)

  • By: H.P. Lovecraft
  • Narrated by: H.P. Lovecraft Historical Society
  • Length: 1 hr and 14 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 22
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 19
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 19

A brilliant college student rents a room in an old house with a witch-haunted past. His obscure studies consume his mind as strange nighttime noises drive him to despair, and terrifying nightmares become waking visions. Is he going mad, or have his dreams somehow crossed over into reality? 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great production!

  • By R Neustel on 11-08-18

Great production!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

This is a fine dramatization of the H. P. Lovecraft story "Dreams in the Witch House." This story has a message - beware whom you give power to in your life.

Now, I'm off to find my next listen by the H. P. Lovecraft Historical Society!

  • The Haunter of the Dark (Dramatized)

  • By: H.P. Lovecraft
  • Narrated by: H.P. Lovecraft Historical Society
  • Length: 1 hr and 16 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 24
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 23
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 23

For decades, an old Providence church has stood empty, silently looming in the city's skyline. As a young writer looks into the history of the abandoned church - and the cult that once resided there - an ancient horror stirs. Will he be able finally to solve a mystery shrouded in darkness, or has he merely paved the way to become its next victim?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazing!

  • By R Neustel on 11-08-18

Amazing!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

This is an amazing production - the dramatization is "on the edge of your seat" worthy!!

So, I'm off to find my next listen by the H. P. Lovecraft Historical Society!

  • At the Mountains of Madness

  • By: H.P. Lovecraft
  • Narrated by: H.P. Lovecraft Historical Society
  • Length: 1 hr and 15 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 26
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 26
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 26

H.P. Lovecraft's classic tale of a polar expedition meeting unspeakable horrors is brought to life in the style of a 1930s radio drama, featuring a large cast of actors, thrilling sound effects, and original music. 

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Another great listen, however

  • By Thyrus on 11-15-18

Brilliant production!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

Awesome dramatized production of "At the Mountains of Madness."

I'm off to find more productions by the H. P. Lovecraft Historical Society!

  • Shadow of the Wendigo

  • By: Dale T. Phillips
  • Narrated by: Philip Hoffman
  • Length: 4 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6

In the snowy Canadian wilderness, a terrifying legend springs to life, sparking a series of gruesome crimes. Government agent Sean Laporte is sent to investigate and must contend with an obsessive, resourceful foe, a hostile environment, and an elusive search for the truth. He is soon pulled between worlds of myth and madness, a present haunted by the past, and a primitive world of mystery and power.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Thoughtful ending.

  • By DabOfDarkness on 01-03-15

Absolutely Perfect!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-18

I love, love, love this book! All the relationships worked, and the ending was absolutely perfect, in my very humble opinion.

I was very happy with the narration! Mr Hoffman has a pleasant voice that's very easy to listen to, and I plan to check out any other books he's narrated.

  • If There Be Dragons

  • By: Kay Hooper
  • Narrated by: Deanna Hurst
  • Length: 5 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 59
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 36
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 36

In the isolated sanctuary of her Montana ranch, no one could hurt Brooke Kennedy, whose gift had led her to build walls of ice around her heart. One person had stormed those barricades: her friend Pepper, who embraced the world and meddled in the lives of those she loved. Now Brooke needed help, and Pepper sent troubleshooter Cody Nash to melt the barriers Brooke had raised.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • It was pleasant

  • By Rose on 05-19-09

Delightful and slightly paranormal

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-26-18

I thought this was a delightful story and only slightly paranormal in my opinion. There's a lot of love, no real suspense, only minor cursing (such as hell) and no gratuitous sex. It's just a happy story of love and reawakening of self. Also includes wolves, a cantankerous burro and a bit of self-important felines.

I enjoyed this narrator and felt her voice fit this type story. The ussual Kay Hooper might not have been as good a fit with its more serious suspense.

  • Uncommon Protector

  • Living an Extraordinary Life One Day at a Time
  • By: Shelley Shepard Gray
  • Narrated by: Nan Gurley
  • Length: 8 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 50
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45

Overwhelmed by the responsibilities of running a ranch on her own, Laurel Tracey decides to hire a convict - a man who's just scary enough to take care of squatters and just desperate enough to agree to a one-year post.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Enjoyable listening. Good narration.

  • By Amazon Customer on 06-24-18

Worth 10+ stars

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-03-18

An Uncommon Protector is one of those books that make the heart stir and the characters to stay with you way after you quit listening. Even though I thought the difficulty in the book was taken care of somewhat anticlimatically, and I wondered what became of the step-siblings after all the trouble they caused, for me that wasn't enough to take even a star off.

This book is filled with emotion, and there are few narrators that can make you feel every emotion as this narrator. I didn't realize this is the second book in this series about a group of soldiers that were together in a Civil War pow camp on an island in Lake Erie. I'm desperately hoping I will find Nan Gurley narrates that one also!

  • The Cost of Betrayal

  • Three Romantic Suspense Novellas
  • By: Dee Henderson, Dani Pettrey, Lynette Eason
  • Narrated by: Susan Bennett
  • Length: 10 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 108
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 97
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 97

This bundle includes three romantic suspense novels: Betrayal, Deadly Isle, and Code of Ethics

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Novellas from some of my favorite authors

  • By Joy B Keller on 09-23-18

Inspiring trio

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-02-18

I couldn't find anything I didn't love about this trio of romantic suspense novellas. Each book has an underlying component of betrayal causing pain to the recipient. The books are clean with no foul language or sex.

The narrator is a pleasure to listen!

  • The Wild Inside

  • A Novel of Suspense
  • By: Christine Carbo
  • Narrated by: R. C. Bray
  • Length: 13 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,686
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,453
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,446

For fans of Louise Penny, C. J. Box, and Nevada Barr comes a haunting crime novel set in Glacier National Park, where one man finds himself on a collision course with the dark heart of the wild and the even darker heart of human nature.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Mystery, Thriller, Suspense & The Great Outdoors

  • By Sara on 09-18-15

Superb police procedural set in Glacier Nat'nl Pk

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-15-18

I found this book to be beautifully written with descriptions of the natural beauty of Glacier National Park juxtaposed with descriptions of the brutality of what humans will do to one another and the unfeeling, impartiality of nature.

Mr. Bray's narration, as always, is brilliant.