LISTENER

J. Chronowski

  • 12
  • reviews
  • 14
  • helpful votes
  • 71
  • ratings
  • Russian Roulette

  • By: David Corn, Michael Isikoff
  • Narrated by: Peter Ganim
  • Length: 12 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,598
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,327
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,314

The incredible, harrowing account of how American democracy was hacked by Moscow as part of a covert operation to influence the US election and help Donald Trump gain the presidency.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • It's a sleeper with critically important info

  • By luvdata on 05-07-18

My brain grew two sizes just to fit all the Russian names

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-25-18

Really fascinating investigative journalism . I like that Corn and Isikoff give you ‘paper’ trails of how they came to these conclusions and who connected with who and when. Very helpful to look up and follow the story later in other sources.

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,181
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,695
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,692

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

Jenny you are an acquired taste

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-24-17

And I am so very sorry about your dog becoming a zombie. That is so hard to see when it is someone you loved so much.

  • A Colony in a Nation

  • By: Chris Hayes
  • Narrated by: Chris Hayes
  • Length: 5 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,110
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,016
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,009

Emmy Award-winning news anchor and New York Times best-selling author Chris Hayes argues that there are really two Americas: a Colony and a Nation. America likes to tell itself that it inhabits a postracial world, but nearly every empirical measure - wealth, unemployment, incarceration, school segregation - reveals that racial inequality hasn't improved since 1968.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So much to this book!

  • By Crystal Broadnax on 04-18-17

Way too short

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-30-17

It ended in what seemed like the beginning or middle of a story. This was a teaser I can't wait for more. Chris Hayes did a good job starting a dialog.

  • Sleeping Arrangements

  • By: Madeleine Wickham
  • Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren
  • Length: 8 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 257
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 152
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 152

Chloe needs a holiday. She's sick of making wedding dresses, her partner Philip has troubles at work, and the whole family wants a break. Her wealthy friend Gerard has offered the loan of his luxury villa in Spain - perfect.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • below average for wickham/kinsella

  • By Robin on 04-09-13

Not exactly the ending I would've

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-30-17

Let's just say it was typical. The ending being a bit of a downer on the note of 'dinner' - I liked it up until the end so worth a listen. Everyone may not feel the same.

  • Behind Closed Doors

  • By: B. A. Paris
  • Narrated by: Georgia Maguire
  • Length: 8 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 41,171
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 37,356
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 37,302

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth; she has charm and elegance. He's a dedicated attorney who has never lost a case; she is a flawless homemaker, a masterful gardener and cook, and dotes on her disabled younger sister. Though they are still newlyweds, they seem to have it all. You might not want to like them, but you do. You're hopelessly charmed by the ease and comfort of their home, by the graciousness of the dinner parties they throw. You’d like to get to know Grace better.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Slow start but a gripping experience

  • By Andre M. Gorelkin on 09-04-16

Wow

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-11-17

Yeah loved the twist at the end. I did not see that tiny detail going askew with such a control freak.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • I'll Give You the Sun

  • By: Jandy Nelson
  • Narrated by: Julia Whelan, Jesse Bernstein
  • Length: 12 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,212
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,917
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,915

Jude and her brother, Noah, are incredibly close twins. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude surfs and cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and divisive ways…until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as an unpredictable new mentor.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • As Bright as 1000 White Hot Suns

  • By FanB14 on 09-26-14

Poignant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-28-16

It hit all the right notes for me. You never know what anyone else is really thinking. But in the end, if the stars align, we all gaze in wonder at the same sun. Loved it. I cried when... and laughed when... and felt joy when... and when I finished the book I felt satisfaction.

  • Skinner's Rules

  • Bob Skinner, Book 1
  • By: Quintin Jardine
  • Narrated by: James Bryce
  • Length: 12 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 49
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 45
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 42

As head of Edinburgh’s CID, Detective Chief Superintendent Bob Skinner has seen it all…but even he is shocked by the savagely mutilated corpse discovered in a dark alleyway. The victim is identified as a successful young lawyer, and the motive for the brutal death remains a mystery. Then further seemingly random killings in the city begin to suggest a vicious serial killer on the rampage. But when the lawyer’s fiancée is also murdered, Skinner realises that someone is in deadly earnest.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • A good story

  • By Amazon Customer on 01-07-15

Serial Killer turned international spy?

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-26-13

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

That's what seemed to happen to this story mid way it turned into an espionage novel complete with international, political back story. It was REALLY a disappointment considering that the serial killer part started out pretty good and kind of dramatic and detailed, almost Jack the Ripper worthy. Then BOOM embassy's and briefcases.

Would you ever listen to anything by Quintin Jardine again?

Probably not

Which scene was your favorite?

the whole beginning was good until the writer switched sub-genres

What character would you cut from Skinner's Rules?

all the political figures and spys etc

Any additional comments?

not having the second half at all would have been an improvement at least it was the same story...

  • Dead City

  • By: Joe McKinney
  • Narrated by: Michael Kramer
  • Length: 7 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 314
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 267
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 263

Texas? Toast. Battered by five cataclysmic hurricanes in three weeks, the Texas Gulf Coast and half of the Lone Star State is reeling from the worst devastation in history. Thousands are dead or dying - but the worst is only beginning. Amid the wreckage, something unimaginable is happening: a deadly virus has broken out, returning the dead to life - with an insatiable hunger for human flesh. The nightmare begins...

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent, but.....

  • By Joseph on 07-06-11

Monotonal Reader

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-05-12

The reader was terrible and the story wa borig. Hard to do with a zombie story. This book never connected with me on any level. Sorry to say it was a waste of time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • No Higher Honor

  • A Memoir of My Years in Washington
  • By: Condoleezza Rice
  • Narrated by: Condoleezza Rice
  • Length: 28 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 459
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 407
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 408

A native of Birmingham, Alabama who overcame the racism of the Civil Rights era to become a brilliant academic and expert on foreign affairs, Rice distinguished herself as an advisor to George W. Bush during the 2000 presidential campaign. Once Bush was elected, she served as his chief adviser on national-security issues – a job whose duties included harmonizing the relationship between the Secretaries of State and Defense.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Facinating stories from inside Bush's White House

  • By J. Chronowski on 11-04-11

Facinating stories from inside Bush's White House

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-04-11

The stories are ones that I did not hear before and some shocked me, like the poison scare. Other stories you get to see from another point of view. While I don't always agree about decisions that were made, this book helps to understand a little of the dynamics of 'how' they were made, especially in times of stress.

The best auto-biographies are also read by the author. You can hear her tone of voice when she recollects these moments and that is an additional insight into her thoughts.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Obsession

  • An Alex Delaware Novel
  • By: Jonathan Kellerman
  • Narrated by: John Rubinstein
  • Length: 11 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 556
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 198
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 202

Tanya Bigelow was a solemn little girl when Dr. Alex Delaware successfully treated her obsessive-compulsive symptoms. Now, at 19, Patty Bigelow, Tanya's aunt and adoptive mother, has made a deathbed confession of murder and urged the young woman to seek Delaware's help.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • It's a Sad Day When...

  • By fadednotebook67 on 04-02-07

plot, character, character then psychopathy

Overall
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-28-07

More story in this then strange depraved crimes. So if you are into character development then this gives you a lot of time to get to know the main characters in this story vs. listening to details of crimes or psychological assesments of them and the person commiting them.

I think this is not for fans of forensics or psychoanalytical disection.

It reads slow.

But as always J Kellerman can still tell a story...