LISTENER

Amazon Customer

  • 6
  • reviews
  • 2
  • helpful votes
  • 52
  • ratings
  • Six Wakes

  • By: Mur Lafferty
  • Narrated by: Mur Lafferty
  • Length: 9 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 787
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 724
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 725

It was not common to awaken in a cloning vat streaked with drying blood. At least Maria Arena had never experienced it. She had no memory of how she died. That was also new; before, when she had awakened as a new clone, her first memory was of how she died. Maria's vat was in the front of six vats, each one holding the clone of a crew member of the starship Dormire, each clone waiting for its previous incarnation to die so it could awaken. And Maria wasn't the only one to die recently....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • excellent story and characters

  • By Blaise Freeman on 02-26-17

Decent 'Whodunit' in an Interesting Universe

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-26-19

This was pretty good. The way society adapts to cloning wasn't something I'd seen before. The story itself was good. I probably should have figured out more of the big reveal sooner, and I have some questions about the denouement/'epilogue' but I would probably read /hear another Lafferty book and I would definitely want another installment of this story.

One technical note: It seems like there were a bunch of small bits that were re-recorded and cut in.

  • Beastie Boys Book

  • By: Michael Diamond, Adam Horovitz
  • Narrated by: Michael Diamond, Adam Horovitz, various
  • Length: 12 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 3,150
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2,923
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 2,907

A panoramic experience that tells the story of Beastie Boys, an audiobook as unique as the band itself. Formed as a New York City hardcore band in 1981, Beastie Boys struck an unlikely path to global hip hop superstardom. Here is their story, told for the first time in the words of the band. Adam “ADROCK” Horovitz and Michael “Mike D” Diamond offer revealing and very funny accounts of their transition from teenage punks to budding rappers. For more than 30 years, this band has had an inescapable and indelible influence on popular culture.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • License to Listen - The Illest Communication

  • By J. Combs on 12-12-18

Unique approach to a fascinating topic

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-28-18

As if the material weren't interesting enough, Beastie Boys pulled out all the stops in its delivery. Multiple (famous, sometimes surprising) narrators read essays by or about the band.

  • Artificial Condition

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,965
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,812
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,807

It has a dark past - one in which a number of humans were killed. A past that caused it to christen itself "Murderbot." But it has only vague memories of the massacre that spawned that title, and it wants to know more. Teaming up with a Research Transport vessel named ART (you don't want to know what the "A" stands for), Murderbot heads to the mining facility where it went rogue.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Awesome but painfully short.

  • By Brian Barry on 09-05-18

Nice, accessible SF

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-15-18

This is a good sequel, and I hope the author continues the story of this particular character, while possibly exploring other elements of what feels like a fully-conceived universe. I especially appreciate the end of this book and I look forward to more.

(Note to staff: this recording includes the CD tags at the end)

  • All Systems Red

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,269
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,888
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,888

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I LOVE MURDERBOT

  • By Michael - Audible Editor on 11-06-17

Quick and Interesting

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-25-18

This was an interesting time. It's a super hard SF or anything, but it doesn't need to be. The level of pathos for the secondary characters makes perfect sense given the narrator's situation.

It's also a discussion point in the ongoing debate about the ethics of SPEW.

  • Semiosis

  • A Novel
  • By: Sue Burke
  • Narrated by: Caitlin Davies, Daniel Thomas May
  • Length: 14 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 769
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 724
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 726

Forced to land on a planet they aren't prepared for, human colonists rely on their limited resources to survive. The planet provides a lush but inexplicable landscape - trees offer edible, addictive fruit one day and poison the next, while the ruins of an alien race are found entwined in the roots of a strange plant. Conflicts between generations arise as they struggle to understand one another and grapple with an unknowable alien intellect.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Weird. But good. But weird.

  • By Lilyn G. on 03-20-18

Thoroughly Interesting and Satisfying

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-14-18

This was an excellent experience. The changing narration supported a slightly-atypical structure in a believable story about ecology, evolution, society.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Corsair

  • By: James L. Cambias
  • Narrated by: Victor Bevine
  • Length: 8 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 585
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 530
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 530

In the early 2020s, two young, genius computer hackers, Elizabeth Santiago and David Schwartz, meet at MIT, where Schwartz is sneaking into classes, and have a brief affair. David is amoral and out for himself and soon disappears. Elizabeth dreams of technology and space travel and takes a military job after graduating.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Addictive listen full of action/suspense and humor

  • By TenaciousReader on 05-21-15

Better than I expected

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-01-15

I was disappointed when it ended. There's not much more to say. I'll seek this author again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful