LISTENER

Marcie Rodriguez

Dallas, Texas
  • 7
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 76
  • ratings
  • Dimension of Miracles

  • By: Robert Sheckley
  • Narrated by: John Hodgman
  • Length: 5 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,208
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,111
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,112

Dimension of Miracles is a satirical science fiction novel first published by Dell in 1968. It's about Tom Carmody, a New Yorker who, thanks to a computer error, wins the main prize in the Intergalactic Sweepstakes. Tom claims his prize before the error is discovered and is allowed to keep it. However, since Tom is a human from Earth without galactic status and no space traveling experience, he has no homing instinct that can guide him back to Earth once his odyssey begins - and the galactic lottery organizers cannot transport him home.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Easily The Best Title I've Encountered on Audible

  • By Niels J. Rasmussen on 07-02-13

So fantastic

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-23-16

This is the second time I have listened to Dimension of Miracles. John Hodgman does a fantastic job, he is perfect reading this story that while reminiscent of Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, it predates Douglas Adams story. So good. Thank you Neil Gaiman. This is a five star audiobook all the way around.

  • Promise of Magic

  • House of Xannon, Book 3
  • By: Melinda VanLone
  • Narrated by: Sonja Field
  • Length: 6 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 2

It's been several months since an attack on Tarian Xannon started a chain of events that resulted in her mother's murder and her current pregnancy. Her body is an unwieldy mass gestating what feels like an alien. And the intense magical power already emanating from her unborn daughter makes Tarian more uneasy than she'd ever admit.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Action Packed

  • By Marcie Rodriguez on 08-12-15

Action Packed

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-12-15

The pacing is excellent, non-stop action. The reader does a great job. Can't wait to listen to the continuing saga of the Xannon family.

  • The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

  • The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing
  • By: Marie Kondo
  • Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
  • Length: 4 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 21,576
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18,627
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18,402

Despite constant efforts to declutter your home, do papers still accumulate like snowdrifts and clothes pile up like a tangled mess of noodles?Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes tidying to a whole new level, promising that if you properly simplify and organize your home once, you'll never have to do it again. Most methods advocate a room-by-room or little-by-little approach, which doom you to pick away at your piles of stuff forever.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I both love and hate this life changing book

  • By Rebecca on 02-22-15

Just Ok.

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-11-15

A lot of this is common sense. But it does encourage you to clean your house, and to recognize crap that you don't need.

  • Peter and the Starcatchers

  • The Starcatchers, Book 1
  • By: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson
  • Narrated by: Jim Dale
  • Length: 8 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,870
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,298
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,293

In an evocative and fast-paced adventure on the high seas and on a faraway island an orphan boy named Peter and his mysterious new friend, Molly, overcome bands of pirates and thieves in their quest to keep a fantastical secret safe and save the world from evil.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A fast paced frolic on the high seas!

  • By Deborah on 12-19-08

Would listen to anything read by Jim Dale.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-06-15

Fabulous narrator. The story is entertaining and an interesting take on Peter Pan. Jim Dale makes it worth listening to.

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,327
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,826
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,824

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

Crazy. Just like the rest of us.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-18-15

The audiobook is read by the author. And yep, I am pretty sure she is crazy. Just like the rest of us. The thing that stands out most from having listened to the book is that Jenny Lawson pronounces words ending in "-ing" as a "k". So... "the think that stands out most from havink listened..." you get the idea. Other than that, pretty funny, kind of weird, a good memoir for the socially awkward, introverted and folks sufferin(k) from GAD (General Anxiety Disorder). You. Are. Not. Alone.

  • Stronger Than Magic

  • House of Xannon Book One, Volume 1
  • By: Melinda VanLone
  • Narrated by: Sonja Field
  • Length: 11 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6

Tarian Xannon fights demons like the rest of us. This time, the demon just happens to be real. When Tarian Xannon is blindsided by a demon-like creature who steals her blood it launches a chain of events that unravels her life. She has no idea who he is or why he attacked, but it becomes increasingly clear that he'll stop at nothing to steal her power, and her life. And somewhere in the shadows, another enemy plans to take advantage of the situation. Tarian works to unravel the plot, while trying to save her family, her life, and her magic. But will her own power be enough? Or are some things Stronger than Magic?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Give it a listen!

  • By Marcie Rodriguez on 06-06-14

Give it a listen!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-06-14

The pacing was excellent, the reader did a fantastic job, there were times when I was listening and so enthralled that I was totally on auto pilot (which was a little scary... ;)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Eric

  • Discworld #9
  • By: Terry Pratchett
  • Narrated by: Stephen Briggs
  • Length: 3 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,271
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 815
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 822

From Terry Pratchett's famed Discworld series. 14-year-old Eric is the first ever demonology hacker. Fortunately, he doesn't succeed in raising any devils, but he does raise Rincewind (the most incompetent wizard in the universe) and the Luggage (the world's most dangerous travel accessory).

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Good things in small packages.

  • By Glen Phipps on 12-12-03

Short but fantastic.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-06-11

I love to listen and wonder what he is going to parody next! I particularly liked the Helen of Troy and Trojan war references. Hilarious!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful