LISTENER

bethany

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 56
  • helpful votes
  • 18
  • ratings
  • Four Funerals and Maybe a Wedding

  • By: Rhys Bowen
  • Narrated by: Jasmine Blackborow
  • Length: 9 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,850
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,729
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,721

In the days leading up to her wedding to Darcy O'Mara, Lady Georgiana Rannoch takes on the responsibilities of a grand estate, but proving she can run a household just may be the death of her in the new Royal Spyness Mystery from the New York Times best-selling author of On Her Majesty's Frightfully Secret Service.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Overall I loved it!

  • By Dylan on 08-13-18

Love their story moving forward!!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-04-18

As a long time audible fan I was sad to hear the narrator of these had passed, she did an amazing job and is missed. The new narrator is an excellent choice and after the first chapter I was engrossed as always in these wonderful characters. Love how Georgie is maturing and growing into her own woman and really glad to see her wedding dreams unfold. This was a really interesting and unusual mystery plot also. Can't wait for another installment, please keep writing them!

  • Murder at Ashgrove House

  • Rose Simpson Mysteries, Book 1
  • By: Margaret Addison
  • Narrated by: Tracey Norman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 106
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 93
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 92

When Sir William and Lady Withers invite friends and family to a weekend house party at their country home, Ashgrove House, they are faced with the arrival of both invited and uninvited guests, the consequence of which is murder. Set in 1930, Murder at Ashgrove House is full of intrigue, clues, and red herrings, with nearly everyone having a motive for wishing the victim dead. This is a classic country house murder mystery set during the golden age of crime and will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • A real yawner

  • By notlad on 04-14-18

Delightful find! Please record rest of series!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-19-18

This was a great English country house murder mystery. Loved the descriptions of the gowns, the food, the house and gardens. Plot was good, lots of plausible motives and kept you guessing. Excited to see several books in the series-wish they were available on audible. Fans of Daisy Dalrymple and Her Royal Spyness mysteries will enjoy this.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Sheer Folly

  • A Daisy Dalrymple Mystery
  • By: Carola Dunn
  • Narrated by: Lucy Rayner
  • Length: 11 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 116
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 103
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 102

In March of 1926, Daisy Dalrymple Fletcher and her friend and collaborator, Lady Lucy Gerald, head off for several days to a stately home reputed to have the best grotto in the country. Working on a book of architectural follies, they plan to research and photograph it. Leaving her husband and young twins behind, Daisy is expecting a productive weekend at Appsworth Hall, with the only potential difficulty being keeping Lucy from offending the current owner, a manufacturer of plumbing products. Alas, it's not to be quite so simple.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Set my teeth on edge

  • By Rebuttal to your rebuttal on 01-20-18

Nice to have the delightful Lucy and Gerald included!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-10-18

Excellent characters, strong mystery, very well read. One of my favorites in the series, always love to have Lucy and Gerald featured. This narrator is the quintessential Daisy!

  • On Her Majesty's Frightfully Secret Service

  • A Royal Spyness Mystery, Book 11
  • By: Rhys Bowen
  • Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren
  • Length: 9 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,692
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2,518
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,498

When Darcy runs off on another secret assignment, I am left to figure out how to travel to Italy sans maid and chaperone to help my dear friend Belinda, as she awaits the birth of her baby alone. An opportunity presents itself in a most unexpected way - my cousin the queen is in need of a spy to attend a house party in the Italian lake country. The Prince of Wales and the dreadful Mrs. Simpson have been invited, and Her Majesty is anxious to thwart a possible secret wedding.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Still good fun!

  • By Dylan on 08-03-17

Top Notch next episode in the series!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-10-17

This is one of my favorites in the series! Loved having Queenie find a place to be useful and enjoying herself and not such a large part of the book. Loved Belinda's developing story. Mystery plot and historical tie ins to the stirrings of WWII are fascinating and keep you guessing to the end. Glad to see Darcy and Georgie making progress towards a wedding at last, want to see them together and see them grow. Hope we get to see more of Camilla in the future and a return of ZaZa!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Single Malt Murder

  • A Whisky Business Mystery
  • By: Melinda Mullet
  • Narrated by: Gemma Dawson
  • Length: 9 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,009
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,831
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,827

