LISTENER

Kindle Customer

Hightstown, NJ United States
  • 3
  • reviews
  • 12
  • helpful votes
  • 3
  • ratings
  • The Mitford Murders

  • By: Jessica Fellowes
  • Narrated by: Rachel Atkins
  • Length: 11 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 160
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 147
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 150

Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nursemaid, chaperone, and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially 16-year-old Nancy, an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories. But then a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, and Louisa and Nancy find themselves entangled in the crimes of a murderer who will do anything to hide their secret....

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Expected much, very disappointed

  • By Kindle Customer on 02-02-18

Expected much, very disappointed

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-02-18

Would you try another book from Jessica Fellowes and/or Rachel Atkins?

No.

What could Jessica Fellowes have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Not made it so silly.

Which scene was your favorite?

None

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Mitford Murders?

I would have scrapped it and given the idea to a better writer.

Any additional comments?

I was so excited to read/listen to a mystery story incorporating the Mitford family, especially Nancy Mitford, who wrote two of my favorite books (Love in a Cold Climate and The Pursuit of Love). I found the narrator to be very good, but the story itself was, not to put too fine a point on it, boring. I skipped from chapter 17 (short chapters) to the end, but fell asleep even while listening to the last chapter! (Good thing I wasn't driving.) Very disappointed.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • The Scent of Secrets

  • By: Jane Thynne
  • Narrated by: Julie Teal
  • Length: 13 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 43
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 42

Set in Europe in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A cozy WW2 spy story

  • By Katherine on 02-15-16

This was a great [modern] historical novel

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-10-17

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, I already have. The story is compelling and I learned so much about the 3rd Reich, history that I think it is important to know.

Who was your favorite character and why?

The main character, Clara Vine. She is very relatable, and I like her.

What does Julie Teal bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Julie Teal made the book come alive for me. I'm sure I would have liked the book, had I read it, but her narration gave it more depth.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No. I needed to process the historical material, which wasn't boring at all, but learning more than I already knew about the 3rd Reich, especially the role of women, was a lot to take in without taking time to think about it. I would take a break from listening sometimes to look up the historical characters that were in the book, and some of the places and what was happening in real time. Seeing photographs of the historical characters, and reading their biographies in Wikipedia added even greater depth (and horror) to the book.

Any additional comments?

I actually skipped the last third of the book, finishing up with the last chapter. When I read a book, I can skim, but you cannot skim a recorded book. The action of the book got too tense for me, and I feared so for some of the characters that I couldn't bear to hear what might have happened to them in Nazi Germany. I contemplated buying the book on Kindle and skimming those chapters, but the book, even in Kindle is expensive, esp. since I'd already purchased it from Audible, so I guess I'll never know what happened to those characters - and that's OK with me. This is not to say that I shan't buy more books in this series (and the series is not chronological, although I would try to read them that way) - I probably will.

  • Dying in the Wool

  • A Kate Shackleton Mystery, Book 1
  • By: Frances Brody
  • Narrated by: Nicola Barber
  • Length: 10 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 66
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 58
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 58

Bridgestead is a peaceful spot: a babbling brook, rolling hills, and a working mill at its heart. Pretty and remote, nothing exceptional happens...until the day that Master of the Mill Joshua Braithwaite goes missing under dramatic circumstances, never to be heard of again. Now Joshua's daughter is getting married and wants to make one last attempt at finding her father. Kate Shackleton has always loved solving puzzles. So who better to get to the bottom of Joshua's mysterious disappearance?

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Fluff & Nonsense

  • By Sara on 01-03-15

This book dragged.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-09-16

The premise was good. The setting was good. The info about satanic mills was educational. The characters were so so. And oh! I thought the story would never end! I skipped from chapter 7 to 4 from the end, and still it seemed too long. The reader was ok, though. I shan't be reading/listening to any more by this author. Sorry to be so negative!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful