LISTENER

Patrick Jennings

  • 34
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 35
  • ratings
  • Hornet Flight

  • By: Ken Follett
  • Narrated by: John Lee
  • Length: 14 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,220
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,477
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,480

It's June 1941, and the low point of the war. England throws wave after wave of RAF bombers across the Channel, but somehow the Luftwaffe is able to shoot them down at will. The skies, indeed, the war itself seem to belong to Hitler.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • An Outstanding Spy Novel

  • By C. McCoy on 03-13-05

Great story of Britain in early WW2

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-06-18

This story started a little slow trying to understand the characters and their relationship to each other. However, the pace grew more and more intense as the novel moved to a great ending.

  • The Coming Storm

  • By: Michael Lewis
  • Narrated by: Michael Lewis
  • Length: 2 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,048
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11,851
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11,810

Tornadoes, cyclones, tsunamis… Weather can be deadly – especially when it strikes without warning. Millions of Americans could soon find themselves at the mercy of violent weather if the public data behind lifesaving storm alerts gets privatized for personal gain. In his first Audible Original feature, New York Times best-selling author and journalist Michael Lewis delivers hard-hitting research on not-so-random weather data – and how Washington plans to release it. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Why you shouldn't ignore the weather forecast

  • By Elisabeth Carey on 09-10-18

Great insight regarding data and weather

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-28-18

Really appreciated the insight into the amount of data collected, especially as it pertains to weather and human behavior/ response to storm information. Also, the Department of Commerce is actually not so much about business but is the main location of most of the data collected.

  • The Christmas Train

  • By: David Baldacci
  • Narrated by: Tim Matheson
  • Length: 7 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,530
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,097
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,102

Disillusioned journalist Tom Langdon must get from Washington to L.A. in time for Christmas. Forced to take the train across the country because of a slight "misunderstanding" at airport security, he begins a journey of self-discovery and rude awakenings, mysterious goings-on and thrilling adventures, screwball escapades and holiday magic.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • On A Whim For Fun

  • By Patti on 09-25-07

Very enjoyable story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-22-18

A great story for the holiday season. Surprising ending. The additional short story was very meaningful.

  • A History of the World in 6 Glasses

  • By: Tom Standage
  • Narrated by: Sean Runnette
  • Length: 7 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3,188
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 2,784
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,798

Throughout human history, certain drinks have done much more than just quench thirst. As Tom Standage relates with authority and charm, six of them have had a surprisingly pervasive influence on the course of history, becoming the defining drink during a pivotal historical period. A History of the World in 6 Glasses tells the story of humanity from the Stone Age to the 21st century through the lens of beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea, and cola.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fun and Informative

  • By Stoker on 09-09-11

Fantastic explanation of six different drinjs

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-13-18

Really gained some great understanding of impact of the six different drinks that the author details.

  • Elephant Company

  • The Inspiring Story of an Unlikely Hero and the Animals Who Helped Him Save Lives in World War II
  • By: Vicki Constantine Croke
  • Narrated by: Simon Prebble
  • Length: 9 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,626
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,491
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,492

At the onset of World War II, Williams formed Elephant Company and was instrumental in defeating the Japanese in Burma and saving refugees, including on his own "Hannibal Trek." Billy Williams became a media sensation during the war, telling reporters that the elephants did more for him than he was ever able to do for them, but his story has since been forgotten.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Story of Friendship, Loyalty, and Bravery

  • By Patrick on 04-15-15

Story of another remarkable person I never heard o

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-24-18

The more books like this I read, the more I realize that history is full of remarkable people who don't get a lot of notice. Elephant Company is about "Elephant Bill" who embaces elephants and provides tremendous insight into their personalities. His work with elephants in Burma, (now Myanmar) during the time leading up to and including WW2 is told in epic fashion. I highly recommend this book.

  • Saturn Run

  • By: John Sandford Ctein
  • Narrated by: Eric Conger
  • Length: 16 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,768
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,573
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,565

The year is 2066. A Caltech intern inadvertently notices an anomaly from a space telescope - something is approaching Saturn and decelerating. Space objects don't decelerate. Spaceships do. A flurry of top-level government meetings produces the inescapable conclusion: Whatever built that ship is at least one hundred years ahead in hard and soft technology, and whoever can get their hands on it exclusively and bring it back will have an advantage so large, no other nation can compete.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Best Sci-Fi Book in a While!

  • By Ted on 05-29-17

Fantastic near-term science fiction

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-13-18

Enjoyed the many plot turns in this story that takes place roughly 50 years from now.

  • Adiamante

  • By: L. E. Modesitt Jr.
  • Narrated by: Eric Michael Summerer
  • Length: 9 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 16
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 16
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 16

Earth, the peaceful capital of a long-fallen interstellar empire, is confronted by deadly violence when the warships of a former colony attack, and it is up to planetary coordinator Ecktor deJanes to eliminate the menace without violating Earth's non-aggression principles.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Adiamante is a very fascinating story.

  • By Steve Nicholas on 07-10-18

Incredible plot unraveling

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-27-18

This story started very slowly and it was unclear where it was going. At least one early chapter had a poem-like sound to it. However, I am very glad that I stayed with this story. It is a better than average comment on human condition. And, the story was told with virtually no swearing and no sex. I highly recommend it!!

  • First Man

  • The Life of Neil A. Armstrong
  • By: James R. Hansen
  • Narrated by: Jeremy Bobb
  • Length: 16 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 107
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 102
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 101

When Apollo 11 touched down on the Moon’s surface in 1969, the first man on the Moon became a legend. In First Man, author James R. Hansen explores the life of Neil Armstrong. Based on over 50 hours of interviews with the intensely private Armstrong, who also gave Hansen exclusive access to private documents and family sources, this "magnificent panorama of the second half of the American twentieth century" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) is an unparalleled biography of an American icon.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Not really 'unabridged'

  • By A Reader on 06-06-18

Insightful Biography

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-12-18

Thought this was going to be a dry recital of facts about a very interesting person. However, once I got into this book it was hard to put down. Very much appreciate the writing and telling of this book. Also, it is ended in a very wonderful way!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • All Systems Red

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,702
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,438
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,439

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I LOVE MURDERBOT

  • By Michael - Audible Editor on 11-06-17

A quick sci-fi read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-26-18

A fine story that has a fast action plot with a solid twist for an ending.

  • The Triumph of Christianity

  • How a Forbidden Religion Swept the World
  • By: Bart D. Ehrman
  • Narrated by: George Newbern, Bart D. Ehrman
  • Length: 10 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 464
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 423
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 420

Christianity didn't have to become the dominant religion in the West. It easily could have remained a sect of Judaism fated to have the historical importance of the Sadducees or the Essenes. In The Triumph of Christianity, Bart Ehrman, a master explainer of Christian history, texts, and traditions, shows how a religion whose first believers were 20 or so illiterate day laborers in a remote part of the empire became the official religion of Rome, converting some 30 million people in just four centuries.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another Piece of the Jesus Puzzle

  • By A Mom on 04-13-18

Great historical insight.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-09-18

This book provides terrific insight into how and why Christianity proliferated during the time after Jesus died and was resurrected.