LISTENER

Ismael

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 5
  • ratings
  • Master & Apprentice (Star Wars)

  • By: Claudia Gray
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Davis
  • Length: 11 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,766
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 3,505
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,496

An unexpected offer threatens the bond between Qui-Gon Jinn and Obi-Wan Kenobi as the two Jedi navigate a dangerous new planet and an uncertain future. 

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I've wanted this... sorta

  • By Amazon Customer on 04-18-19

Star Wars in every way

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-03-19

The Force is strong with this novel. Claudia Gray captures the essence of the galaxy far far away perfectly. The portrayal of Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon Jinn is spot on. The novel had everything a Star Wars story ought to have, sneaking around, lightsabers, Galactic politics, suspenseful action, and last but not least a strong female character. This is exemplified in the character of Rahara who beautifully captures the strong qualities of a woman keeping with the tradition held first by Princess Leia, her mother Queen Amidala, Ashoka Tano, Jyn Erzo and countless others across the stars. The story had me hooked. I read a hundred pages in one night. The story captures the essence of the Old Republic, how the “Jedi were the Guardians of Peace and Justice in the Old Republic.” This novel adds to the deep lore that is Star Wars and I personally thank the author for writing such a faithful tale in our galaxy far far away.

The performance was stupendous. Star Wars novels are always full of blaster fire, lightsabers igniting, star fighters whizzing by. It is just so much better with Audible. This novel is a must for any fan of the Prequel Trilogy, and the history of Obi-Wan Kenobi.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Lost World

  • By: Michael Crichton
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 15 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,443
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,623
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,630

It is now six years since the secret disaster at Jurassic Park, six years since the extraordinary dream of science and imagination came to a crashing end - the dinosaurs destroyed, the park dismantled, the island indefinitely closed to the public. But there are rumors that something has survived.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Dodgson! We've got Dodgson here...

  • By Cage on 05-17-12

Not Crichton’s best, but still very entertaining.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-27-18

The novel is an interesting follow up to Jurassic Park. This time the story follows Ian Malcom on a dangerous mission to rescue Richard Levine, an eccentric paleontologist trying to prove the existence of a Lost World.

The novel could have explained Sorna’s origin better, Malcom did not even mention the events of the first book at all which lead to some continuity problems. The idea of Biosyn being the antagonist again is very good. Lewis Dodson serves well as the novel’s primary antagonist, an agent of Biosyn.

Sarah Harding’s character has more to do in the novel than the film. She is a strong female lead that evens out the roster of the book’s protagonist. Malcom, and Levine’s theories are put to the test.

This time the novel’s theme seems to be survival, adaptation, and Evolution as opposed to the morality of genetic power from the first novel. The theme is an intriguing theme.

Overall the novel was a fun read, not Crichton’s best, but still very enjoyable. I would give this novel an 8.5/10.

Plot: 7/10
Characters: 9/10
Dinosaurs: 8.5/10
Theme: 9/10
Pacing: 8/10

I would recommend this book to any Jurassic Park fan wanting to delve into the lore of Crichton’s writing. I also recommend this novel to any fan of Crichton’s novels.

  • Star Wars: Ahsoka

  • By: E. K. Johnston
  • Narrated by: Ashley Eckstein
  • Length: 7 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11,615
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,771
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,757

Fans have long wondered what happened to Ahsoka after she left the Jedi Order near the end of the Clone Wars and before she reappeared as the mysterious Rebel operative Fulcrum in Rebels. Finally her story will begin to be told. Following her experiences with the Jedi and the devastation of Order 66, Ahsoka is unsure she can be part of a larger whole ever again. But her desire to fight the evils of the Empire and protect those who need it will lead her right to Bail Organa - and the Rebel Alliance.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • The highs were high! But the lows, very low.

  • By K Michael on 11-03-16

Great Novel

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-07-17

Ahsoka is an excellent novel for Star Wars fans who want to get into the expanded universe. Fans of The Clone Wars, and Rebels will find this a nice little bridge between the two. Though I expected Ahsoka to be fighting Clones, her old “allies” it was still an interesting tale of a fallen Jedi finding a new purpose in a changing galaxy. I recommend this book to all Hardcore Star Wars fans, especially teen readers.

  • Battlefront II

  • Inferno Squad (Star Wars)
  • By: Christie Golden
  • Narrated by: Janina Gavankar
  • Length: 10 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,629
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,331
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,320

After the humiliating theft of the Death Star plans and the resulting destruction of the battle station, the Empire is on the defensive. In response to this stunning defeat, the Imperial Navy has authorized the formation of an elite team of soldiers, known as Inferno Squad. Their mission: infiltrate and eliminate the remnants of Saw Gerrera's Partisans. Following the death of their leader, the Partisans have carried on his extremist legacy, determined to thwart the Empire - no matter what the cost.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Inferno Squad Squandered

  • By Michael Thomas Lamia on 08-13-17

Fantastic

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-19-17

The book is an excellent set up for the upcoming Battlefront II game. The novel chronicles how Inferno Squad started and is a great novel full of twists and colorful language. The fact that the reader is the actress that plays Iden Versio in the upcoming game is icing on the cake. The novel has a nice mystery fans of The Clone Wars might unravel. I would recommend this novel to all diehard Star Wars fans, and anyone wanting to get into the expanded universe who has seen all the films.

  • Tarkin: Star Wars

  • By: James Luceno
  • Narrated by: Euan Morton
  • Length: 9 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,765
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,309
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,298

He’s the scion of an honorable and revered family. A dedicated soldier and distinguished legislator. Loyal proponent of the Republic and trusted ally of the Jedi Order. Groomed by the ruthless politician and Sith Lord who would be Emperor, Governor Wilhuff Tarkin rises through the Imperial ranks, enforcing his authority ever more mercilessly…. and zealously pursuing his destiny as the architect of absolute dominion.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Solid, but not earth-shattering

  • By kalei on 11-20-14

A Must Read for All Star Wars Fans!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-19-17

The novel is a fantastic glimpse into the mind of Grand Moff Wilhuff Tarkin. The whole novel is a wild goose chase across the galaxy. Tarkin's past reveals a man who not only survived on the savage world of Eriadu, he thrived! A man who clawed his way to power, finding favor with the Emperor. The narrator is absolutely brilliant, the sound effects, and voice alterations really put you in the setting. I would recommend this novel to all hardcore Star Wars fans, and those trying to learn more about the expanded universe. Five stars all around, I really wish I could give it more.