LISTENER

Marcelina

  • 3
  • reviews
  • 7
  • helpful votes
  • 21
  • ratings
The Cactus audiobook cover art
  • The Cactus

  • By: Sarah Haywood
  • Narrated by: Katherine Manners
  • Length: 10 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,709
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,519
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,509

For Susan Green, messy emotions don’t fit into the equation of her perfectly ordered life. She has a flat that is ideal for one, a job that suits her passion for logic, and an “interpersonal arrangement” that provides cultural and other more intimate benefits. But suddenly confronted with the loss of her mother and the news that she is about to become a mother herself, Susan’s greatest fear is realized. She is losing control.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Adorable story, AMAZING Narration.

  • By Monica Flock on 06-29-18

One terrible stereotype after the next

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-11-19

I returned this book after trying to hang in there for a few hours. The main character is a stereotype of someone with Asperger characteristics , and yet, the author confuses this with being caused by an alcoholic father. The writing takes this stereotype to all the places we expect, which is likely supposed to be the humorous & inferring side of a poorly told & tedious story. I couldn’t keep listening. The book cover synopsis itself hints that this character’s pregnancy saves her from her outlook. I cannot conscionably listen to a story where having a child cures an autistic spectrum disorder. This is the 2nd of Reese’s book picks that I struggled to get through. While she was right to recommend the universally aclaimed “Where the Crawdads Sing”, I’m starting to mistrust the rest of Reese’s recs.

The Last House Guest audiobook cover art
  • The Last House Guest

  • By: Megan Miranda
  • Narrated by: Rebekkah Ross
  • Length: 10 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,058
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 968
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 965

Littleport, Maine, has always felt like two separate towns: an ideal vacation enclave for the wealthy, whose summer homes line the coastline; and a simple harbor community for the year-round residents whose livelihoods rely on service to the visitors. Typically, fierce friendships never develop between a local and a summer girl - but that’s just what happens with visitor Avery Greer and Littleport resident Sadie Loman. Each summer for almost a decade, the girls are inseparable - until Sadie is found dead. Avery can’t help but feel there are those in the community who blame her. 

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Boring and confusing

  • By L J on 06-22-19

Superficial writing w terrible narrator

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-10-19

If you enjoy listing to your teen age daughter like, you know, tell a story... with conclusions that come from hardly, you know, like, anywhere... you’ll enjoy this narrative & narrator.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

A Discovery of Witches audiobook cover art
  • A Discovery of Witches

  • A Novel
  • By: Deborah Harkness
  • Narrated by: Jennifer Ikeda
  • Length: 23 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 30,799
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 26,667
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 26,685

Deep in the stacks of Oxford's Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A feast for the mind and imagination

  • By Barbara on 02-21-11

I'm jealous of anyone just discovering this series

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-28-18

Any additional comments?

I'm jealous of anyone just discovering the series.There were enough negative comments about this series that I FOOLISHLY delayed purchasing my first one. Shame on me! These books were so entertaining that I couldn't stop listening to them and I am sad that I have completed them all. In the vein of Mists of Avalon & The Rules of Magic.... If you like character development & rich story lines, sprinkled with magic and romance, this is your jam.