When Abi inherits her uncle's quaint and storied single malt distillery, she finds herself immersed in a competitive high-stakes business that elicits deep passions and prejudices. An award-winning photojournalist, Abi has no trouble capturing the perfect shot - but making the perfect shot is another matter. When she starts to receive disturbing, anonymous threats, it's clear that someone wants her out of the picture.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Great Read with Excellent Characters

  • By David on 01-22-18

Great mystery plot, but main character annoying

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-10-17

This mystery has so much going for it. Great plot, an interesting approach to motive and keeps the reader intrigued all the way through. However, the main character makes choices that are completely unbelievable and seems rather dense at points. If someone is threatening you, you tell the police right away. If someone is leaving threatening messages at your home, you'd stay somewhere else and set up a hidden camera to figure out who it is. That was frustrating because I wanted to like the book much more.

50 of 58 people found this review helpful

  • Cooking for Picasso

  • A Novel
  • By: C. A. Belmond
  • Narrated by: Mozhan Marno
  • Length: 13 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 453
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 421
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 422

The French Riviera, spring 1936: It's off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where 17-year-old Ondine cooks with her mother in the kitchen of their family-owned Café Paradis. A mysterious new patron who's slipped out of Paris and is traveling under a different name has made an unusual request - to have his lunch served to him at the nearby villa he's secretly rented, where he wishes to remain incognito.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Varied locations, time periods, interesting!

  • By Robin on 11-04-16

Frustrating story of classic victimhood

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-10-17

Would you try another book from C. A. Belmond and/or Mozhan Marno?

Was so angry and disappointed in the way this book ended! Loved C. A. Belmond's A Rather Lovely series and the fact that although antagonists act outrageously the heroes eventually get justice or happiness. This book centered on three generations of women, all portrayed as weak and cowed, and unable to protect their daughters. It was very suspenseful and I was so looking forward to the third generation being smarter and stronger. Nope, the author sets everything up for a fantastic and satisfying happy ending and then yanks it out from under you leaving you feeling cheated of 9 hours and investment in the characters you thought would develop backbones over the course of the adventure.

What could C. A. Belmond have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Had Celine stand up to her father when he and his children set things up to disinherit her mother from her own money at the beginning. Hello, she has a lawyer but can't do anything to help her Mom get some justice? Or give the Mom a chance to have a happy peaceful life in her twilight years in France with her daughter? Not had such horrible things happen to the Mom when she was young? Or had Ondine have a backbone in America and figure out how to keep their restaurant open? Many many places these women could have shown half the strength of other women of their day, and this would have been an enchanting story.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Anger and disappointment

Any additional comments?

Not sure I'll read anything further by this author. There's enough victimhood going around, don't need to idolize it in a book that misleads people.

  • The Food of Love

  • By: Anthony Capella
  • Narrated by: Rocco Sisto
  • Length: 10 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 52
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 19
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 20

Laura Patterson is an American exchange student in Rome who, fed up with being inexpertly groped by her young Italian beaus, decides there's only one sure-fire way to find a sensual man: date a chef. Then she meets Tomasso, who's handsome, young, and cooks in the exclusive Templi restaurant. Perfect. Except, unbeknownst to Laura, Tomasso is in fact only a waiter at Templi; it's his shy friend Bruno who is the chef.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • A wandering, lackluster effort at best

  • By Rebecca on 02-07-07

Great Fun!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-03-15

Fun, frothy and funny! A romantic comedy with such delicious descriptions of Italian specialities you'll want to be on the next plane to Roma!

  • Letters from Italy

  • Confessions, Adventures, and Advice
  • By: Susan Van Allen
  • Narrated by: Susan Van Allen
  • Length: 1 hr and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 7
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 7

Susan Van Allen, author of 100 Places in Italy Every Woman Should Go, is back with an entertaining collection of adventures Savor stories filled with passion, rich memories, and laughs, that blend to bring you an authentic portrait of one woman's experiences in the Bel Paese. Come along with this savvy traveler, as she revels in Roman wine bar flirtations, climbs Sicily's Stromboli volcano, and hunts for truffles in Umbria.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The best reasons to visit Italy

  • By G. Speck on 08-13-18

Local color to get geared up for Italy

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-21-15

This book was short and had some fun descriptions of food, some interesting stories about the places in Italy. I thought there would be more of both of those things, so I was a little disappointed.