LISTENER

Joe

SANDY, UT, United States
  • 32
  • reviews
  • 23
  • helpful votes
  • 33
  • ratings
  • The Time Traveler's Wife

  • By: Audrey Niffenegger
  • Narrated by: Fred Berman, Phoebe Strole
  • Length: 17 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 9,160
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,141
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,172

Clare and Henry have known each other since Clare was six and Henry was 36. They were married when Clare was 23 and Henry was 31. Impossible but true, because Henry is one of the first people diagnosed with Chrono-Displacement Disorder: periodically his genetic clock resets and he finds himself misplaced in time, pulled to moments of emotional gravity from his life, past and future. His disappearances are spontaneous, his experiences unpredictable, alternately harrowing and amusing.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Forget the Movie!

  • By Heather Feuerhelm on 03-31-12

Good story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-13-19

Liked it a lot. Readers were both enjoyable to listen to. I am glad I got it.

  • 1922

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Craig Wasson
  • Length: 5 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 603
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 554
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 553

The chilling novella featured in Stephen King's New York Times best-selling short story collection Full Dark, No Stars - soon to be a Netflix original film starring Thomas Jane and Molly Parker. A violence awakens inside a man when his wife proposes selling off the family homestead, setting in motion a grisly train of murder and madness.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great story and narration

  • By indyemmett on 11-13-17

A great listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-17-19

After finishing listening to "11-22-63", I looked for another Stephen King audio book and came across this one. I purchased it, using one of my credits, before I realized that I already owned it. It is included as part of the collection in "Full Dark No Stars ". I returned it for a refund of my credit but wanted to rate it anyway. I like Craig Wasson's style, and enjoyed this particular selection. As with most of the things written by this author, it is well worth the time.

  • 11-22-63

  • A Novel
  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Craig Wasson
  • Length: 30 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 49,860
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45,330
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45,239

On November 22, 1963, three shots rang out in Dallas, President Kennedy died, and the world changed. What if you could change it back? In this brilliantly conceived tour de force, Stephen King - who has absorbed the social, political, and popular culture of his generation more imaginatively and thoroughly than any other writer - takes listeners on an incredible journey into the past and the possibility of altering it.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • What book did others hear?

  • By Tenizmom on 09-20-12

Well Done

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-17-19

I first heard the narrator's (Craig Wasson), narrative of "Fair Extensions", that is another Stephen King short story. I liked his style. I was pleased to discover he was the narrator of this selection, and this was one of the factors I considered before purchasing this selection. I enjoyed this audio book a lot and looked forward to each listening session. Though this is a work of fiction, it made me ponder about a lot of things. I was old enough to remember the events depicted here and appreciate the research the author that was accomplished to make a novel of this type possible. The story centers around an individual being able to go back in time and changing the outcome of the events associated with the assassination of President Kennedy on 11/22/1963.
It has a high recommendation from me.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Reckless Abandon

  • Stone Barrington, Book 10
  • By: Stuart Woods
  • Narrated by: Tony Roberts
  • Length: 8 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 195
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 175
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 174

Cop-turned-lawyer Stone Barrington tracks a mobster hiding deep within the witness protection program in this new thriller in the New York Times best-selling series - with a little help from beautiful Florida police chief Holly Barker.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Holly Barker Story From the "Elaine's Years"

  • By Paul Sumner on 11-13-16

Not The Best

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-17-18

Story line was OK, but some of the dialogue was a little to corny for me. Not sure if it was the way it was written or the manner in which it was read. I also did not care for the narrator's portrayal of the different character voices. I don't think I will pursue this series further. It was a bit of a struggle to finish.

  • The Bone Farm

  • A Jane Hawk Case File
  • By: Dean Koontz
  • Narrated by: Elisabeth Rodgers, James Anderson Foster
  • Length: 2 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,635
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,474
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,468

An audio original novella featuring bestselling author Dean Koontz’s compelling new heroine, Jane Hawk. From the case files of the former FBI agent before she became the nation’s most wanted fugitive - The Bone Farm details a desperate man-hunt for a serial killer before he murders again.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Gritty/Realistic

  • By QueenEve on 05-19-18

Good story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-13-18

Was worth the price. I enjoy listening to Elizabeth Rodgers, but the male narrator is not among my favorites.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Lucifer's Hammer

  • By: Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle
  • Narrated by: Marc Vietor
  • Length: 24 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,104
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,506
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 4,525

The gigantic comet had slammed into Earth, forging earthquakes a thousand times too powerful to measure on the Richter scale, tidal waves thousands of feet high. Cities were turned into oceans; oceans turned into steam. It was the beginning of a new Ice Age and the end of civilization. But for the terrified men and women chance had saved, it was also the dawn of a new struggle for survival--a struggle more dangerous and challenging than any they had ever known....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Very enjoyable

  • By J. Noonan on 03-16-10

Very Good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-26-18

I liked the narration very much. His voice was pleasant and easy to listen to. I read the novel when it was first published in the mid 70's and I appreciate that it was released as an audio book, I really enjoyed revisiting this book in audio format. I pretty much liked everything about this selection

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Drowning Ruth

  • Five Days to Execution, and Other Dispatches From the Wrongly Convicted
  • By: Christina Schwarz
  • Narrated by: Blair Brown
  • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 838
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 326
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 323

Deftly written and emotionally powerful, Drowning Ruth is a stunning portrait of the ties that bind sisters together and the forces that tear them apart, of the dangers of keeping secrets and the explosive repercussions when they are exposed. A mesmerizing and achingly beautiful debut.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Drowning Ruth

  • By Steven on 01-12-05

Not easy to follow

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-25-18

Narration was great, but I struggled keeping the threads of the story line straight. This selection was not my cup of tea.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Outsider

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Will Patton
  • Length: 18 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36,575
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 33,493
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 33,352

An 11-year-old boy's violated corpse is found in a town park. Eyewitnesses and fingerprints point unmistakably to one of Flint City's most popular citizens. He is Terry Maitland, Little League coach, English teacher, husband, and father of two girls. Detective Ralph Anderson, whose son Maitland once coached, orders a quick and very public arrest. Maitland has an alibi, but Anderson and the district attorney soon add DNA evidence to go with the fingerprints and witnesses. Their case seems ironclad.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • I don’t understand why everybody likes this book so much

  • By Erin on 01-05-19

Great Read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-05-18

Narration was great, story line didn't stall and begin to drag. I enjoyed this selection very much and was sorry when it came to the end.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • The Woman in the Window

  • A Novel
  • By: A. J. Finn
  • Narrated by: Ann Marie Lee
  • Length: 13 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 20,186
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 18,569
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 18,514

Anna Fox lives alone - a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times...and spying on her neighbors. Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble. And its shocking secrets are laid bare.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • STAY AWAY!!!

  • By Susan Olson on 06-02-18

Didn't care for narration style

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-25-18

Story line was OK. Narrator was good, but didn't like the style used to read this audio book.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • All Systems Red

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,990
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,632
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,631

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I just wish all four stories were one book...

  • By Garrett Stone on 11-05-18

Wasn't for me

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-22-18

Didn't care for it. Narration was OK, just was not the sort of thing I like

0 of 1 people found this review helpful